$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

4 stars
View map of 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, 321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Curious neststalker
Family
los angeles
Sep 9, 2012

Not worth my money and support

Everything supposed to feel posh but it was all looks and not quality. The carpet didn't feel clean. Furniture had chipped. Wall was not clean, had smears. The pool is tiny so is the fitness room. In room amenity, only coffee offered not tea. The fridge wasn't cold. Internet wasn't free. Staffs were very nice but some weren't as with any hotel. They claimed that their valet service would have my car ready if I called from the room. I tried. When I showed up, it wasn't ready and still have to wait every time. The location was perfect. The sandy beach was only a few feet away from the water. But they could have done a better job to protect the environment and endangered turtles. I came during turtle nesting season. There were signs on the streets about street lights turn off at a certain time which was understandable. Certain areas were taped off to prevent foot traffic on turtles nest. The hotel didn't even have a single information about the turtle nests posted. People from the hotel just walk in the taped off area assuming it was saved for children's play. The hotel has staffs that put the chairs out for us but charged $20 for umbrella and didn't tell us about the turtle nests. Light attracts turtles away from the ocean. The hotel elevator corridor to the beach light was on all night even if they don't let their guests used it after 8pm. What a waste of energy and hazard to the baby turtles. Since I was fascinated with the turtles and their nesting, I stayed up most of the night to watch turtles hatch. Turn out, it was illegal to disturb turtles and I could be fined. I could only watch from a distance without light. After talking to one of the staff about how they could have let me know earlier with information or turn off the light on the unused corridor, he tried to avoid the conversation. I watched many documentary about babies turtles died when they headed for street light. I feel so guilty staying at this hotel knowing that they didn't even bother to turn off unused bright white lights and so many people stepped on these nests even when they are taped off. When does the killing end? I came for a vacation but now I am disturbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just ned to unwind
Family
Fort Myers Fl.
Sep 5, 2012

Fun in the sun

Great Location , facilities are great but a little pricey , Shula's was a great experince and great food . But the staff at check out was lacking they booked us in the wrong room so that had to move us to another room but it was not ready , so they asked if we could go to the pool bar and have a refreshment on them . Well we did that and when the room was ready and got ready to leave we told the bartender up front that Westin was going to buy our 1st drinks but she gave us a hard time and got very angry at us , so we ended up paying for our drinks, then on the following day coming back from the beach the security guard wouldn't allow us back on the premisses because the front desk forgot to give us an wrist bracelet , we got that resolved. then we tried to charge something to our room and the front desk clerk forgot to save our charge card information

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

dinning and entertainment is a short walk away many restuarants and bars within a half mile

Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wants another trip
Business
For Lauderdale, Florida
Sep 4, 2012

awesome

everything smelled wonderful - had a slight problem with the faucet in the bathroom sink ( low water pressure) and when reported, it was fixed IMMEDIATELY - then we even got a follow up call to see if we were satisfied - this was one of the best hotels we've stayed in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E from Orlando
Couples
Orlando, FL
Aug 28, 2012

Great Weekend Getaway

We loved the room and location. The pool, restaurant(s) and beach area were all great!! The only disappointment was that you could hear doors from other rooms closing - no matter what time of day or night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

15 Street Fisheries is a must to either have a formal meal upstairs or a drink and appetiser downstairs (hint - some apps $ 5.00 at HH) Don't miss feeding the tarpon right behind the restaurant!!

Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dryolo
Family
New Jersey
Aug 25, 2012

Mother and daughter getaway

To pick a vacation site from the internet can be a daunting task but I am very happy with the choice I made to stay at the Westin. The majority of the staff were friendly and accomodating. Hotel meals pricey but other eateries are within walking distance.Is an older building, needs vents dusted in bathrooms, and walls should be inspected more closely for mold (what I saw was minimal). An added bonus for this 4-star hotel would be airport shuttle, only because taxi service (though good) fluctuates price wise. Will definitly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Roos
Family
Mahopac, NY
Aug 19, 2012

Great time

The pool staff and the staff at Waves was great. We truly enjoyed our stay. Room was good, cleaned every day) but view was not (had a view of the roof) but we weren't in our room that much. The spa was great. Suggestions I would make is to have the hall carpets cleaned in the south tower; get a better less expensive site for breakfast. But overall, we had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a car to get around. There are some great restaurants on Federal Hwy. (D'Angelos) and on Los Alos Blvd. (Chima's & big City Tavern) - ask the Concierge - he sent us to all really good restaurants.

Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RNew
Friends
Florence, KY
Jun 26, 2012

Great Hotel

Had a couple of days to get away and immediately thought of the Westin...The room and location were absolutely what I needed. The staff was very accomdating and helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vend184
Couples
Staten Island, New York
May 19, 2012

just what your looking for!

Everyone was friendly, the hotel and property was very clean. No complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
superlawyer
Business
new york
May 10, 2012

business on the beach

Overall the hotel is very nice. my major criticism is that the walls are paper thin. I heard my neighbors as loudly and clear as if we were in the same room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Letmeup
Family
Florids
May 8, 2012

Nice hotel

Excellent location. Nice beach. Rooms are nice but the walls are very thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top