Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
View map of 529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
1.9
out of 5
67 reviews
great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 4, 2008
Enjoyable stay right on the beach!

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always have a great time. You are right on the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 17, 2008
Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel boasts kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi

Visitors sample a taste of the breezy South Floridian lifestyle at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, a budget hotel for short-term and extended stay travelers. Located on the scenic A1A between Palm Beach and Miami Beach, the Fort Lauderdale hotel is a mix of standard rooms and kitchenette efficiencies catering to guests who prefer dining at home. Outdoor pool and a kitschy alfresco bar make for a leisurely afternoon soaking up views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • Budget hotel situated on the scenic A1A
  • Free Wi-Fi and welcome drinks
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tropic Cay Patio Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
  • Near the Las Olas Riverfront, Port Everglades and other attractions
Rooms

Tropic Cay Beach resort accommodates short-term and extended stay travelers in tropical rooms and efficiencies. Spaces are warm, brightly lit and boast a Floridian palette of green and yellow. Palm-printed bedding complements cabana-striped headboards and matching bolster. Standard rooms come with two queen beds, while kitchenette efficiencies have the bonus convenience of a full kitchen equipped with a stove, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Wi-Fi is free.

Features

Tropic Cay Beach Resort guests gather at the swimming pool and roomy sundeck or pull a stool up at Tropic Cay Patio Bar--prime real estate for taking in views of the Atlantic Ocean. For off-site explorations, take a cruise to major tourist destinations such as Las Olas Boulevard, Galleria Mall and Bonnet House Museum and Gardens.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Miami International Airport (24.9 mi/40.2 km)
Attractions
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Port Everglades (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Port of Miami (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $10 per night per car.
  • The hotel bases rates upon double occupancy and charges $10 per extra person.
  • Spring Break policy: From 1-21 March 2015, a deposit of $500 (refundable at check out) will be required upon check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropic Cay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Tropic Cay Beach Resort Rooms

Standard Two Doubles
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, cable TV, and telephone.
Efficiency Room
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, refrigerator, cable TV, and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.1 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 13 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.6 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 67
Amenities:
1.9
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.3
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
2.5

31% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bonehead344
Business
michigan
Oct 14, 2014

close to beach

S lose to many bar & beach. Not a quiet place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dirty blondes & music close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerryinfortlauderdale
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Oct 14, 2013

Sent to different hotel!!!

When we arrived we were notified that we would not be staying at Tropic Cay. We were sent over to the old hotel just south (right next door) that is in very bad shape. I did not expect to be staying in another hotel completely. I know the hotel next door was a dump and would have never booked if I knew I would be it that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gardnerjw42
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 19, 2013

RUN! RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!

I would give this place no stars if I could. You couldn't pay me to stay another night in this dump. I booked two nonconsecutive nights through a travel website because the pictures are VERY deceiving. It looks like a cute old hotel on the beach, but it's actually filthy, disgusting, and rundown. Let's review the pros and cons: PROS -I didn't sleep on the street. CONS -The guy working the front desk was extremely rude because we left a cruise and asked to store our luggage somewhere until we could check in. He snapped at us and said our room wasn't ready and told us to put our luggage in a closet under the stairs where they kept cleaning chemicals, dirty mops and brooms, tools and paint, and it had a half inch layer of dirt and dust on every surface. A few hours later we came back to get out of the rain, and he wouldn't give us our room key until he was finished with his personal phone conversation, which lasted over 30min. -In the room there was visible dirt and sticky grime all over the white tile floor, so I had to wear shoes the entire time. -The air system made it so humid in the room that my clothes were damp the next day, and the pages of my book and passport were frayed from the moisture. -The sheets hadn't been changed before I got there because someone else's hair was all over them. -The sheets and mattresses had stains and cigarette burns on them (nonsmoking hotel# -There is no mattress pad or any kind of protective layer between the sheet #not even a fitted sheet# and the mattress, so they're probably infested with bed bugs. -Half the lights in the room either didn't have a light bulb, or it was burned out. -The TV in the first room is from the 1990s and said it was connected to Direct TV, but there was no remote, so I had to get up to adjust the volume or surf through the seven basic channels. -The TV in the second room wouldn't even turn on. -The rooms are setup to have key cards to unlock the door, but they don't work. -In the second room there was a hole in the part of the door where the chain was connected, so I could see outside and anyone else could see in. -There was a wedding reception at the trashy bar by the pool #all rooms face the pool) with blaring club music that lasted 8hr and didn't end until after 2:00am. Hotel management didn't know how long the party would last and said they didn't have the authority to tell their bar when it should close, even though all bars in the city close at 1:30-2:00am. -The walls were dingy and scratched with people's handprints and even footprints. -There was mold on the shower curtain, and the toilet seat wasn't connected to the toilet. -The ice machine was completely rusted from top to bottom The Tropic Cay is hands down the worst hotel experience I've ever had. It's only $70/night, but the service and condition of the rooms aren't worth paying more than $20/night. We desperately tried to find another hotel, but they were all booked. When I get home, I'm taking another shower, washing everything I brought, and disinfecting my suitcase. Avoid this hotel like the plague.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelly the kid
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 25, 2013

Nasty

This hotel was supposed to provide me and my friend with a nice place to relax, clean off, and sleep after a long tiring day but it was not clean at all. The beds didn't even have real fitted sheets on them. The floors were disgusting as was the bathroom. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chillin555
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Mar 11, 2013

Nice low budget trip

Not very clean, not very comfortable, but was not looking for that, just a place by the beach near the bars! Sea club resort was cheaper and better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BeachBoi
Business
Bal Harbour, FL, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Great location, but think twice

This hotel is in a PRIME location, right across the beach in famous Fort Lauderdale, Florida. It doesn't get any better than this for places to relax or party! But this hotel was not worth the savings to me. I stayed here because I was attending a wedding at a 4-star near by hotel but wanted to save a few bucks. It was not worth the savings. This hotel was not very nice at all, the on-site bar played VERY LOUD music until 2 or 3 am. Not comfortable beds, ancient construction, and just seemed like management does not care about the state of the property. Do yourself a favor and stay in one of the nicer properties in Ft. Lauderdale, where you will be more comfortable and get a better night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best beach in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mazzo
Business
montebelluna
Aug 29, 2011

Very old!

The kitchen and the bathroom are old, brake and dirty but the position are spectacular, it is very near from the sea. Good the swimmingpool with bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salisbury
Mar 24, 2011

horrible

Horrible. Dirty and broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oronzadelphia
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 4, 2011

Better than a hostle, I suppose.

Relatively clean, although old and musty. The rooms, and hotel in general, definitely need some updating. It reminded me a little of an episode of an old sitcom where they go to a tropical island and end up staying in a hotel with all sorts of oddities and issues. Location can't be beat, but no so much a value for the dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay a few blocks from Fort Lauderdale beach and spend the same amount on a MUCH nicer hotel. Walking in the sunshine never hurt anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrJorgeV
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 1, 2010

Cool hotel and great staff

Pretty cool hotel in a great area. I came to Fort Lauderdale for a reunion with friends from college. I arrived a day early to enjoy some time to relax. The room they gave me better than I expected for the price. I headed to beach which is across the street and then later hung out by the hotel bar. The staff at the bar is very friendly, kind of a Key West feeling. My stay was great and I would recommend to anyone looking to relax but don't expect more than a simple hotel, with a friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top