$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
63 reviews
great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 4, 2008
Enjoyable stay right on the beach!

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always have a great time. You are right on the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 17, 2008
Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel boasts kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi

Visitors sample a taste of the breezy South Floridian lifestyle at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, a budget hotel for short-term and extended stay travelers. Located on the scenic A1A between Palm Beach and Miami Beach, the Fort Lauderdale hotel is a mix of standard rooms and kitchenette efficiencies catering to guests who prefer dining at home. Outdoor pool and a kitschy alfresco bar make for a leisurely afternoon soaking up views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • Budget hotel situated on the scenic A1A
  • Free Wi-Fi and welcome drinks
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tropic Cay Patio Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
  • Near the Las Olas Riverfront, Port Everglades and other attractions
Rooms

Tropic Cay Beach resort accommodates short-term and extended stay travelers in tropical rooms and efficiencies. Spaces are warm, brightly lit and boast a Floridian palette of green and yellow. Palm-printed bedding complements cabana-striped headboards and matching bolster. Standard rooms come with two queen beds, while kitchenette efficiencies have the bonus convenience of a full kitchen equipped with a stove, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Wi-Fi is free.

Features

Tropic Cay Beach Resort guests gather at the swimming pool and roomy sundeck or pull a stool up at Tropic Cay Patio Bar--prime real estate for taking in views of the Atlantic Ocean. For off-site explorations, take a cruise to major tourist destinations such as Las Olas Boulevard, Galleria Mall and Bonnet House Museum and Gardens.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Miami International Airport (24.9 mi/40.2 km)
Attractions
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Port Everglades (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Port of Miami (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $10 per night per car.
  • The hotel bases rates upon double occupancy and charges $10 per extra person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropic Cay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Tropic Cay Beach Resort Rooms

Standard Two Doubles
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, cable TV, and telephone.
Efficiency Room
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, refrigerator, cable TV, and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.1 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 13 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.6 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

1.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 63
Amenities:
1.5
Room cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.1
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
1.8
Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
x0x0x0
Business
Fort Lauderdale Beach
Nov 15, 2014

x0x0x0

The facility is very outdated and needs a complete over haul. The location is perfect and could not ask for anything better. Parking was an issue for the customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TonyS.
Business
Morristown, New Jersey
Jul 10, 2014

You get what you pay for

I stayed at this hotel once before so I knew that this wasn't a five star hotel . That being said, the best quality about this hotel is the location. It is very close to the bars, dhopping mall and most of all the beach. My biggest complaint was the fact that I booked this hotel well over 3 months in advance and I literally had to wait well over an hour for my room to be ready and I was given the keys to the room only to be almost berated by housekeeping for trying to get access to the room when she wasn't finished. I then was told I had to wait another half hour outside my room until she was finished. I wasn't dressed in attire that was suitable for me to walk around in as it was hot and 90 plus degrees outside so I had to bite the bullet and wait!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a shopping mall that was just a short distance to walk. Five minute drive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pennypossible
Business
fort Lauderdale fl
Apr 25, 2014

birthday

Not worth the money. I will never come to this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patrick n Boulder
Business
Boulder, CO
May 31, 2013

What a dump cont'd

Also forgot to mention that the bar at the pool plays very loud music until about 11. Don't plan on sleeping before 11.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patrick n Boulder
Business
Boulder, CO
May 30, 2013

What a dump

This place is a dump. Dirty. Moldy. Filthy. They also charge $10 a day for parking and there's no where to park! The only plus is that it is located in a nice area and across from the beach, surrounded by several nice high rises and apt. buildings, one of which is a Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, Oh
Jul 17, 2011

Good, bad and the the ugly

The room had an awesome view of the ocean. Nice pool and bar but I'm fighting with them to get money back which they had over charged me and also was told there was a continental breakfast on the internet, which there was not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Daytona Beach
Mar 28, 2011

Disappointed

Check-in was at 3pm. I was not able to check-in until 6:30pm. The excuse I was given was, "we had alot of check-outs". No apology was given, that would have gone a long way. The guy at the front desk was very rude and unprofessional. When I mentioned that the room was still not clean he acted as if I was asking him for a kidney. The room itself was stuffy and the air conditioner was over the door and did not blow anywhere near me. It was hot most of the time, in fact, I left it on all day and when I returned it was no cooler than when I had left it. The TV was up to the maximum level and it was still hard to hear over the air conditioner. I wish I could say I had a better time but I can't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 10, 2011

"Do not stay here, trust me."

You do not want to stay here, especially during Spring Break, unless you are a frat boy, then you will love it...on a serious note, don't even consider staying here, trust me...you'll thank me later..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utica, NY
Mar 16, 2010

Absolutely Gross

It was horrible, first room which was to be ocen view, was not, and door was already open on arrival and key lock on the door, second room was flooded with water but had to stay because I was tired and it was already 1am. First key card also did not work so in all I walked up and down 3 flights of stairs with baggage 3 times before actually getting a room. I left next morning for another hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlestown
Nov 22, 2008

STAY AWAY!

The Tropic Cay is a disgrace. I was unhappy walkiing into the room. The beds were like 2 hard boxes and it was a little cool that night and there was no heat. The Kitchenette was a refrigerator a dirty sink and a hot plate for a stove and a hole in the wall were the plug for a stove was. The bathroom had mold on the floor and the shower curtain and a hair left on the toilet. The pool was low in water and did not look very clean. The hotel looks like it hadn't been cleaned or repaired since the crazy times of the 70's and 80's. I'm sure they are just waiting to be bought out and torn down like all the other places aroound it. Again STAY AWAY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top