$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Universal Palms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
202 reviews
Had a wonderful time if wecould stay longer we would have.

My husband and I stood for 10 days and it was quite, relaxed and outgoing. The pool was wonderful... See full review

  • William C.
  • Aug 31, 2015
great

very nice place. friendly staff. room was clean and quiet. Pool was nice . See full review

  • Cody s.
  • Aug 24, 2015

The Universal Palms Hotel surrounds you with all the tropical essentials you would expect from a South Florida establishment, from its jungle-wrapped swimming pool to its rocky waterfalls. Inside, the Venetian Restaurant showcases the hearty passions of Italy in its dishes, and the Aviatic Bar draws you in with a free cocktail on arrival. Tailored packages let you design your own stay, with golfing packages which shuttle you to your first hole and give access to five Fort Lauderdale Golf Clubs, as well as spa and shopping packages to leave you manicured, fine-skinned and fashionable.

Location

Universal Palms places guests in the center of Fort Lauderdale's adventurous zone, where 'Xtreme' go-carting pushes adrenaline levels to the max just along Powerline Road. The Lockhart and Fort Lauderdale stadiums are only half a mile away, for avid sports fans. The city events calendar is crammed with bike fests, river blues boat trips, and cultural festivals year-round, much of it concentrated around the North Fort Lauderdale beach (roughly a 15-minute drive away).

Highlights
  • Cable and satellite television
  • Self-catering kitchenettes
  • Pay-per-view films
  • Fax, photocopying, modem and data port facilities
  • Swimming pool surrounded by a tropical garden
  • Business and banquet facilities with audiovisual equipment
  • Wedding, spa and shopping packages
  • Fitness center
  • High-speed wireless internet access (fees may apply)
Fees

Broward County residents are required to post a security deposit of $250 USD.

Policies

Guests must be at least 25 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal Palms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Universal Palms Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 2 Room Suite-Cityview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Deluxe 2 Room Suite Courtyard-Poolview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom with pool view as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Executive VIP 2 Room Suite Courtyard
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom for added comfort and privacy. The living area includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Traditional Room-City View
Standard Room offers two queens, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.
Traditional Courtyard Room-Poolview
Standard Room offers two queens with pool view, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 5.8 mi
  • New River: 5.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 6.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 6.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 8.6 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 11 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 18.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 19.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.7 mi

Dining

Aviatic Bar & Grill
.Aviatic Bar & Grill
Venitian Restaurant
.Venitian Restaurant

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host business gatherings and social events at the well-appointed event facilities and meeting space at the hotel in Universal Palms Hotel is spacious and customizable conference and function rooms comfortably accommodates up to 400 guests and is perfect for weddings, seminars, cocktail parties, private dinners, and other occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Universal Palms Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myzzstwann
Couples
San Antonio, TX, USA
Feb 12, 2013

Lovely stay

This place is amazing! The staff is super nice! I love Ms. Debra, she made our experience lovely. The rooms are very modern and clean. Location is awesome as its right next to waffle house for breakfast and one block from i95. Totally worth it and the price was really good :) only thing that i was disappointed that there was no hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William C.
Couples
AVENEL
Aug 31, 2015

Had a wonderful time if wecould stay longer we would have.

My husband and I stood for 10 days and it was quite, relaxed and outgoing. The pool was wonderful warm water clean and nice and deep. The employees were great Hosea, Martiza,Angel, and Lucy. They helped with anything you would ask. Treated us with respect and very friendly. When we check in no promblems and they gave us 2 complamantary drinks we had rum and coke nice. I would like to thank everyone for a beautiful vacation I would go there again. Maria n William. The young lady Angel she really is an Angel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cody s.
Business
Portland
Aug 24, 2015

great

very nice place. friendly staff. room was clean and quiet. Pool was nice .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IRIS REJANE D.
Business
NASSAU
Aug 23, 2015

Go to Shopping

if you go shopping in fort lauderdale this good, because it is cheap and well located, but for holidays more or less stayed twice but could not connect to internet any time,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angie B.
Couples
N/A
Aug 22, 2015

Vacation, alright for $$

This hotel is older and they have tried hard to fix up/update the rooms. Yet, when u have crown molding to dress up the room, u simply cannot have rusty doorways, peeling paint etc. Either gut the entire facility, or skip the half hearted up grades. Room, seemed dirty. Carpets..bathroom floor very dirty behind the door. Mysrty hair on floor!! Yuck!!! For the price, it said it all...don't always go cheap!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael M
Business
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

Good value

Stayed at the Universal Palms for 18 days. Got room and rental car as a package. Really a good value. The staff was excellent, especially Angel, who couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. I got what I expected from the room, clean and basic. There is a train that rolls by about every 45 minutes, but it flies past, and after a couple days, it became background noise. Was it the best place I've ever stayed? No. But the value I got for the duration I stayed was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NelsonP
Family
N/A
Aug 20, 2015

Nightmare Vacation

The trip seemed to be just fine, below average amenities and an inattentive staff staff. Our experience was fine until the person in charge of requesting the pool premises to be abandoned due to its closing arrived with a rather aggressive demeanor. Rudely requesting our family and others to leave the pool, soon after that my wife made a silly comment You always bring bad news he then approached and said If you do not leave the pool now, you'll see what will happen that was the first threat. Following that he went over to another family member that was not in the pool and said Did you not hear me asking you all to leave the pool? You guys are not from here, y'all do not know haw we handle things. the situation escalated fairly quickly, he even insinuated our family to be racist. which with the small dialogue that took place it would be impossible to make such a vague accusation (I must mention that we left the pool perimeter soon after it was requested of us to do). Due to the threats made by the staff member we called the cops and documented the incident in case anything did happen to our family or personal belongings. The staff was extremely dismissive after that occurrence, trying to get a hold of a manager was nearly impossible. On our last day we were able to speak with the front desk manager who carelessly addressed us and displayed no sense of disagreement with the staff member's actions. In fact it almost sounded as if we had disrupted her peace at that moment. This has been our worst family vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elifher
Family
Burnsville
Aug 19, 2015

family trip

very disappointed with the room cleanlines the sheets were wet and somwtimes clean was never done

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jerry T.
Business
MIAMI
Aug 17, 2015

room was relaxing,the lighting need improvement in kitchen.

was n town 4 a sunday bible school convention. the hotel was n a good place, only a 5-10 mins, 2 my destinastion. would recommend 2 others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jerry T.
Business
MIAMI
Aug 12, 2015

it suited my need

I pointed out a few things 2 the check personal. my stay was for 3 nites, my floor was not maintenance one time. the lighting was below expectation, no lighting n the sink/cabinet area, and no breakfast.other than that, I did rest well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elifher
Family
Burnsville
Aug 10, 2015

Vacation time Family

Hotel have a good location just few block from commercial drive beach if you want to save money on your stay this is a good place to stay the elevators are located on the back of the hotel and will need some maintenance. The hotel has middle size pool if you don’t look for fancy where you relax in there. The hotel has 4 floors ,and better to choose a room the pool view instead to the street. If you just want to have a place where you can just to pas the night to be outside and save money this is a good place to stay ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top