The Westin Fort Lauderdale

4 stars
View map of 400 Corporate Drive, 400 Corporate Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
167 reviews
Ravens game

The Hotel was very clean, the staff was friendly and the price was good. The location was good, but... See full review

  • Ryan S.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Just what we wanted

We were in town for a Cane football game and wanted to stay in the Ftl area that night. The hotel... See full review

  • mmako11
  • Sep 29, 2014

Sleek, renovated rooms and executive amenities are only part of the allure at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, which is just minutes from beaches, The Palm Aire Golf and Country Club and the Isle of Capri Pompano Casino. The business luxury hotel overlooks three acres of sparkling lagoon, a lovely spot around which to dine alfresco or take a dip in the outdoor heated pool. Ample event space caters to traveling executives who can also take advantage of the business and fitness centers.

Rooms

The Westin Fort Lauderdale sets the tone for serenity with plush white comforters atop signature Heavenly Beds, complementing muted walls, beveled mirrors and silky copper drapes. Leather armchairs and espresso-colored furniture bring in executive style, plus all the tech comforts of home and office--from flat-screen TVs to high-speed Internet access--keep guests connected during their stay. Windows capture the cityscape. Standards offer refreshment centers, granite-topped work stations and deluxe bath products. Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Property features

Recreation

The Westin Fort Lauderdale creates the ultimate private resort experience with a gym featuring exercise balls and cardio machines, dry sauna and outdoor heated lagoon pool and Whirlpool. The pool channels island luxury with a boomerang layout that wraps around palm trees and a vast step structure with a cascading waterfall.

Dining

Alfresco dining keeps the atmosphere casual at The Westin Fort Lauderdale, where guests take in lagoon views from the boardwalk at Alfiere's Mediterranean Bistro, specializing in fresh pasta and wine. Indoors, grab a cup of java at Starbucks or head to the Lobby Lounge Bistro for international and regional fare.

Highlights
  • Luxury Fort Lauderdale hotel near beaches, casino and golf courses
  • Overlooks three acres of lagoon
  • Alfresco dining at Alfiere's Mediterranean Bistro
  • Heated outdoor pool with cascading waterfall
Nearby attractions
  • Isle of Capri Pompano Casino (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • The Palm Aire Golf and Country Club (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
  • Broward County Convention Center (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Port Everglades (7.4 mi/12 km)
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (18.2 mi/29.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (30 mi/48 km)
Business
  • 22,000 square feet of event space, including the area's only 33-seat amphitheater
  • Catering
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour business center
  • Printing and copying service
Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Miami International Airport (30 mi/48 km)

The Westin Fort Lauderdale Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Cordless phone
Microwave
Cribs available

Hotel Map

26.2044 -80.1377
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Ft. Lauderdale International Airport, (FLL), 20.92, KM; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 64.37, KM;
Area description
Suburban, Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 5.3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 5.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 5.5 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.5 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 5.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.8 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 5.9 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.9 mi
  • Stranahan House: 5.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 5.1 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 5.3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 5.3 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 5.5 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.5 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 5.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 5.8 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.8 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 5.9 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.9 mi
  • Stranahan House: 5.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 6.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 6.4 mi
  • New River: 6.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 7.3 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 7.5 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8.4 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 9.3 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 19.3 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.4 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 28 mi

Dining

Alfiere's Mediterranean Bistro
Alfiere's Mediterranean Bistro offers fresh pasta, boardwalk dining, and an extensive wine list.
Lobby Lounge Bistro
Our Lobby Lounge Bistro is a perfect spot for light fare and cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (167)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris J.B.
Business
Las Vegas
Apr 3, 2013

Left Lots to Be Desired

Was expecting 4 star it is really a low 2 star. Chose this hotel because I am a member and have had good experiences in the past. This hotel best feature??? Its location. First room smelled, carpet dirty and wall paper peeling off the walls Second room not much better. Bathroom shower ran and Toilet leak water. Told them everyday of my 5 night stay. Never fixed. Left $10 tip for house keeping and asked for extra towels and coffee. She took the tip and left nothing!!! When I call down they brought it 2 hours later. I was only in the room at night to sleep. If we had not prepaid, I would have left. Buyer Beware!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quiltinana
Business
Albany,NY
Mar 26, 2013

Staff was helpful and courteous

When we arrived our room was ready and we were greeted by a friendly staff. Food served on the premises was excellent and we would return again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Casinos which had excellent dining experiences!!!

