$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Universal Palms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
202 reviews
Couple trip

I was so happy to stay there my husband and I had a good time specially the young woman at the... See full review

  • Wesline
  • May 22, 2015
This is the truth

The hotel was perfect, as cheap as it was we got more than our moneys worth. The hotel was very... See full review

  • Rosemary H.
  • May 12, 2015
The Universal Palms Hotel surrounds you with all the tropical essentials you would expect from a South Florida establishment, from its jungle-wrapped swimming pool to its rocky waterfalls. Inside, the Venetian Restaurant showcases the hearty passions of Italy in its dishes, and the Aviatic Bar draws you in with a free cocktail on arrival. Tailored packages let you design your own stay, with golfing packages which shuttle you to your first hole and give access to five Fort Lauderdale Golf Clubs, as well as spa and shopping packages to leave you manicured, fine-skinned and fashionable.
Key facts
  • Cable and satellite television
  • Self-catering kitchenettes
  • Pay-per-view films
  • Fax, photocopying, modem and data port facilities
  • Swimming pool surrounded by a tropical garden
  • Business and banquet facilities with audiovisual equipment
  • Wedding, spa and shopping packages
  • Fitness center
  • High-speed wireless internet access (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Universal Palms places guests in the center of Fort Lauderdale's adventurous zone, where 'Xtreme' go-carting pushes adrenaline levels to the max just along Powerline Road. The Lockhart and Fort Lauderdale stadiums are only half a mile away, for avid sports fans. The city events calendar is crammed with bike fests, river blues boat trips, and cultural festivals year-round, much of it concentrated around the North Fort Lauderdale beach (roughly a 15-minute drive away).
Hints and tips
The hotel comes with a nearby Waffle House that serves up fun dishes like pecan waffles and tasty cheese-eggs.

If you're planning on a trip east to the beach, check out the Sun Trolley for getting up and down the shore more easily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal Palms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Universal Palms Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 2 Room Suite-Cityview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Deluxe 2 Room Suite Courtyard-Poolview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom with pool view as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Executive VIP 2 Room Suite Courtyard
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom for added comfort and privacy. The living area includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Traditional Room-City View
Standard Room offers two queens, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.
Traditional Courtyard Room-Poolview
Standard Room offers two queens with pool view, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 5.8 mi
  • New River: 5.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 6.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 6.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 8.6 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 11 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 18.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 19.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.7 mi

Dining

Aviatic Bar & Grill
.Aviatic Bar & Grill
Venitian Restaurant
.Venitian Restaurant

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host business gatherings and social events at the well-appointed event facilities and meeting space at the hotel in Universal Palms Hotel is spacious and customizable conference and function rooms comfortably accommodates up to 400 guests and is perfect for weddings, seminars, cocktail parties, private dinners, and other occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Universal Palms Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cmorris15
Business
Tulsa
Mar 19, 2014

Worst hotel in Fort Lauderdale

Do not stay here! We had a horrible experience. People were screaming in the hallways at 2am, when we complained to the hotel staff, they did nothing. The room was dirty, it looks nothing like the pictures. Spend the money and stay somewhere else. It is also right by an active train track!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Oriented Mom
Business
New York
May 17, 2012

Loud Trains

Loud trains kept us awake at night and made noise all through the day. We had a room on the pool side which was a nightmare. Lobby looks great but rooms still need an upgrade. The bare minimum. Great drive-in theatre in plantation area. Not very child friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alexana
Business
Kaysville, UT
Oct 9, 2012

Absolutely would not recommend

I had a reservation for two nights. When I came back in the evening on the 2nd night, after spending a full day in Ft. Lauderdale, my room key wouldn't work. When I went down to the front desk, they told me that I owed them money and wouldn't be let into my room until I made a payment. I showed my confirmation email that said I wasn't to check out until the next day and asked to speak to a manager. She couldn't get a hold of the manager, so she finally gave me a new key and said I could work it out in the morning. When I checked out the next morning, they said everything was okay and I didn't owe anything. No explanation, no apology. Now I've discovered they've charged my credit card. Additionally, the room was only adequate. Definitely not worth the hassle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Smoke26c
Business
Jax Fla
Oct 28, 2012

Nightmare Stay

Easily the worst hotel I've ever experienced! The lobby was nice, but, the rooms were terrible! The beds thrown together, hotel location is less than desirable. Although the staff was very helpful, I would never stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Smoke26c
Business
Jax Fla
Oct 29, 2012

Not what I expected

Rooms came nowhere near my expectations! Although the staff I came into contact with were very nice, I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Taco Tuesday
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Oct 29, 2012

Borderline ghetto

This hotel is in between the railroad tracks and the ghetto. If all you want is a bed for a few hours, this is your place. There is a little bar in the lobby that's OK but I wouldn't reccomend going out anywhere on foot. The room was clean except for pewbs in the shower and one on the towel, gross! The front desk people were nice but they can only do so much and know where they're located. Someone invested a little money to redo the rooms but you can tell it still needs a total overhaul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Waffle House and gas station right next door if you want to sleep, eat and get right back on the road.

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rugbylove
Business
new jersey
Feb 26, 2013

ugh...

When my boyfriend and i checked into the hotel around 11:30pm our room that we reserved, which was a king bed suite, was not available and since all the suits were booked we had to stay in one room for a night, then wait til 1pm the next day to be transferred and we had to take all of our stuff with us for the day when we checked out of the first room and then re-unpack when we got to the new room. Aslo the whole place is so noisy! Its right near train tracks which you hear trains coming through ALL night long!!!! and the air conditioners sound like someone is driving a 4x4 towing a log splitter!! Then when we got into our "suite" the water pressure in the shower was terrible and the water got cold quick. then housekeeping never came the next day to replace the towels or clean up/make the bed. it was just not what was depicted on their website at all and i was not pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bossman1109
Business
ft lauderdale
Apr 15, 2013

what the heck!!!!!!!!!!!!!

no reservation they had to call yall to find it that took over an hour they blamed yall,,,,,,,,,,cops had hotel surrounded for over 3 hours no one was allowed in r out i was stuck out my kids were stuck in......a hotel guest was robbed in the parking lot at gun point....$7 breakfast was stale bagels and moldy jelly!!!!! $2 coffee!!!...it was the worst continental breakfast i have ever had !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!..............the restaurant was out of business in the hotel so eating took on travel time...it took 2 days too get our bathroom door repaired so it could shut....the maids threw away the parts to our air pump and air mattress.......soooo the only good thing was the pool!!!!!...........but no hot tub...........sad place to stay very sad........... john s

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
40somethiing no more
Business
Houston,TX
May 4, 2013

Goodbye 40s

Wanted alone time to say goodbye to my 40s. The picture of the pool drew me in,don't let it fool you. This place was horrible,the exterior going to your room is very dirty,and smells like urine all the time. The staff was aloof and unkind,not once did any of them make eye contact. Three times my door key stopped working,at 6 am the second day a goon decided it was ok to blast music n the parking lot,security had to get involved .I will say the room was ok,but other than that this place was a HUGE LET DOWN,,, :( run the other way fast as you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Team C
Business
Chicago
Jun 27, 2013

Brutal

Check in process took over an hour. Staff has no idea what is going on. Pictures of this hotel on the Internet are deceiving. The pool was too hot to swim in. You get what you pay for. Location in bad neighborhood! Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top