Tropic Cay Beach Resort

2 stars
View map of 529 Ft. Lauderdale beach Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
1.9
out of 5
75 reviews
great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 4, 2008
Enjoyable stay right on the beach!

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and always have a great time. You are right on the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 17, 2008

Visitors sample a taste of the breezy South Floridian lifestyle at Tropic Cay Beach Resort, a budget hotel for short-term and extended stay travelers. Located on the scenic A1A between Palm Beach and Miami Beach, the Fort Lauderdale hotel is a mix of standard rooms and kitchenette efficiencies catering to guests who prefer dining at home. Outdoor pool and a kitschy alfresco bar make for a leisurely afternoon soaking up views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Rooms

Tropic Cay Beach resort accommodates short-term and extended stay travelers in tropical rooms and efficiencies. Spaces are warm, brightly lit and boast a Floridian palette of green and yellow. Palm-printed bedding complements cabana-striped headboards and matching bolster. Standard rooms come with two queen beds, while kitchenette efficiencies have the bonus convenience of a full kitchen equipped with a stove, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Wi-Fi is free.

Property features

Tropic Cay Beach Resort guests gather at the swimming pool and roomy sundeck or pull a stool up at Tropic Cay Patio Bar--prime real estate for taking in views of the Atlantic Ocean. For off-site explorations, take a cruise to major tourist destinations such as Las Olas Boulevard, Galleria Mall and Bonnet House Museum and Gardens.

Highlights
  • Budget hotel situated on the scenic A1A
  • Free Wi-Fi and welcome drinks
  • Outdoor pool
  • Tropic Cay Patio Bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean
  • Near the Las Olas Riverfront, Port Everglades and other attractions
Nearby attractions
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Port Everglades (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
  • Port of Miami (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (14.6 mi/23.5 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Miami International Airport (24.9 mi/40.2 km)
Policies
  • Parking fee is $10 per night per car.
  • The hotel bases rates upon double occupancy and charges $10 per extra person.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropic Cay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Tropic Cay Beach Resort Rooms

Efficiency Room
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, refrigerator, cable TV, and telephone.
Standard Two Doubles
A/C, two double beds, full bathroom, cable TV, and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.6 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.1 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 13 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.6 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Overall score

1.9 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
1.9
Cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
2.4
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.4

27% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Independence, *
Aug 4, 2008

great location for price

The location of the hotel is exceptionally great. It is located right across the street from the beach. I would gladly stay in this hotel on my next visit to Ft. Lauderdale, only minutes away from the shopping strip and just a few minute walk to beach, makes this establishment well worth your time and money. It was a very good value and we are very happy we chose it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything from shopping to cafe's is right within walking distance.

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Praveen J.
Business
N/A
Jun 10, 2015

Family trip

location is really great. Door was stucky. Bathroom was not good. But still value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joseph P.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Call the haz-mat team

The tropic cay looks like the chain saw scene from scareface. Not only that, it looks like it hasn't been updated since the murder happened in the bathroom. I feel like my family and our items need to be sterilized after our stay. Tropic cay gives roach motel a new lower standard. The beach was cool though, you just had to be seen walking back to the MOTEL of horror.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ERIC LIKES DISNEY
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Should be condemed!

Dirty ( Mold all over the bathroom) loud ( party music pounding all night), feared for my life (sounded like the party got out of hand, was to fearfully to open my door)! Please remove this hotel from your site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
web311
Business
wellington
Apr 6, 2015

The place is being torn down

I stayed here despite the bad rating because I believe in giving things a chance. This place really does live up to the bad rating, though. Turns out the property has been purchased to make condos so I guess management is just letting it go until it's time to tear it down. Our room was extremely dirty... don't even think about walking around barefoot. Our bathroom door didn't close because it must have been kicked in at some point, and the kitchenette was lacking supplies. The location was amazing, though... loved walking across the street to the beach. If you're looking for a roof over your head, a bed to sleep in, and a toilet that flushes, then this is the place. But I was embarrassed to tell people where I was staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stan J.
Business
Amherst
Mar 19, 2015

Great location

You get what you pay for here. The location is fantastic but the property is a motel. It is what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappytraveler
Business
Liberty
Mar 9, 2015

NEVER!

Just don't stay here. Spend the extra couple hundred dollars and stay elsewhere. It is getting torn down soon, and for good reason. The only nice part about the hotel was the bartenders and the bar. They were great. I would go back only for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tara V.
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

horrible

I am at a loss as to how this hotel has two stars. It must be based on location alone. The hotel was absolutely disgusting. Every inch of the hotel was dirty. I have to give props to the housekeeping staff for trying to clean the bathroom, but this place should be condemned. I just don't have the words to describe the filth. I would have rather slept on the beach to be honest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Spend the extra money for a decent hotel.

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JOANNA T.
Business
SAN JUAN
Dec 29, 2014

Very dirty

At first it seemed to be in a motel type of lodging. Later it got worst when one of my children , a 2 year old, swallowed a pill from the dirty floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
missmizzy
Business
orlando
Dec 8, 2014

mrs

very old and rundown, not a full bar, just not a pleasant place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hollywood boardwalk

Review of Tropic Cay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dia oceal girl
Business
Fort Myers, FL
Nov 24, 2014

Olde Florida experience

Extraordinary location with an ocean view from almost every room. NOT for those with Ritz expectations but a great value for where you are,,,Suffice it to say, my Mom and I worked there 50 years ago...much is the same. It's just old and could use attention, but the beds were clean and comfortable and the Italian delivery was out of this world! We will stay again, but we are people who just want a clean place to sleep and sit and look at the ocean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Ask for the Italian delivery menu. GREAT food!

Back to menu Return to top