$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

The Westin Fort Lauderdale

4 stars
400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
194 reviews
Just what we wanted

We were in town for a Cane football game and wanted to stay in the Ftl area that night. The hotel... See full review

  • mmako11
  • Sep 29, 2014
Everyone was great! Except one person.

Absolutely loved the hotel staff and the hotel itself. We stayed for a week and loved every minute... See full review

  • TeddyBearCa
  • Dec 8, 2014
Executive class luxury and three acres of lagoon paradise

Sleek, renovated rooms and executive amenities are only part of the allure at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, which is just minutes from beaches, The Palm Aire Golf and Country Club and the Isle of Capri Pompano Casino. The business luxury hotel overlooks three acres of sparkling lagoon, a lovely spot around which to dine alfresco or take a dip in the outdoor heated pool. Ample event space caters to traveling executives who can also take advantage of the business and fitness centers.

Highlights
  • Luxury Fort Lauderdale hotel near beaches, casino and golf courses
  • Overlooks three acres of lagoon
  • Alfresco dining at Alfiere's Mediterranean Bistro
  • Heated outdoor pool with cascading waterfall
Rooms

The Westin Fort Lauderdale sets the tone for serenity with plush white comforters atop signature Heavenly Beds, complementing muted walls, beveled mirrors and silky copper drapes. Leather armchairs and espresso-colored furniture bring in executive style, plus all the tech comforts of home and office--from flat-screen TVs to high-speed Internet access--keep guests connected during their stay. Windows capture the cityscape. Standards offer refreshment centers, granite-topped work stations and deluxe bath products. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Features

Recreation

The Westin Fort Lauderdale creates the ultimate private resort experience with a gym featuring exercise balls and cardio machines, dry sauna and outdoor heated lagoon pool and Whirlpool. The pool channels island luxury with a boomerang layout that wraps around palm trees and a vast step structure with a cascading waterfall.

Dining

Alfresco dining keeps the atmosphere casual at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, where guests take in lagoon views from the boardwalk at Alfiere's Mediterranean Bistro, specializing in fresh pasta and wine. Indoors, grab a cup of java at Starbucks or head to the Lobby Lounge Bistro for international and regional fare.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Miami International Airport (30 mi/48 km)
Attractions
  • Isle of Capri Pompano Casino (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Palm Aire Golf and Country Club (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Broward County Convention Center (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Port Everglades (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (30 mi/48 km)
Business
  • 22,000 square feet of event space, including the area's only 33-seat amphitheater
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour business center
  • Printing and copying service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Fort Lauderdale also booked these hotels.

The Westin Fort Lauderdale Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Sauna
Golf
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
In room movies
Sitting area
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 5.3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 5.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 5.5 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.5 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 5.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.8 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 5.9 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.9 mi
  • Stranahan House: 5.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 5.3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 5.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 5.5 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.5 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 5.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.8 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 5.9 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.9 mi
  • Stranahan House: 5.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 6.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 6.4 mi
  • New River: 6.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 7.3 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 7.5 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8.4 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 19.3 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.4 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 28 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (194)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
194 out of 194
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DomestickMuse
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 17, 2009

Generic and NonDescript Service

Although the hotel is right off of I95, its location is not obvious, and I drove 1/2 mile down Corporate Drive and back again before figuring out how to find the driveway. Service was adequate, and the room was clean enough, but effects of downsizing were evident in the empty mini-bar and dearth of towels and washcloths. The bed and shower were exceptionally comfortable as one would expect at a Westin. Decor was a bit dark and dreary, seemed targeted to the male business guest. Staff was somewhat indifferent to guests; e.g., I was not told at check-in where the restaurant, Fitness Center or pool could be found. Starving at 2:30 p.m., I was exiled to an empty lounge area filled with blaring TVs to await food service at the end of the lunch rush and it was 10 minutes before anyone appeared to take my order. Food prices at the hotel are exorbitant, so plan to eat elsewhere. The pool is gorgeous, one of the nicer pool areas I've seen at a Westin, in a lovely and tranquil outdoor setting adjacent to an artificial lagoon. Children would love the pool, and I regretted not bringing my teenager with me. I enjoyed sitting in the shady poolside gazebo reading a book and listening to the pool's fountain feature. The location within the area was ok for my purposes, and convenient to I95, but there are not many decent restaurants nearby, and none within walking distance. The real drawbacks to this hotel for me were the costs of self-parking and having to pay for internet access. Internet service should be included in the room cost for business travelers. On the other hand, the hotel did upgrade me to a king bed at no additional charge over the pre-paid package cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Although it is a 5-mile drive from the hotel, DO NOT MISS the Zagat-rated Grandma's Ice Cream and French Cafe, located at 3354 N.Ocean Blvd (Hwy A1A) in Ft. Lauderdale. They offer a 3-course prix fixe summer menu at $14.95, and both food and service are impeccable. The best French food I've had in a long time. My meal was exceptionally good, and finished off with a dish of fabulous homemade ice cream. Parking is scarce, but you can park down the street in front of one of the empty realty co. storefronts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wyoming
May 11, 2009

