$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Universal Palms Hotel

3 stars
4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
141 reviews
Business Friendly

This hotel is close to airport and beach area. Nice friendly staff and great r See full review

  • Fat man
  • Nov 23, 2014
Ornate Charm, Tropical Oasis in the City

We loved the Grecian-garden/tiki-tropical outdoor swimming pool area surrounded by decorative... See full review

  • M and U
  • Oct 1, 2014
The Universal Palms Hotel surrounds you with all the tropical essentials you would expect from a South Florida establishment, from its jungle-wrapped swimming pool to its rocky waterfalls. Inside, the Venetian Restaurant showcases the hearty passions of Italy in its dishes, and the Aviatic Bar draws you in with a free cocktail on arrival. Tailored packages let you design your own stay, with golfing packages which shuttle you to your first hole and give access to five Fort Lauderdale Golf Clubs, as well as spa and shopping packages to leave you manicured, fine-skinned and fashionable.
Key facts
  • Cable and satellite television
  • Self-catering kitchenettes
  • Pay-per-view films
  • Fax, photocopying, modem and data port facilities
  • Swimming pool surrounded by a tropical garden
  • Business and banquet facilities with audiovisual equipment
  • Wedding, spa and shopping packages
  • Fitness center
  • High-speed wireless internet access (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
Universal Palms places guests in the center of Fort Lauderdale's adventurous zone, where 'Xtreme' go-carting pushes adrenaline levels to the max just along Powerline Road. The Lockhart and Fort Lauderdale stadiums are only half a mile away, for avid sports fans. The city events calendar is crammed with bike fests, river blues boat trips, and cultural festivals year-round, much of it concentrated around the North Fort Lauderdale beach (roughly a 15-minute drive away).
Hints and tips
The hotel comes with a nearby Waffle House that serves up fun dishes like pecan waffles and tasty cheese-eggs.

If you're planning on a trip east to the beach, check out the Sun Trolley for getting up and down the shore more easily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal Palms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Universal Palms Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 2 Room Suite-Cityview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Deluxe 2 Room Suite Courtyard-Poolview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom with pool view as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Executive VIP 2 Room Suite Courtyard
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom for added comfort and privacy. The living area includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Traditional Room-City View
Standard Room offers two queens, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.
Traditional Courtyard Room-Poolview
Standard Room offers two queens with pool view, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 5.8 mi
  • New River: 5.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 6.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 6.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 8.6 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 11 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 18.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 19.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.7 mi

Dining

Aviatic Bar & Grill
.Aviatic Bar & Grill
Venitian Restaurant
.Venitian Restaurant

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host business gatherings and social events at the well-appointed event facilities and meeting space at the hotel in Universal Palms Hotel is spacious and customizable conference and function rooms comfortably accommodates up to 400 guests and is perfect for weddings, seminars, cocktail parties, private dinners, and other occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for Universal Palms Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3
Value:
3.4

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
myzzstwann
San Antonio, TX, USA
Feb 12, 2013

Lovely stay

This place is amazing! The staff is super nice! I love Ms. Debra, she made our experience lovely. The rooms are very modern and clean. Location is awesome as its right next to waffle house for breakfast and one block from i95. Totally worth it and the price was really good :) only thing that i was disappointed that there was no hot tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RecentlyRetired MailLady
Business
Moraga
Dec 23, 2014

FUN-KY blending of tiki huts and romanesque fountains!

Decent place - not over-priced or over-rated just because of a brand name. It's not on the beach but still a good location - 4 exits from airport and port Everglades! Close to shopping,Skechers outlet, movies, eating places. Check out best Peruvian ceviche nearby (Ceviche By The Sea) and 15 minutes from Hard Rock Cafe/Casino. It's for regular everyday people. Great $6 breakfast buffet. Great, long and deep, warm, pool. Weekend religious meetings and community celebrations fill the house. Washing machines/dryers available to catch up on your laundry for $1.00 a load. This is my second stay before and after a cruise and it feels like home. Flying to Chicago for 2 nights, returning here for 2 before heading home to near Medellin, Colombia where my hotel is $5/night with free TV and internet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Call Shuttle Express 954-975 8880 for $10 ride to hotel or from Airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ezra n.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

2 nights at universal palms hotel -- ft lauderdale

Very pleasant, staff was very considerate. We got there long before their standard check in time but they quickly made up a room for us. good breakfasts. Very worth the price, --- we were in and out of the Ft Lauderdale airport but the extra driving time was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R4mblerB
Business
Elgin
Dec 16, 2014

Friends & Family Vacation

This hotel was nice and served it's purpose. My friends and I were pleased with the accommodation and staff. The purpose of this trip was to have place to stay while waiting to board our cruise. The area could be sketchy but as long as you were in groups or at the hotel you were fine. Not to far from a really nice Fort Lauderdale Beach and shops. We did not dine there but the restaurant looked really nice and the staff there was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elnecio
Business
Woodbridge nj
Dec 3, 2014

good times

Excellent hotel for the value of your money can't go wrong very clean nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Next to I95 and close to airport, shopping and night live

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
V a n
Business
Ft Lauderdale
Nov 29, 2014

Will stay again!!

My boyfriend and I had a good experience while staying here however, there were a few things that we think you should know about this hotel before you stay here. The first day we had to swim in a pool that temperature was over 100 degrees! We met great people by the pool and enjoyed great drinks made by our great bartender! The food was also very good. The furniture look good, better then most hotels. However, Our bed was hard!! There was a very loud train that kept me up a few nights however, it was a nice bed. The staff was nice. I had a issue with my toilet the maintenance man was fast and accommodating. Bring some lotion there are not any bottles in the room. this hotel only serves breakfast Friday through Sunday. We did not experience that because we stayed Tuesday through Friday. Even tough we had a few unpleasant experiences the view we had was great! There was a putt putt area to play golf..and great seating areas to get away from the party. We will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Funky Buta

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maegan
Business
Pompano Bach, FL
Nov 28, 2014

Ok Hotel

Great staff! Would of liked it more if there was soap in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
njatb4
Business
Pocono Mountains, PA
Nov 28, 2014

Good - Clean - Comfortable

This is your typical good, clean & comfortable place to stay & is conveniently located to 95!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fat man
Business
Celebration fl
Nov 23, 2014

Business Friendly

This hotel is close to airport and beach area. Nice friendly staff and great r

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Near train station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nero1
Business
san juan
Nov 19, 2014

not good for family

Outside floor dirt as well as room. Staff provide good attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BellaBella10
Business
Manhattan, Kansas
Nov 14, 2014

Good place to stay in!

The facility was on remodel, but despite this the personnel were absolutely fantastic. The location was perfect for me, and my family had a blast. Our rooms were spacious and very clean. I wouldn't choose any better for this short getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top