$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
63 reviews
great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 4, 2008
Enjoyable stay right on the beach!

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always have a great time. You are right on the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 17, 2008
Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel boasts kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi

Visitors sample a taste of the breezy South Floridian lifestyle at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, a budget hotel for short-term and extended stay travelers. Located on the scenic A1A between Palm Beach and Miami Beach, the Fort Lauderdale hotel is a mix of standard rooms and kitchenette efficiencies catering to guests who prefer dining at home. Outdoor pool and a kitschy alfresco bar make for a leisurely afternoon soaking up views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • Budget hotel situated on the scenic A1A
  • Free Wi-Fi and welcome drinks
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tropic Cay Patio Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
  • Near the Las Olas Riverfront, Port Everglades and other attractions
Rooms

Tropic Cay Beach resort accommodates short-term and extended stay travelers in tropical rooms and efficiencies. Spaces are warm, brightly lit and boast a Floridian palette of green and yellow. Palm-printed bedding complements cabana-striped headboards and matching bolster. Standard rooms come with two queen beds, while kitchenette efficiencies have the bonus convenience of a full kitchen equipped with a stove, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Wi-Fi is free.

Features

Tropic Cay Beach Resort guests gather at the swimming pool and roomy sundeck or pull a stool up at Tropic Cay Patio Bar--prime real estate for taking in views of the Atlantic Ocean. For off-site explorations, take a cruise to major tourist destinations such as Las Olas Boulevard, Galleria Mall and Bonnet House Museum and Gardens.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Miami International Airport (24.9 mi/40.2 km)
Attractions
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Port Everglades (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Port of Miami (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $10 per night per car.
  • The hotel bases rates upon double occupancy and charges $10 per extra person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropic Cay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Tropic Cay Beach Resort Rooms

Standard Two Doubles
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, cable TV, and telephone.
Efficiency Room
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, refrigerator, cable TV, and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.1 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 13 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.6 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (63)

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 63
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.4

29% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
raybin
Business
palm bay, fl
Feb 13, 2011

AWFULL - DIRTY - BARE BONES GHETTO ROOMS

This place is the worst place. I prepaid with card so was kinda stuck with it. I refused the first room after walking into a room with messed up beds, MUDDY floors, broken door, lights not working,etc... They gave me only available room. No phone, broken remote, lights didn't work, tub clogged and water running. Air conditioner over door that leaked into room. WII didn't work in room, only in office. On and On. Line of people in office complaining about rooms. We slept in our clothes on Top of blanket. BEWARE of this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oronzadelphia
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 4, 2011

Better than a hostle, I suppose.

Relatively clean, although old and musty. The rooms, and hotel in general, definitely need some updating. It reminded me a little of an episode of an old sitcom where they go to a tropical island and end up staying in a hotel with all sorts of oddities and issues. Location can't be beat, but no so much a value for the dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay a few blocks from Fort Lauderdale beach and spend the same amount on a MUCH nicer hotel. Walking in the sunshine never hurt anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrJorgeV
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 1, 2010

Cool hotel and great staff

Pretty cool hotel in a great area. I came to Fort Lauderdale for a reunion with friends from college. I arrived a day early to enjoy some time to relax. The room they gave me better than I expected for the price. I headed to beach which is across the street and then later hung out by the hotel bar. The staff at the bar is very friendly, kind of a Key West feeling. My stay was great and I would recommend to anyone looking to relax but don't expect more than a simple hotel, with a friendly atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frastrated Tourist
Business
Valencia, PA
Jun 20, 2010

And it was the good bad and really ugly

For starters it was nothing like it said when I booked this hotel. The rooom was different than the pictures I saw. It was old and run down. The room was a double that was ok but it was to have a kitchenit and it didnt. It just looked totelly different than what i had seen before I booked and i never got my com. Drink when i got there..The aircontioner was hanging out of the wall above the door when you go in. But it was a new one that was a plus. The pool area was ok but yet again a bit old and didnt quit look like the pictures..Luckly I had a famliy member there that I stayed with at night and went to my room during the day to go to beach and to the shops and resturant all day long..I went to cool off and rest inbetween things..Sorry to say Im probably going to recommend this hotel other than a good location by the beach..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julie, sunshine's mom
Business
Savage, MN
May 22, 2010

not the right choice

I always give the benefit of the doubt when booking and choosing hotels. Knowing that the pictures are not up to date and are taken at the best angles. In all my travels, i have never seen a hotel that was in this bad of disrepair, and I was 'upgraded' to their sister hotel next door!! The only 2 good things were this hotel was right across from the beach and I only stayed one night. The 'breakfast' in the morning consisted of stale bagels and coffee...nothing else!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sir Hardenthick
Business
West Palm Beach,FL
May 19, 2010

Get what you pay for!!!

For the price I paid this hotel was great. My room was nice and clean(101) but my friends were not and had to change rooms. Location is great, 5 min walk to Fat Tuesday and $15 cab ride to Las Olas Riverfront. Overall nothing spectacular but perfect if your staying the night to party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
French canadiens young moms
Business
montreal, qc, canada
Apr 15, 2010

good price, ugly rooms, nice ocean view

We arrived at the hotel, they lost our reservation, the guy was very not nice, he told us to come back in 1 hour, he let us outside with our luggage and our babies, after 3 hours we came back to the hotel, they gave us a small room at the third floor (imagine with the kids , the stroller,...) we called [...] and they change our hotel. But the hotel have a great location,beach front view, just have to cross the street, ten minutes walk to shops, restaurants, pharmacy and bars. Hot swimming pool, no clean room and old room. the pictures were surely take at the opening of the hotel ten years ago!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utica, NY
Mar 16, 2010

Absolutely Gross

It was horrible, first room which was to be ocen view, was not, and door was already open on arrival and key lock on the door, second room was flooded with water but had to stay because I was tired and it was already 1am. First key card also did not work so in all I walked up and down 3 flights of stairs with baggage 3 times before actually getting a room. I left next morning for another hotel [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad in MN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 13, 2010

"Aweful! DO NOT STAY HERE!"

Checked in to our room to find dirty clothes from prior guests, moldy walls and ceilings, a dingy bathroom, and dirty "personal" products on the floor. The door didn't close or lock, the air conditioner didn't work, and the room refrigerator was leaking a strange liquid all over the tv. Needless to say, we quickly switched to another hotel. Dont waste your time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Il.
Mar 13, 2010

Super location, nice staff

Super location, very nice beach front the hotel but room was dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top