$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
View map of 529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
1.9
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.5
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.4

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. lauderdale, fl
Aug 4, 2011

Horrible

First I was charged for parking that was not told to me by anyone..till I got there ..There was no ice we had to keep asking for it which you had to get frim a bar. They gave us 1 towel for 4 people!! We asked for more we were told they didn't have any... Ended going to stay for the days paid and when we decided to stay longer found another hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, Oh
Jul 17, 2011

Good, bad and the the ugly

The room had an awesome view of the ocean. Nice pool and bar but I'm fighting with them to get money back which they had over charged me and also was told there was a continental breakfast on the internet, which there was not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Apr 18, 2011

H-O-R-R-I-B-L-E

I DON'T KNOW FROM WHERE TO START.SINCE WE GET THERE .ROOM VERY DIRTY MY CUSIN HAD ASTHMA CRISIS BECAUSE OF THE ROOM AND THE MOISTURE.WE SPOOK TO RECEPTIONS PPLE THEY WERE LIKE IMPOLITE AND WHEN WE TOLD THEM WE LEAVING THERE ANSWER WAS OKKKK.LIKE WE ARE BEGGING THEM.I WOULD'N T RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO MY ENNEMI.WE LEFT THE FIRST HOUR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Apr 3, 2011

Avoid Tropic Cay Beach Resort

To call this place a resort is ridiculous. The place is a dump. They did not have our reservation when we arrived because they had run out of "ink" in their fax machine a few days before. There was no complimentary drink upon check in. There was no complimentary coffee in the morning. The hotel still used hard keys which made me afraid to leave our belongings in the room so I stayed in the room while the rest of my family went to dinner. There was no carpet only dirty tile floors and there was hair in the vanity sink, hair in the tub and I was afraid to sleep under the covers so I slept on bath towels on top of the bed. Worst nightmare of a hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Daytona Beach
Mar 28, 2011

Disappointed

Check-in was at 3pm. I was not able to check-in until 6:30pm. The excuse I was given was, "we had alot of check-outs". No apology was given, that would have gone a long way. The guy at the front desk was very rude and unprofessional. When I mentioned that the room was still not clean he acted as if I was asking him for a kidney. The room itself was stuffy and the air conditioner was over the door and did not blow anywhere near me. It was hot most of the time, in fact, I left it on all day and when I returned it was no cooler than when I had left it. The TV was up to the maximum level and it was still hard to hear over the air conditioner. I wish I could say I had a better time but I can't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salisbury
Mar 24, 2011

horrible

Horrible. Dirty and broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 10, 2011

"Do not stay here, trust me."

You do not want to stay here, especially during Spring Break, unless you are a frat boy, then you will love it...on a serious note, don't even consider staying here, trust me...you'll thank me later..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Feb 21, 2011

Worst of the worst

worst of the worst ever. i waited almost 45 minutes before they give me a room. Once in the room, there were none of the comfort portrait on the website. I book that hotel because the website did a false advertisement if not i would not have. [...]to be precise, she's the host at the front desk didn't have any courtesy at all. She seems like she was lost and couldn't really sell the service. I will not nor suggest the Tropic Bay to anyone else. For a hotel near the beach, it's a waste of good location and potential. I left the hotel 2 hours after i got there leaving without worrying about any refund which i know i wasn't gonna get. Couldn't get any internet service in the room and room was filthy. Hopefully, feedback like this will help that particular hotel revise their ways of doing business,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The surrounding area is great as far as entertainment, dining, or the beach. Yet, Tropic Cay is certainly not offering the best service for such a great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
raybin
Business
palm bay, fl
Feb 13, 2011

AWFULL - DIRTY - BARE BONES GHETTO ROOMS

This place is the worst place. I prepaid with card so was kinda stuck with it. I refused the first room after walking into a room with messed up beds, MUDDY floors, broken door, lights not working,etc... They gave me only available room. No phone, broken remote, lights didn't work, tub clogged and water running. Air conditioner over door that leaked into room. WII didn't work in room, only in office. On and On. Line of people in office complaining about rooms. We slept in our clothes on Top of blanket. BEWARE of this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oronzadelphia
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 4, 2011

Better than a hostle, I suppose.

Relatively clean, although old and musty. The rooms, and hotel in general, definitely need some updating. It reminded me a little of an episode of an old sitcom where they go to a tropical island and end up staying in a hotel with all sorts of oddities and issues. Location can't be beat, but no so much a value for the dollar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay a few blocks from Fort Lauderdale beach and spend the same amount on a MUCH nicer hotel. Walking in the sunshine never hurt anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top