$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Universal Palms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
189 reviews
Great weekend get away

The hotel was great. The room was clean, the pool area was beautiful. Overall we had a great... See full review

  • Jason G.
  • Apr 14, 2015
Good deal

Great place,very clean rooms with good customer service, the only problem is the location but the... See full review

  • Fdk
  • Apr 6, 2015
The Universal Palms Hotel surrounds you with all the tropical essentials you would expect from a South Florida establishment, from its jungle-wrapped swimming pool to its rocky waterfalls. Inside, the Venetian Restaurant showcases the hearty passions of Italy in its dishes, and the Aviatic Bar draws you in with a free cocktail on arrival. Tailored packages let you design your own stay, with golfing packages which shuttle you to your first hole and give access to five Fort Lauderdale Golf Clubs, as well as spa and shopping packages to leave you manicured, fine-skinned and fashionable.
Key facts
  • Cable and satellite television
  • Self-catering kitchenettes
  • Pay-per-view films
  • Fax, photocopying, modem and data port facilities
  • Swimming pool surrounded by a tropical garden
  • Business and banquet facilities with audiovisual equipment
  • Wedding, spa and shopping packages
  • Fitness center
  • High-speed wireless internet access (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Universal Palms places guests in the center of Fort Lauderdale's adventurous zone, where 'Xtreme' go-carting pushes adrenaline levels to the max just along Powerline Road. The Lockhart and Fort Lauderdale stadiums are only half a mile away, for avid sports fans. The city events calendar is crammed with bike fests, river blues boat trips, and cultural festivals year-round, much of it concentrated around the North Fort Lauderdale beach (roughly a 15-minute drive away).
Hints and tips
The hotel comes with a nearby Waffle House that serves up fun dishes like pecan waffles and tasty cheese-eggs.

If you're planning on a trip east to the beach, check out the Sun Trolley for getting up and down the shore more easily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal Palms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Universal Palms Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 2 Room Suite-Cityview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Deluxe 2 Room Suite Courtyard-Poolview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom with pool view as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Executive VIP 2 Room Suite Courtyard
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom for added comfort and privacy. The living area includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Traditional Room-City View
Standard Room offers two queens, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.
Traditional Courtyard Room-Poolview
Standard Room offers two queens with pool view, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 5.8 mi
  • New River: 5.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 6.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 6.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 8.6 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 11 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 18.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 19.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host business gatherings and social events at the well-appointed event facilities and meeting space at the hotel in Universal Palms Hotel is spacious and customizable conference and function rooms comfortably accommodates up to 400 guests and is perfect for weddings, seminars, cocktail parties, private dinners, and other occasions.

Dining

Aviatic Bar & Grill
.Aviatic Bar & Grill
Venitian Restaurant
.Venitian Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Universal Palms Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 189
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.4

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janette A.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

Not a happy camper

We couldn't really sleep at night. This motel is off the highway and across from the train tracks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crystal J.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Awesome trip

Staff was slow took 45mins to check in and never answered the phone when we called. It just rang and rang. We also never got our complimentary drink we were supposed to. Pool area was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jesse R.
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Get away to relax

We got at the hotel at 130pm we were told that we can't check in until 3pm . We drove around very tired form a long flight for 2 hours . We come back at 3 pm and get checked in go to our room and start to relax . The room was clean but thats about it no way to heat food anywhere in the hotel . We had to get a cooler to keep drinks cold the pool was okay it was in the 60s they say they have a heated pool but it was not warm at all . The staff some are nice and some are very short and rude .. I would say it's not a bad hotel but not the best and be safe because it's not the best part of town ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John C.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

A few days getaway

The lobby bar was closed on sunday and monday, was not aware of that prior to booking. Had to switch rooms cause the first room had a bathroom leak. The air condition was so loud making it difficult to sleep. Would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R4mblerB
Business
Elgin
Dec 29, 2014

Friends & Family Vacation

This hotel was nice and served it's purpose. My friends and I were pleased with the accommodation and staff. The purpose of this trip was to have place to stay while waiting to board our cruise. The area could be sketchy but as long as you were in groups or at the hotel you were fine. Not to far from a really nice Fort Lauderdale Beach and shops. We did not dine there but the restaurant looked really nice and the staff there was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R4mblerB
Business
Elgin
Dec 16, 2014

Friends & Family Vacation

This hotel was nice and served it's purpose. My friends and I were pleased with the accommodation and staff. The purpose of this trip was to have place to stay while waiting to board our cruise. The area could be sketchy but as long as you were in groups or at the hotel you were fine. Not to far from a really nice Fort Lauderdale Beach and shops. We did not dine there but the restaurant looked really nice and the staff there was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deal Shopping Dee
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 14, 2014

Try it you won't regret it...

This hotel is nice, good amenities... The restaurant/bar was tasty and friendly staff. Marixta was the best first impression this hotel has. This hotel is not perfect but it does the job and you should try it yourself before passing judgment. They're a lot of stores, restaurants and gas stations around. Enjoy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's BJs, gas stations, Denny's and a few more restaurants walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LeRonin
Business
Montreal, qc, canada
Aug 30, 2014

suggested only for a short

When I arrived i had a good opinion, the first talk with the staff was great, they are very nice. Then I went to the room and it was very smelly and humid even with the A/C on. The day after I changed room it was unbearable. The second room was ok, there was no particular smell and it was dry, but the safe wasn't working they tried to repair it but they were not able then I asked to change again and they told me that all the room with a working safe were already taken... overall not a bad hotel but i will not return there for sure. There was no fridge no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lydiatt
Business
Trinidad
Mar 26, 2014

Overall ok.....

The lobby of this hotel was impressive. I also thought that the bar was nice and breakfast was value for money. On the negative side was not impressed with the cleanliness of the room floors in particular and the loudness of the ac units in the room. Was also awaken a few times during the nights by the horns from the trains running on the nearby train line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Js Girl
Business
Baltimore, Md
Mar 24, 2014

Birthday Celebration

Since our plane arrival was early in the morning 3/20/14 ....I called the hotel to see of we were able to check in early.....without hesitation, the young lady/ladies at the front desk told me to come right on in. The check in process was amazing. The clerks (i am unable to remember their names) were so friendly and helpful. It was my friends birthday and to help celebrate they upgraded our room. I/we felt the room was very comfortable....If I had any gripes about the room is the size of the bathroom........very very very small...."it could use an upgrade. But all in all...perfect location.....staff was excellent....thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

South Beach Miami

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top