$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Universal Palms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Universal Palms Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RICHARD J.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Trip

Nothing really nice to say. Pay for what you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RICHARD J.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Horrible

The staff is rude. Especially the girl Euraka and the Spanish woman front end manager. Rooms dirty. Towels dirty. Horrible 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ganchimeg b.
Business
bensenville
Apr 6, 2015

it was ok

Nothing special. Toilet was not running correctly and called twice but it wasnt still good. Kind of bad area but looked like well secured.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xiangqian M.
Business
auburn
Mar 26, 2015

good

good service I store our luggage there for a week and it is for free. The view is very nice, there is a pool in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Heroeros
Business
poughkeepsie
Mar 20, 2015

Rust, no sleep, hard bed, Not worth it.

The location is one block from an active train line. With that being said You get zero sleep during the night. Aside from the constant train horn the bed was hard as a rock.Rusty outlets and horrible overpriced breakfast. There's def better out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emily R.
Business
Biddeford
Mar 16, 2015

One night stay

Stayed their for 1 night before a cruise. It wasn't the cleanest hotel but overall it wasn't bad. The restaurant had pretty good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I'm aware of your theft
Business
Clarendon Hills
Mar 10, 2015

Theft

They steal more than just things in your room, and they buy new furniture with your credit card. Shame on you shady hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandra K.
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

First Stay/Last Stay

The hotel lobby was beautiful and gave us the false impression that we were in for a nice stay. Not so much. Our room was clean, but showed major wear and tear. The carpet was thread-bare and the tub was badly chipped. We could not watch TV b/c of terrible reception. The worse part was the train that virtually ran 24 hours a day and sounded its whistle constantly in the area of the hotel (that was located at a RR crossing). The staff, including house keeping, was the only real positive factor in our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Don S.
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

The Best

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars Pending review Our stay was from 2-21 to 2-28. We have traveled around the world and have paid 3 to 5 times more than we paid here. See their website. The photos are actual, as it is now, not twenty year old photos. The hotel was remodeled 2 years ago. All features are on the website. The Palms is 13 minutes from the airport and 10 minutes from the beach. Both easy drives. Not on the website are things such as excellent courteous service from ALL. The front desk, the bartenders, maids, maintenance staff, everyone. We forgot a cork screw and I asked a maintenance man if we could get one. He came to our room a few minutes later and said the bar was not open as of yet so he couldn't get one for me. He did come with a cordless drill, a bit, a screw and a pliers. Pop, the cork was removed. Now that's service!! I'm sorry I don't remember his name. Merice checked us in and checked us out. As all the staff, he was most helpful, concerned and courteous. All the bartenders were very attentive, Cyndi made it a point to remember ours names, nice touch. Rooms are big and clean, huge flat screen TV, never a problem in any area. Drinks and food reasonably priced and very good. We never waited for an elevator for over 10 or 20 seconds. The water was hot right away in the sink and shower. The pool was always sparkling clean. It was great to have washers and dryers available. We were able to pack less. Some reviews mentioned train noise. It's a passenger train and toots it's horn a couple of times. Goes by quick. We saw NO problem in that. We preferred that over paying another $300 per night at a hotel on the beach. Mr. Pappas, GM, could not have been more gracious and accommodating. It's most apparent that he demands dedication from his employees yet the people I talked to, 7, all like him and say he's a decent guy. That's hard to do when you're managing that many people. A great job in all areas. I will definitely stay there again. Thank you very much Mr. Pappas for a great 8 days. I would make two suggestions ~ handles on the walls of the showers. Tubs are slippery so for the safety of guests, especially older people, I'd have them installed. Not a big cost factor. This could avoid a law suit. HBO or some premium channels on the TV would also be nice. Other than that, once again it was a great hotel experience in ALL areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robert W.
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

NOT GOOD

I'm not going to go into detail , All I'm going to say is if you can stay somewhere else do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top