$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
60 reviews
great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 4, 2008
Enjoyable stay right on the beach!

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always have a great time. You are right on the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 17, 2008
Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel boasts kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi

Visitors sample a taste of the breezy South Floridian lifestyle at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, a budget hotel for short-term and extended stay travelers. Located on the scenic A1A between Palm Beach and Miami Beach, the Fort Lauderdale hotel is a mix of standard rooms and kitchenette efficiencies catering to guests who prefer dining at home. Outdoor pool and a kitschy alfresco bar make for a leisurely afternoon soaking up views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • Budget hotel situated on the scenic A1A
  • Free Wi-Fi and welcome drinks
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tropic Cay Patio Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
  • Near the Las Olas Riverfront, Port Everglades and other attractions
Rooms

Tropic Cay Beach resort accommodates short-term and extended stay travelers in tropical rooms and efficiencies. Spaces are warm, brightly lit and boast a Floridian palette of green and yellow. Palm-printed bedding complements cabana-striped headboards and matching bolster. Standard rooms come with two queen beds, while kitchenette efficiencies have the bonus convenience of a full kitchen equipped with a stove, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Wi-Fi is free.

Features

Tropic Cay Beach Resort guests gather at the swimming pool and roomy sundeck or pull a stool up at Tropic Cay Patio Bar--prime real estate for taking in views of the Atlantic Ocean. For off-site explorations, take a cruise to major tourist destinations such as Las Olas Boulevard, Galleria Mall and Bonnet House Museum and Gardens.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Miami International Airport (24.9 mi/40.2 km)
Attractions
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Port Everglades (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Port of Miami (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $10 per night per car.
  • The hotel bases rates upon double occupancy and charges $10 per extra person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.1295 -80.1035
Area served
Ft. Lauderdale, FL. on Ft. Lauderdale Beach Blvd.(otherwise known as A1A). Between Sunrise and Las Olas Blvd.
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport (FLL) 5 miles.
Area description
The beach is across the street Fort Lauderdale Air Port 8 miles Port Everglades 2 miles Convention Center 2 miles Swimming Hall of Fame 1 mile Dolphin's Football Stadium 15 miles Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall 11 miles Everglades National Park 12 miles City of Miami & Palm Beach 35 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropic Cay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Tropic Cay Beach Resort Rooms

Standard Two Doubles
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, cable TV, and telephone.
Efficiency Room
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, refrigerator, cable TV, and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.1 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 13 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.6 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.4

28% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 16, 2010

do not, i reapeat, DO NOT STAY HERE

First of all, I gave this god-forsaken hotel one star because that's the lowest you can give it. If you could reward a hotel negative stars, I would. Check in took a long time, and you can tell by the lobby you're in for a nightmare. The room they gave us, #105, was DISGUSTING. The smell almost knocked me and my boyfriend over, there were NO PILLOWCASES ON THE GROSS PILLOWS, there was black mold in the bathroom, the sheets had stains on them. I had a wedding to go to the next day and I knew that staying in that room would possibly kill me due to black mold inhilation, but if I survived the night, I would REEK. It was so disgusting that my boyfriend (who has a very high threshhold for nasty stuff) said he would be willing to pay whatever it took to go somewhere else. In retrospect, I SHOULD HAVE HEEDED THE REVIEWS ON THIS WEBSITE, but I thought to myself, "If it costs that much per night, it can't be THAT bad". Well don't judge by price here. It's terrible, disgusting, definitely against health standards, should be shut down IMMEDIATELY [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just save some money and don't book this hotel because I can GUARANTEE you that you will not be able to spend a night here. Go to the HILTON next door or the W. There are a million hotels around. Don't book this one OR THE AVALON hotel either (they're the same thing).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
Jan 30, 2010

gabriel

Did not like "smoking" smell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenny Lovely Bride
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Nov 6, 2009

Honeymoon

It was a great price and location for an impromptu honeymoon. We planned our honeymoon two days before we arrived. Right across the street from the beach, and a few blocks from all the restaurants. The beds were very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
impulseracing
Business
howell nj
Oct 26, 2009

"it was the worst motel ever"

i did not stay at the motel. it was so bad that i went to a new hotel down the street. there was cockroaches all over the bed..it was very dirty .. the 1st room they sent me to looked like a crime scene from CSI tv show.. it looks nothing like the web site(AT ALL)i had the worst time in my life,i was ashamed to have gone to this place with my family... [...]so in all this was the worst motel ever..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Getaway Nichole
Business
Mayfield, KY
Oct 6, 2009

Short Vacation

This was a great hotel for just a very short weekend getaway. I went down to spend time with my boyfriend and it was right across from the beach. The first look of the hotel is somewhat trashy, but the overall stay was very nice. The rooms weren't dirty, just a little out dated. I would recommend this to anyone on a budget looking for a place to stay for a short weekend vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a big place called Beach Place and it has many shops and dining restaurants. One of the most famous was LuLu's. It is within walking distance so no need to pay for a cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Treasure Coast, Fl.
Oct 1, 2009

"The bad, the worst, and the really ugly

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lima, Peru
Sep 13, 2009

Great location

Our stay at the hotel was good, very friendly staff that helped us to find what we needed, the location is awesome the beach is beautiful and many nice places to eat or to have a drink can be reach just walking around, on the other hand some things needs to be improved in the hotel, it is old and some doors need to be replaced as well as some appliances of the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hubelbubb
Business
san jose
Mar 3, 2009

not again

k

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlestown
Nov 22, 2008

STAY AWAY!

The Tropic Cay is a disgrace. I was unhappy walkiing into the room. The beds were like 2 hard boxes and it was a little cool that night and there was no heat. The Kitchenette was a refrigerator a dirty sink and a hot plate for a stove and a hole in the wall were the plug for a stove was. The bathroom had mold on the floor and the shower curtain and a hair left on the toilet. The pool was low in water and did not look very clean. The hotel looks like it hadn't been cleaned or repaired since the crazy times of the 70's and 80's. I'm sure they are just waiting to be bought out and torn down like all the other places aroound it. Again STAY AWAY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 16, 2008

What you get for the price

My friend and I just stayed here Nov. 13th-16th. All I can say is you get what you pay for. We were kind of nervous. We took the bed spreads off and didn't put them back on, sprayed the heck out of the beds and wiped everything down. Then we felt more comfortable. The great thing about this hotel was the location!!! Right across the street from the beach, you can't get any better than that. Be prepared to walk a lot. It is about 1.5 miles north of Las Olas, which is where a lot of the dinning and night clubs are. The good thing is that we didn't gain any weight because we walked a lot!! :) So overall, it is a very bare bones hotel. We were hardly there. We just slept and got ready there. We never felt unsafe and George was a great guy to get good ideas from on where to dine. Would I stay there again? More than likely not....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top