Only a 4-Star Wannabe

We came by cab from the airport. Chose this hotel online because it was listed as an airport hotel. It was a $40 cab ride to the hotel and a $36 shuttle ride back to the airport. I don't mind paying first class prices when it's a first class value but this wasn't. All in all the hotel was a little bit 'off' in the class department. There was a coffeemaker in the room, but no coffee or cups. The Westin had a 'cold' feel to it. As if all the money was spent on the ultra modern look of the lobby and not enough on amenities. It failed to impress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car unless you want to spend your time enjoying the 'heavenly beds' at the FLL Westin. It's in a corporate location with nothing to do nearby outside the hotel (or inside for that matter). Cabs and shuttles are expensive and renting a car is much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
COLORADO SPRINGS CO
Sep 29, 2009

WESTIN FOR LAUDERDALE

THE HOTEL IS IN AN AREA WITH LOTS OF EMPTY LAND. I DID NOT APPRECIATE BEING CHARGED $10 PER DAY TO PARK MY CAR. I UNDERSTAND THIS CHARGE IN A BIG CITY, BUT OUT IN THE COUNTRYSIDE, I REALLY RESENT IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Aug 17, 2010

Not bad

Ok room. Cleaning service was helpful, front desk somewhat rude....when trying to upgrade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 31, 2010

Generally Good, Some Concerns

The building and grounds are beautiful; the hotel is in a lovely setting. Very accessible to Route 95. Fitness Center has quality equipment, but, based on the number of guest rooms in the hotel, fitness center had too few pieces of equipment (too much waiting time). Our guest room was sizable, however had some minor glitches. TV was not always responsive to the remote control, hot water in the shower thundered when turned up to high, alarm clock and telephone would not work until electrical connections were improved by the building engineer. Staff was very responsive when called with these concerns; however, we had an impression of disorganization.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new Jersey
Jun 12, 2009

Could have been better.

More of a Business hotel.. Several company events the entire wk. Not a place for a family..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ashburn, VA
May 13, 2009

Westin is more than just the bed.

We decided to stay Westin style as we have in the past and Orbitz offered such a great deal. This Westin leaves a little to be desired. I have a few complaints about this establishment. First - We arrived around 3pm for check-in. We were welcomed and informed of the parking fee, confirmed that our room was paid in full but a credit card would be held for any incidentals. The parking fee for the hotel was $10 per day (never mentioned in the reservation fine print or the two times I called the hotel in advance of my arrival). Second - We were never offered a mini-bar key though two customers in front of us were given one when they checked in without asking. My mother retrieved hers later that evening per her request. I never bothered to return for one. Third – After the staff completed their check-in, they asked us if we needed concierge to get our bags and take them to the room. (Ummmm, this is the Westin right?) I was stunned to find that this was some sort of “option”. Then I thought, maybe some guests carry their own bags up. I have had staff from LaQuinta immediately take my bags to the room when they completed the check-in process. So, you pay $200+ a night for a room and you have to carry your own bags up to the room, go figure. I did ask the staff to page the concierge and he came in a few minutes to take our bags up. Fourth - I somehow misplaced my credit card during this trip. I contacted my bank for pending transactions and to report the loss when they informed me of $50 charges from the Westin. I immediately notified the front desk for further explanation, they were unavailable and I was told they would call me back. They never did. I went to the lobby and the staff was congregated around one another discussing events. I interrupted their "fun" and asked why I was not informed of the charges. The staff member that checked me in never alerted me of such a daily charge. I was aware that Westin would hold the credit card for incidentals but NOT the $50 per day charge! The staff went as far as to explain "any hotel that you stay at…." process and I stopped them immediately. I have stayed at hotels half way around the world and have not incurred such a fee on a fully paid room. My point was to receive an apology for the slack of their staff member that checked me and my family in and to provide me the policy in writing. I never received the apology just rhetoric about what "they" do. I informed them that the Westin is more than just the heavenly bed (I have one at home, big deal) and I expected more from their establishment. Again, I received no apologies for the miscommunication from their staff. Fifth - Upon departure I had a charge to the mini-bar. That's right; I never even had a key! How did I get the charge? Well, the checkout staff member was friendlier than my check-in staff member and he apologized for the inconvenience and reprinted the bill. Sixth - Who has free wireless access? Not this Westin. I was shocked to find that there was a daily fee for this. I had free access at the airport, at the Starbucks, at my sister's hotel (The Comfort Suites) and at the hotel reservation that I cancelled to get this great deal (LaQuinta). Thank goodness for my iPhone. Again, I repeat, $200+ rooms and no free wireless acess…ummm…

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping, a casino, movie theater and dining is available right underneath I-95! The staff never disclosed it. We "found" this mirage on our own after finding the casino. The area is not as desolate as you would think.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lonetravlr
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 14, 2009

Relaxing stay

rooms were clean & spacious. Amentities were nice. Check in & out was hassle free. You must have transportation & the hotel charges $10/day for parking. Not a wide variety of restaurants close by. If you don't mind staying out from the beach, it's a really nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr Chanel
Business
Houston Texas
Sep 7, 2009

Great hotel for business traveler

This is a wonderful hotel if you are traveling on business. However, not very well suited for those needing walking distance entertainment. The hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere. It took 15-30 minutes getting anywhere to eat. I will spend the extra money to stay at a hotel closer to civilization next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Aventura mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
douglasville, ga.
Jun 18, 2009

Very upset!!!

We had a great stay until we were charged $100 for a phone call that was not made from our room (it was made from a previous guest)that almost ruined the stay.And charging for parking daily also put a damper on things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a diner called Moonlight Diner that was very close to the hotel that the staff was very friendly and food was excellent and at a great price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top