$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.9
out of 5
94 reviews
great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 4, 2008
great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 4, 2008
Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel boasts kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi

Visitors sample a taste of the breezy South Floridian lifestyle at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, a budget hotel for short-term and extended stay travelers. Located on the scenic A1A between Palm Beach and Miami Beach, the Fort Lauderdale hotel is a mix of standard rooms and kitchenette efficiencies catering to guests who prefer dining at home. Outdoor pool and a kitschy alfresco bar make for a leisurely afternoon soaking up views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • Budget hotel situated on the scenic A1A
  • Free Wi-Fi and welcome drinks
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tropic Cay Patio Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
  • Near the Las Olas Riverfront, Port Everglades and other attractions
Rooms

Tropic Cay Beach resort accommodates short-term and extended stay travelers in tropical rooms and efficiencies. Spaces are warm, brightly lit and boast a Floridian palette of green and yellow. Palm-printed bedding complements cabana-striped headboards and matching bolster. Standard rooms come with two queen beds, while kitchenette efficiencies have the bonus convenience of a full kitchen equipped with a stove, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Wi-Fi is free.

Features

Tropic Cay Beach Resort guests gather at the swimming pool and roomy sundeck or pull a stool up at Tropic Cay Patio Bar--prime real estate for taking in views of the Atlantic Ocean. For off-site explorations, take a cruise to major tourist destinations such as Las Olas Boulevard, Galleria Mall and Bonnet House Museum and Gardens.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Miami International Airport (24.9 mi/40.2 km)
Attractions
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Port Everglades (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Port of Miami (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $10 per night per car.
  • The hotel bases rates upon double occupancy and charges $10 per extra person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Tropic Cay Beach Resort Rooms

Standard Two Doubles
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, cable TV, and telephone.
Efficiency Room
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, refrigerator, cable TV, and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropic Cay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1295 -80.1035
Area served
Ft. Lauderdale, FL. on Ft. Lauderdale Beach Blvd.(otherwise known as A1A). Between Sunrise and Las Olas Blvd.
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport (FLL) 5 miles.
Area description
The beach is across the street Fort Lauderdale Air Port 8 miles Port Everglades 2 miles Convention Center 2 miles Swimming Hall of Fame 1 mile Dolphin's Football Stadium 15 miles Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall 11 miles Everglades National Park 12 miles City of Miami & Palm Beach 35 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.1 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 13 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.6 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4
Value:
2.5

29% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW YORK
Apr 18, 2011

H-O-R-R-I-B-L-E

I DON'T KNOW FROM WHERE TO START.SINCE WE GET THERE .ROOM VERY DIRTY MY CUSIN HAD ASTHMA CRISIS BECAUSE OF THE ROOM AND THE MOISTURE.WE SPOOK TO RECEPTIONS PPLE THEY WERE LIKE IMPOLITE AND WHEN WE TOLD THEM WE LEAVING THERE ANSWER WAS OKKKK.LIKE WE ARE BEGGING THEM.I WOULD'N T RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO MY ENNEMI.WE LEFT THE FIRST HOUR

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Apr 3, 2011

Avoid Tropic Cay Beach Resort

To call this place a resort is ridiculous. The place is a dump. They did not have our reservation when we arrived because they had run out of "ink" in their fax machine a few days before. There was no complimentary drink upon check in. There was no complimentary coffee in the morning. The hotel still used hard keys which made me afraid to leave our belongings in the room so I stayed in the room while the rest of my family went to dinner. There was no carpet only dirty tile floors and there was hair in the vanity sink, hair in the tub and I was afraid to sleep under the covers so I slept on bath towels on top of the bed. Worst nightmare of a hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Apr 3, 2011

Avoid Tropic Cay Beach Resort

To call this place a resort is ridiculous. The place is a dump. They did not have our reservation when we arrived because they had run out of "ink" in their fax machine a few days before. There was no complimentary drink upon check in. There was no complimentary coffee in the morning. The hotel still used hard keys which made me afraid to leave our belongings in the room so I stayed in the room while the rest of my family went to dinner. There was no carpet only dirty tile floors and there was hair in the vanity sink, hair in the tub and I was afraid to sleep under the covers so I slept on bath towels on top of the bed. Worst nightmare of a hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Daytona Beach
Mar 28, 2011

Disappointed

Check-in was at 3pm. I was not able to check-in until 6:30pm. The excuse I was given was, "we had alot of check-outs". No apology was given, that would have gone a long way. The guy at the front desk was very rude and unprofessional. When I mentioned that the room was still not clean he acted as if I was asking him for a kidney. The room itself was stuffy and the air conditioner was over the door and did not blow anywhere near me. It was hot most of the time, in fact, I left it on all day and when I returned it was no cooler than when I had left it. The TV was up to the maximum level and it was still hard to hear over the air conditioner. I wish I could say I had a better time but I can't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Daytona Beach
Mar 28, 2011

Disappointed

Check-in was at 3pm. I was not able to check-in until 6:30pm. The excuse I was given was, "we had alot of check-outs". No apology was given, that would have gone a long way. The guy at the front desk was very rude and unprofessional. When I mentioned that the room was still not clean he acted as if I was asking him for a kidney. The room itself was stuffy and the air conditioner was over the door and did not blow anywhere near me. It was hot most of the time, in fact, I left it on all day and when I returned it was no cooler than when I had left it. The TV was up to the maximum level and it was still hard to hear over the air conditioner. I wish I could say I had a better time but I can't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salisbury
Mar 24, 2011

horrible

Horrible. Dirty and broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salisbury
Mar 24, 2011

horrible

Horrible. Dirty and broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 10, 2011

"Do not stay here, trust me."

You do not want to stay here, especially during Spring Break, unless you are a frat boy, then you will love it...on a serious note, don't even consider staying here, trust me...you'll thank me later..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 10, 2011

"Do not stay here, trust me."

You do not want to stay here, especially during Spring Break, unless you are a frat boy, then you will love it...on a serious note, don't even consider staying here, trust me...you'll thank me later..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Feb 21, 2011

Worst of the worst

worst of the worst ever. i waited almost 45 minutes before they give me a room. Once in the room, there were none of the comfort portrait on the website. I book that hotel because the website did a false advertisement if not i would not have. [...]to be precise, she's the host at the front desk didn't have any courtesy at all. She seems like she was lost and couldn't really sell the service. I will not nor suggest the Tropic Bay to anyone else. For a hotel near the beach, it's a waste of good location and potential. I left the hotel 2 hours after i got there leaving without worrying about any refund which i know i wasn't gonna get. Couldn't get any internet service in the room and room was filthy. Hopefully, feedback like this will help that particular hotel revise their ways of doing business,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The surrounding area is great as far as entertainment, dining, or the beach. Yet, Tropic Cay is certainly not offering the best service for such a great location.

Back to menu Return to top