$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
View map of 529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
1.9
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.5
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.4

25% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ADR Hair
Business
Maitland, FL
May 7, 2013

DON'T BOOK IT!

The pictures of this hotel, must have been from when it was first built! The hotel is incredibly dirty, the pics are very misleading, don't do it!!! The room was filthy, there was no working AC, the kitchen was falling apart, the bed sheets were yellow... it was just horrific. We didn't bother staying, we immediately went to the front lobby and got a refund (which was processed so quickly we could tell we weren't the first)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caylan
Business
Nashville tn
Apr 27, 2013

Not bad at all

Tiki bar is great. All the staff at the motel and bar are really friendly. Could use alittle more updating to the room but overall I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelly the kid
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 25, 2013

Nasty

This hotel was supposed to provide me and my friend with a nice place to relax, clean off, and sleep after a long tiring day but it was not clean at all. The beds didn't even have real fitted sheets on them. The floors were disgusting as was the bathroom. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chillin555
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Mar 11, 2013

Nice low budget trip

Not very clean, not very comfortable, but was not looking for that, just a place by the beach near the bars! Sea club resort was cheaper and better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelLover27
Business
Chicago
Mar 7, 2013

Stay Away!!!!

First off, all I can say this is by far the worst hotel I have every stay at. The rooms are nothing like the picture’s show. It is a run-down motel. Also, if you are a light sleeper this is not the hotel for you. The hotel has a bar in the middle that has music playing till 2:00am. When you are in your room you can hear everything the walls are paper thin. In addition, if you are looking for customer service this is not the place. Jonathan the front desk agent has the worst people skills I have ever seen. When I called in to discuss my reservation as I had to leave one day early due to my father having a heart attack he hung up on me. TWICE. This man clearly does not value the customer’s that are paying his hourly wage. All I can say is STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the Hilton next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Daddy44
Business
New Jersy
Sep 5, 2012

It Was A Great Getaway!!!

I really enjoy my stay at the hotel, I spend time with my children, i had not seen them in a long time, the pool was right downstairs and the beach was right across the street is where i wanted to be, next time i come i will be venturing to more of the attractions, yea this was my first time in Fort Lauderdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ilkka
Business
Espoo
Mar 18, 2012

NIGHTMARE

The hotel is VERY noisy; young people having party the whole nigh. Bugs in bed. Room rate of $172 (two adults, two small kids) was too high compared with the standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BeachBoi
Business
Bal Harbour, FL, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Great location, but think twice

This hotel is in a PRIME location, right across the beach in famous Fort Lauderdale, Florida. It doesn't get any better than this for places to relax or party! But this hotel was not worth the savings to me. I stayed here because I was attending a wedding at a 4-star near by hotel but wanted to save a few bucks. It was not worth the savings. This hotel was not very nice at all, the on-site bar played VERY LOUD music until 2 or 3 am. Not comfortable beds, ancient construction, and just seemed like management does not care about the state of the property. Do yourself a favor and stay in one of the nicer properties in Ft. Lauderdale, where you will be more comfortable and get a better night's sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best beach in town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mazzo
Business
montebelluna
Aug 29, 2011

Very old!

The kitchen and the bathroom are old, brake and dirty but the position are spectacular, it is very near from the sea. Good the swimmingpool with bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mazzo
Business
montebelluna
Aug 29, 2011

Very old!

The kitchen and the bathroom are old, brake and dirty but the position are spectacular, it is very near from the sea. Good the swimmingpool with bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Very near to the sea!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top