$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
View map of 529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
1.9
out of 5
67 reviews
great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 4, 2008
Enjoyable stay right on the beach!

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always have a great time. You are right on the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 17, 2008
Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel boasts kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi

Visitors sample a taste of the breezy South Floridian lifestyle at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, a budget hotel for short-term and extended stay travelers. Located on the scenic A1A between Palm Beach and Miami Beach, the Fort Lauderdale hotel is a mix of standard rooms and kitchenette efficiencies catering to guests who prefer dining at home. Outdoor pool and a kitschy alfresco bar make for a leisurely afternoon soaking up views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • Budget hotel situated on the scenic A1A
  • Free Wi-Fi and welcome drinks
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tropic Cay Patio Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
  • Near the Las Olas Riverfront, Port Everglades and other attractions
Rooms

Tropic Cay Beach resort accommodates short-term and extended stay travelers in tropical rooms and efficiencies. Spaces are warm, brightly lit and boast a Floridian palette of green and yellow. Palm-printed bedding complements cabana-striped headboards and matching bolster. Standard rooms come with two queen beds, while kitchenette efficiencies have the bonus convenience of a full kitchen equipped with a stove, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Wi-Fi is free.

Features

Tropic Cay Beach Resort guests gather at the swimming pool and roomy sundeck or pull a stool up at Tropic Cay Patio Bar--prime real estate for taking in views of the Atlantic Ocean. For off-site explorations, take a cruise to major tourist destinations such as Las Olas Boulevard, Galleria Mall and Bonnet House Museum and Gardens.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Miami International Airport (24.9 mi/40.2 km)
Attractions
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Port Everglades (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Port of Miami (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $10 per night per car.
  • The hotel bases rates upon double occupancy and charges $10 per extra person.
  • Spring Break policy: From 1-21 March 2015, a deposit of $500 (refundable at check out) will be required upon check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropic Cay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Tropic Cay Beach Resort Rooms

Standard Two Doubles
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, cable TV, and telephone.
Efficiency Room
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, refrigerator, cable TV, and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.1 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 13 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.6 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
1.9
Cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.5
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.4

27% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
Apr 17, 2008

Enjoyable stay right on the beach!

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always have a great time. You are right on the beach. You can cook right in your room if you like and the manager is the nicest guy and is a great help if you have any questions about the area. He has treated us well. I am sorry to hear that this hotel will only be around for two more years. Very close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk from the main strip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Independence, *
Aug 4, 2008

great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the beach. I would gladly stay in this hotel on my next visit to Ft. Lauderdale, only minutes away from the shopping strip and just a few minute walk to beach, makes this establishment well worth your time and money. It was a very good value and we are very happy we chose it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything from shopping to cafe's is right within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Daddy44
Business
New Jersy
Sep 5, 2012

It Was A Great Getaway!!!

I really enjoy my stay at the hotel, I spend time with my children, i had not seen them in a long time, the pool was right downstairs and the beach was right across the street is where i wanted to be, next time i come i will be venturing to more of the attractions, yea this was my first time in Fort Lauderdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 27, 2008

Location & Cheap

Tropical Cay was located near all the nightlife. The room needed many repairs. Very outdated, no towels in the rooms and when I did get towels they were very hard (not soft to clean your body with). Not much hot water from the shower and from the faucet no cold water. Tile falling off walls in bathroom but for the price it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice bar on property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Location, location!

Just across the street from the beach,and within walking distance of many nice restaurants,which is mainly what we were looking for. The room was clean enough with fridge and microwave, the only amenities missing were a coffeemaker. My personal favorite amenity was the poolside bar! My only complaint was the paper-thin walls, we could hear every word our neighbors said.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrJorgeV
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 1, 2010

Cool hotel and great staff

Pretty cool hotel in a great area. I came to Fort Lauderdale for a reunion with friends from college. I arrived a day early to enjoy some time to relax. The room they gave me better than I expected for the price. I headed to beach which is across the street and then later hung out by the hotel bar. The staff at the bar is very friendly, kind of a Key West feeling. My stay was great and I would recommend to anyone looking to relax but don't expect more than a simple hotel, with a friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena
Oct 20, 2008

Just OK

The Tropic Cay Hotel was priced very well. It seems a bit run down and in need of maintenance both inside and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several dinning options within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caylan
Business
Nashville tn
Apr 27, 2013

Not bad at all

Tiki bar is great. All the staff at the motel and bar are really friendly. Could use alittle more updating to the room but overall I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joj0
Business
Canada
Jun 12, 2013

Great location. Great value.

The hotel is average, at best. Internet in our room did not work, but for $50 a night it was a good deal. Nice little bar by the pool. Great location. Close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenny Lovely Bride
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Nov 6, 2009

Honeymoon

It was a great price and location for an impromptu honeymoon. We planned our honeymoon two days before we arrived. Right across the street from the beach, and a few blocks from all the restaurants. The beds were very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top