$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 7, 2014

Universal Palms Hotel

3 stars
4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
89 reviews
Fantastic weekend

I checked in late at night, but the the receptionist at the front counter was very helpful and have... See full review

  • Mona Loca
  • Apr 8, 2014
Nice relaxing vacation

This hotel was friendly, comfortable and good food. Really enjoyed my mini vacation that I needed.... See full review

  • Boston Stong
  • Jun 21, 2013
Welcome to the Fort Lauderdale Universal Palms Hotel. This hotel is located in the heart of Ft. Lauderdale, conveniently situated 1 block west of I95 at Commercial Blvd exit. The hotel has been recently renovated with an exquisite lobby and front desk as well as pool deck surrounded by Tiki Huts, new lounge furniture, solid marble gazebo all set in lush tropical foliage. The hotel boasts 195 hotel rooms including 50 suites for added comfort and privacy.
Take a short drive down to Ft. Lauderdale's famous beaches, a stroll along Fort Lauderdale's colorful downtown Riverwalk, treat yourself to lunch to the Las Olas landmark - Cafe de Paris. Enjoy the vibrant scene at Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Shop your heart out at the Galleria Mall or the famous Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall. You'll never run out of activities while enjoying the hotel amenities in Fort Lauderdale. And what's more, Palm Beach is only 10 minutes north of the hotel. Whether its window shopping at Gucci's on swanky Worth Ave or shopping at the chic Mizner Center in Boca Raton, the shopping just doesn't get better. Thirty minutes south, you'll find the glistening Miami skyline, Indulge in delicious dining while gazing out across Biscayne Bay. Sip on a cool Rum Runner, then skirt on over to South Beach to enjoy an exotic fruit drink while watching world-class models pose for one of the many ubiquitous fashion shoots happening just across the way from your sidewalk table at the internationally acclaimed restaurants. Everything is just minutes away from the Universal Palms Hotel Ft. Lauderdale! Not only known as a resort near Ft. Lauderdale Airport, The Universal Palms Hotel is your gateway to everything that is the excitement of South Florida! Recognized as the most convenient resort in Ft. Lauderdale, The Universal Palms Hotel is your ticket to fun, adventure and entertainment unlike anywhere else in South Florida!
The Universal Palms Hotel Ft. Lauderdale is located only 10 minutes from Ft. Lauderdale Airport, the Downtown core, the famous Lauderdale Beaches, world-class shopping and more. It's all right around you at South Florida's Entertainment Capitol!

Enjoy a Welcome Drink on Arrival

Reserve your room today at Universal Palms Hotel. Hotel also provides amenities like: ballroom, dry cleaning, lobby, reception and smoke-free hotel!

Universal Palms Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 2 Room Suite-Cityview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Deluxe 2 Room Suite Courtyard-Poolview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom with pool view as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Executive VIP 2 Room Suite Courtyard
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom for added comfort and privacy. The living area includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Traditional Room-City View
Standard Room offers two queens, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.
Traditional Courtyard Room-Poolview
Standard Room offers two queens with pool view, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal Palms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

26.1869 -80.1551
Area served
Fort Lauderdale.
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport (FLL).
Area description
Fort Lauderdale.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 5.8 mi
  • New River: 5.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 6.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 6.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 8.6 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 11 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 18.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 19.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host business gatherings and social events at the well-appointed event facilities and meeting space at the hotel in Universal Palms Hotel is spacious and customizable conference and function rooms comfortably accommodates up to 400 guests and is perfect for weddings, seminars, cocktail parties, private dinners, and other occasions.

Dining

Aviatic Bar & Grill
.Aviatic Bar & Grill
Venitian Restaurant
.Venitian Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Universal Palms Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
26 out of 89
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
2.6
Value:
3.1

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Mona Loca
Pompano Beach
Apr 8, 2014

Fantastic weekend

I checked in late at night, but the the receptionist at the front counter was very helpful and have me in my roon in no time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Father Son Spring Break
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 8, 2014

Weekend getaway with my son

The staff was pleasant for the most part, but rooms are overdue for a remodel. The location was right off the highway which worked out perfect for our commute to Miami for the Heat game. For the price I can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you live anywhere in the North, first stop has to be the beach.

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Cessna.pilot
Kentucky
Apr 4, 2014

Just what we needed

East access , friendly staff, room was average. Beds were some what lumpy noisy but slept very sound. Yes you can gear the trains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
runner marathon
flinstone
Feb 27, 2014

unhappy stay

People at pool loud at night well after midnight .room cleaned only once

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Dolphan Al
Tavares, Fl
Jan 3, 2014

Visit to Homestead & Dolphins game

After making my reservation, I started to read all the reviews. We were worried that we had made a mistake. DON'T read the bad stuff some sour people write. I have never reviewed anything, but felt the positive needs to step forward and be heard. This place is gorgeous and first class, way beyond our expectations for the price. Good location, 10 min. from turnpike, all stores and needs nearby or within walking distance. The lobby, pool, bar, restaurant, pool area with plants, birds, parrots, tiki huts with lights and fans, music, water fountains, all outstanding. Trust me, if you are half way normal, you won't regret your stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waffle House next door is great and so are the help

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
sandy Pavon
mattawa wa
Dec 2, 2013

ok, nice and clean. decent

for the money it was ok. food was hard to find. and it was really far away from the airport. But the pool was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
nellam
fort Lauderdale
Nov 7, 2013

only for one night

I just arrived from my trip and I was surprise that this hotel was a three star location. When arriving to the hotel the front end staff wasn't friendly at all. I stood there with my young child when the woman with the tacky eyelashes kept insisting that I didn't have a reservation, even after me showing her my internty I received from the website. During my stay there was some plumbing problems. The hotel need to. Change the metal on all there rooms, I was relocated to three rooms and they all had rust in the bathroom, clostes, and door handles I was so turned off. I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Dolphins Fan2013
Penns Woods
Sep 25, 2013

Great stay

Hotel and room were ultra clean. Fantastic pool area. Plenty of computers in lobby for guests to use. Wifi was good as well. Staff was professional and very customer service oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid Waffle House next to property. There are 2 Dennys, a Dunkin Doughnuts and McDonald's close by.

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
fortlauderdale
Michigan
Aug 27, 2013

Okie Dokie

Since it is close to railway crossing there is constant noise. Also they should change the pool policy because people tend to get noisy and has disturbed our sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Familyof4FL
Central Florida
Jul 30, 2013

Bad Bad Bad

Not good - my daughters ipod was stolen by maid and staff did nothing to fix the problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top