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ed201
Business
fortlauderdale florida
Mar 16, 2013

bring your own towels

the hotel is great but no coffee shops , we didnt have a car which we did rent once we got there , there is no shuttles or anything . but the worse for me was we would go into the hot tub but when we got back in room to bathe for dinner there were never no towels , we even went out bought few towels when we ask they would say we are waiting to have them sent up every two days we would get one one day we only got wash cloths and they took dirty towels so we didnt have anything to dry on was a mess , people are very nice they just need few more hundred towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cliff husband and lover
Business
Maryland
Jan 3, 2013

NYE getaway

We have stayed at the Westin previously and always find it to be a good value. Centrally located, rooms always clean, comfortable bed and quiet at night, for the most part. Staff could be a little friendlier and not always prompt with service. But overall a very good value for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Founders
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Dec 23, 2012

less than expected

I would rate that hotel at 2-3 stars. It is certainly not a 4 star. I imagine the only reason it is assumed to be a 4 star is that it has a "resort" associated with it, which only means a pool and a restaurant... both of which are located right next to the highway the hotel is off of. The reception was lackluster at best when we checked in. That was the only staff we saw on the premises the whole time... which would explain the half full wine glass that sat on the window sill of the loby for alost 15 hours (the amount of time we were there). I tried calling the concierge after having difficulty with the internet and had to leave a message, which was never returned. In the end we were never able to get on line. The warn and stained carpet had power cables running underneath it, and the countertops in the bath had cracks and glued down chips/pops in its top. Additionally, the show leaked from the head all night. On the up side, the shower did have two heads. However, when you see a card on the sink asking you not to clean your towels with every use to help reduce the amount of water used for the sake of the environment the two shower heads seemed out of place. I appreciate real environmental concern. I do not appreciate green washing for the sake of marketing. I also liked the fruit infused H2O at the front door, but did not appreciate the $14.00 continental breakfast, which is free at lesser hotels. In the end, if on vacation and looking for a 4 star hotel to enjoy, this is not the one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Little 50's style diner up the road. good servie, and reasonable food.

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GGand OT
Business
Alexandria, VA
Dec 9, 2012

Westin Ft. Lauderdale

Bed was comfortable, room clean. The soundproofing in the rooms is nil--we could even hear the maids talking in the hall. The hotel was understaffed, and the business center too smal;l for a business friendly hotel--it was a long wait to be able to access a computer. They charge extra for Internet service. Though advertised as near the airport, there is no airport shuttle service, and the cab ride was nearly $40. All in all, an average place, and would not stay tere again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It can be difficult to get a cab, and the traffic is horrific, so any cab ride that takes ypou on I-95 is going to be very expensive.

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darkknight1999
Business
Norwood, MA
Nov 29, 2012

Never stay here...awful

I've traveled a lot for work and stayed all over. So needless to say I know the difference between quick clean value and what a 4star hotel should be. This trip was to take my wife for a nice get away for a long weekend. This place from the highway at 70mph or from pictures on a website looked fine... This is a Westin after all... rated for 4 stars... but it's not, and it's not even close... The problems started almost right away... here they are in no particular order: 1. Stained carpet 2. Toilet ran the whole time 3. TV hardly worked 4. TV remote didnt work at all 5. The bed squeaked every time you moved 6. No free wifi... ($10 bucks a day!?!!) wifi is free all most every where, including the value hotels. 7. Shower head made the pipes rattle in the wall. Zero chance of taking a shower and not waking everyone else around you up. 8. Little bugs in the bathroom (noticed this the 2nd morning) (we checked out after on the second morning) 9. Food and drinks were awful. 10. Trash in the parking lot... 11. Staff was useless... For all the trouble, they gave me a 1000 "Star Points" and $10 bucks off our bar tab, which was only $40 bucks to begin with... We checked out a day early because I was not going to stay in such a place! We'll never stay in a Westin ever again. We got a room for the night at the much much better hotel... They treat you amazingly. Hopefully booking agent can do something for me. -John

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RonaldR
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 16, 2012

Great for the business man/women

If your looking for a "corporate" place to stay. This is it. Very clean. Not a great choice if your a tourist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
darkknight1999
Business
Norwood, MA
Nov 12, 2012

Do not stay here....

I've traveled a lot for work and stayed all over. So needless to say I know the difference between quick clean value and what a 4star hotel should be. This trip was to take my wife for a nice get away for a long weekend. This place from the highway at 70mph or from pictures on a website looked fine... This is a Westin after all... rated for 4 stars... but it's not, and it's not even close... The problems started almost right away... here they are in no particular order: 1. Stained carpet 2. Toilet ran the whole time 3. TV hardly worked 4. TV remote didnt work at all 5. The bed squeaked every time you moved 6. No free wifi... ($10 bucks a day!?!!) wifi is free all most every where, including the value hotels. 7. Shower head made the pipes rattle in the wall. Zero chance of taking a shower and not waking everyone else around you up. 8. Little bugs in the bathroom (noticed this the 2nd morning) (we checked out after on the second morning) 9. Food and drinks were awful. 10. Trash in the parking lot... 11. Staff was useless... For all the trouble, the have me a 1000 "Star Points" and $10 bucks our bar tab, which was only $40 bucks to begin with... We checked out a day early because I was not going to stay in such a place! We'll never stay in a Westin ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PAula84
Business
Naples, fl
Sep 22, 2012

NOT HAPPY!!!!

I'm Usually one to not complain!!!! but this hotel rooms was nothing like the pictures you OTBIT show!!!!! therefore i slept uncomfortable due to the SMALL place!!!!!! i will not be returning and might even i to call the hotel in advance they said you have a suite picture up! NOT HAPPY at ALL :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top