$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Universal Palms Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
187 reviews
THE BEST KEPT SECRET ON HOTEL VALUÉ UN FORT LAUDERDALE! JUST WONDERFUL!

MAGNIFICENT location Close to everything! Great friendly and service oriented staff MAGNIFICENT... See full review

  • Javier V.
  • Jul 14, 2015
Great Family Vacation

Very surprised for the price this hotel was perfect. Very clean and neatly kept. There were extra... See full review

  • Big Worm
  • Jun 23, 2015

The Universal Palms Hotel surrounds you with all the tropical essentials you would expect from a South Florida establishment, from its jungle-wrapped swimming pool to its rocky waterfalls. Inside, the Venetian Restaurant showcases the hearty passions of Italy in its dishes, and the Aviatic Bar draws you in with a free cocktail on arrival. Tailored packages let you design your own stay, with golfing packages which shuttle you to your first hole and give access to five Fort Lauderdale Golf Clubs, as well as spa and shopping packages to leave you manicured, fine-skinned and fashionable.

Location

Universal Palms places guests in the center of Fort Lauderdale's adventurous zone, where 'Xtreme' go-carting pushes adrenaline levels to the max just along Powerline Road. The Lockhart and Fort Lauderdale stadiums are only half a mile away, for avid sports fans. The city events calendar is crammed with bike fests, river blues boat trips, and cultural festivals year-round, much of it concentrated around the North Fort Lauderdale beach (roughly a 15-minute drive away).

Highlights
  • Cable and satellite television
  • Self-catering kitchenettes
  • Pay-per-view films
  • Fax, photocopying, modem and data port facilities
  • Swimming pool surrounded by a tropical garden
  • Business and banquet facilities with audiovisual equipment
  • Wedding, spa and shopping packages
  • Fitness center
  • High-speed wireless internet access (fees may apply)
Fees

Broward County residents are required to post a security deposit of $250 USD.

Policies

Guests must be at least 25 years old to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Universal Palms Hotel also booked these hotels.

Universal Palms Hotel Rooms

Deluxe 2 Room Suite-Cityview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Deluxe 2 Room Suite Courtyard-Poolview
Suite offers one king bed bedroom with pool view as well as a seperate livingroom - kitchenette area for added comfort and privacy. The kitchenette includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Executive VIP 2 Room Suite Courtyard
Suite offers one king bed bedroom as well as a seperate livingroom for added comfort and privacy. The living area includes wet-bar, mini fridge and microwave. Suites feature two televisons and two phone lines, individual climate control, alarm clock radio, Color TV with 8 HBO channels, hairdryer, internet access, iron and ironing board, and coffee maker.
Traditional Room-City View
Standard Room offers two queens, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.
Traditional Courtyard Room-Poolview
Standard Room offers two queens with pool view, alarm clock, cable/satellite color TV, in room safe, hairdryer, free WI-FI internet access, iron & board, non-smoking rooms, and telephone with voice mail. The room also provides coffee maker and individual climate control.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.6 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 4.6 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 4.7 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 4.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 5.5 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 5.8 mi
  • New River: 5.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 6.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 6.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 7 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 8.6 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 11 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 18.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 19.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.7 mi

Dining

Aviatic Bar & Grill
.Aviatic Bar & Grill
Venitian Restaurant
.Venitian Restaurant

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Host business gatherings and social events at the well-appointed event facilities and meeting space at the hotel in Universal Palms Hotel is spacious and customizable conference and function rooms comfortably accommodates up to 400 guests and is perfect for weddings, seminars, cocktail parties, private dinners, and other occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Universal Palms Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cudjoe
Easton, MA
Jun 13, 2012

Great weekend!

Wonderful plac for what we wanted. Great manager. Upgraded our room and gave us complementry drinks. We loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ann D.
Business
parma
Jul 15, 2015

Last stop before home

I have to admit I was less than impressed. . . I had booked the hotel on line and it sounded much better than it turned out to be. I was enthusiastic because it touted an on-site restaurant, tropical environment pool area, and a fitness center. When we arrived, the lobby was clean and appealing. However at around 4:30 pm the restaurant/bar was not yet open. The young woman at the front desk was quite cordial despite the fact she was obviously dealing with less than optimal circumstances and a lack of concern from her superiors. On the walk to our room, I noticed the stairs were absolutely filthy, the room was ok. There was no in room refrigerator, microwave, etc. but there was a rather large, rusty safe in the middle of the sink/counter area outside the bathroom. The comforter on one of the beds had obviously been burned with a cigarette by a previous client in our smoke-free room. The coffee maker was a single serve type but we were only offered 1 regular and 1 decaf single serving portions with accompanying condiments consisting of one creamer, sugar, and sweet&low packets per serving. Knowing I need my coffee in the morning and prefer real cream but able to stomach powdered, I visited the front desk for additional supplies. I received an additional 2 coffee servings and a handful of condiment packets. The following morning when I rose to make coffee, I realized that half of the condiment packets had obviously been infested with mice because the creamer packets were shredded in the plastic. . .I again went to the front desk and only received an oh, wow, let me see if we have some more. .. not exactly the response I expect if you want my repeat business. I did visit the fitness center which consists of a small bedroom sized room with four machines a stationary bicycle, a treadmill, an elliptical, and a small weight station. It also had a television in the corner (no remote in sight) turned to a sports station that sported a lot of snowy reception. We did take a brief dip in the pool prior to leaving. .. the area was pleasant for the most part but there were leftover socks, cups, and sandals scattered about obviously from the night before. The rates were no cheaper than any of the other hotels we had visited during our trip and the accommodations much less welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Javier V.
Business
N/A
Jul 14, 2015

THE BEST KEPT SECRET ON HOTEL VALUÉ UN FORT LAUDERDALE! JUST WONDERFUL!

MAGNIFICENT location Close to everything! Great friendly and service oriented staff MAGNIFICENT POOL AREA REATAURANT AND BAR! I WILL BE BACK SOON!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cathrine M.
Business
N/A
Jul 11, 2015

Great experience

Good and cheap place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!'!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wendiebird
Business
N/A
Jun 30, 2015

It served it's purpose

The staff was super nice, the room was basic but we didn't spend much time there anyway. I did find it weird the floor was tile not carpet so the sand on it drove me crazy. Housekeeping did a good job cleaning it everyday but we all know how sand goes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Worm
Business
Sebring
Jun 23, 2015

Great Family Vacation

Very surprised for the price this hotel was perfect. Very clean and neatly kept. There were extra pillows an blankets if needed and having kids they came in handy. Plenty to do right around the hotel great location. Plus the staff was super helpful and the pool area is a major plus.. GREAT HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shirley J.
Business
N/A
Jun 23, 2015

family trip

Made my family reunion a blast! Thanks Universal Palms...services were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathryn V.
Business
N/A
Jun 17, 2015

Great trip

Staff was very kind and helpful. Very clean rooms and up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
good shooper
Business
N/A
Jun 15, 2015

good

The hotel was good ,shame about the loud train behind the hotel.The staff was very good.The pool was very nice..I would not recommend this hotel to friends.Due to the loud noise from the train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rasheima B.
Business
Elk Grove
Jun 10, 2015

Vacation

Hotel was in a with bad lighting. It seemed to have a nice pool. Only vending machine was in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Universal Palms Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sean M.
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

Vacation overdue

Nice place to stay. Never seen bar opened. Pool area clean. Close to the beach. Next to a waffle house. Will probably stay somewhere else's on my return visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top