$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
View map of 529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
1.9
Cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.4
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.4

26% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrJorgeV
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 1, 2010

Cool hotel and great staff

Pretty cool hotel in a great area. I came to Fort Lauderdale for a reunion with friends from college. I arrived a day early to enjoy some time to relax. The room they gave me better than I expected for the price. I headed to beach which is across the street and then later hung out by the hotel bar. The staff at the bar is very friendly, kind of a Key West feeling. My stay was great and I would recommend to anyone looking to relax but don't expect more than a simple hotel, with a friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frastrated Tourist
Business
Valencia, PA
Jun 20, 2010

And it was the good bad and really ugly

For starters it was nothing like it said when I booked this hotel. The rooom was different than the pictures I saw. It was old and run down. The room was a double that was ok but it was to have a kitchenit and it didnt. It just looked totelly different than what i had seen before I booked and i never got my com. Drink when i got there..The aircontioner was hanging out of the wall above the door when you go in. But it was a new one that was a plus. The pool area was ok but yet again a bit old and didnt quit look like the pictures..Luckly I had a famliy member there that I stayed with at night and went to my room during the day to go to beach and to the shops and resturant all day long..I went to cool off and rest inbetween things..Sorry to say Im probably going to recommend this hotel other than a good location by the beach..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julie, sunshine's mom
Business
Savage, MN
May 22, 2010

not the right choice

I always give the benefit of the doubt when booking and choosing hotels. Knowing that the pictures are not up to date and are taken at the best angles. In all my travels, i have never seen a hotel that was in this bad of disrepair, and I was 'upgraded' to their sister hotel next door!! The only 2 good things were this hotel was right across from the beach and I only stayed one night. The 'breakfast' in the morning consisted of stale bagels and coffee...nothing else!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sir Hardenthick
Business
West Palm Beach,FL
May 19, 2010

Get what you pay for!!!

For the price I paid this hotel was great. My room was nice and clean(101) but my friends were not and had to change rooms. Location is great, 5 min walk to Fat Tuesday and $15 cab ride to Las Olas Riverfront. Overall nothing spectacular but perfect if your staying the night to party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
French canadiens young moms
Business
montreal, qc, canada
Apr 15, 2010

good price, ugly rooms, nice ocean view

We arrived at the hotel, they lost our reservation, the guy was very not nice, he told us to come back in 1 hour, he let us outside with our luggage and our babies, after 3 hours we came back to the hotel, they gave us a small room at the third floor (imagine with the kids , the stroller,...) we called [...] and they change our hotel. But the hotel have a great location,beach front view, just have to cross the street, ten minutes walk to shops, restaurants, pharmacy and bars. Hot swimming pool, no clean room and old room. the pictures were surely take at the opening of the hotel ten years ago!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
French canadiens young moms
Business
montreal, qc, canada
Apr 15, 2010

good price, ugly rooms, nice ocean view

We arrived at the hotel, they lost our reservation, the guy was very not nice, he told us to come back in 1 hour, he let us outside with our luggage and our babies, after 3 hours we came back to the hotel, they gave us a small room at the third floor (imagine with the kids , the stroller,...) we called [...] and they change our hotel. But the hotel have a great location,beach front view, just have to cross the street, ten minutes walk to shops, restaurants, pharmacy and bars. Hot swimming pool, no clean room and old room. the pictures were surely take at the opening of the hotel ten years ago!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utica, NY
Mar 16, 2010

Absolutely Gross

It was horrible, first room which was to be ocen view, was not, and door was already open on arrival and key lock on the door, second room was flooded with water but had to stay because I was tired and it was already 1am. First key card also did not work so in all I walked up and down 3 flights of stairs with baggage 3 times before actually getting a room. I left next morning for another hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad in MN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 13, 2010

"Aweful! DO NOT STAY HERE!"

Checked in to our room to find dirty clothes from prior guests, moldy walls and ceilings, a dingy bathroom, and dirty "personal" products on the floor. The door didn't close or lock, the air conditioner didn't work, and the room refrigerator was leaking a strange liquid all over the tv. Needless to say, we quickly switched to another hotel. Dont waste your time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Il.
Mar 13, 2010

Super location, nice staff

Super location, very nice beach front the hotel but room was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jackiebea
Business
Fremont,Ohio
Mar 13, 2010

Did not stay there. Was dirty,

I had a friend that stayed the night before we arrived and said that it was very dirty. So,we did not stay there/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top