$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

4 stars
321 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
76 reviews
Perfect stay

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Fort Lauderdale and stayed at the westin. We had an amazing time... See full review

  • Raver221
  • Aug 19, 2014
Everything you could ask for.

This hotel was a great value to sum it up. One memorable highlight though was the sushi, the best I... See full review

  • PDRMD
  • Aug 19, 2014
Few hotels encapsulate the laidback luxury of Fort Lauderdale quite as well as The Westin Beach Resort and Spa. Perched right on the waterfront, with a 6,335-foot sundeck crowning the hotel's brilliant blue high-rise, guests will take in the Atlantic Ocean in all of its boundless glory. Sink into a daydream with a neck massage at the on-site Heavenly Spa, test the skills of local mixologists with a cocktail or two at the Waves Bar and Grill, or sit down to a prime steak at Shula’s on the Beach restaurant.
Key facts
  • 433 guestrooms 
  • Restaurant: Shula's on the Beach
  • Poolside bar: Waves Bar and Grill
  • Heated outdoor infinity pool
  • Beach access skywalk, connecting the third-floor pool area to the beach
  • Full-service spa
  • Fitness center
  • Business center 
  • 22 conference rooms
  • Wi-Fi available
  • 24-hour room service
  • Valet parking (fees may apply)
Neighborhood
A trip around Fort Lauderdale doesn't demand much planning from the Westin Beach Resort; a guest needs only to step outside, and they will be within walking distance of the glitzy SunCruz Casino (the town's cruise port), Port Everglades, and a private skywalk to the striking white shoreline. A few blocks west lays the waterways and canals that have earned the city its nickname 'Venice of America'. The neighborhood is also a fashionista's paradise, with branded vintage rags and 'haute couture' to discover on nearby Las Olas Boulevard.
Hints and tips
For a more fragrant stay, ask for a North Tower room, since all of the facilities located here are imbued with the faint scent of the hotel's Heavenly Spa.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.126 -80.1036
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 5.00, MI; Fort Lauderdale Executive Airport, (FXE), 7.00, MI; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 33.00, MI;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale Rooms

Oceanfront
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Scuba diving
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Kennels
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Las Olas Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.5 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.8 mi
  • New River: 1.2 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.5 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.8 mi
  • New River: 1.2 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 6 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.3 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.9 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 22.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cappu99
MA...Boston
May 13, 2013

perfect couple vacation spot

Perfect location, the staff was great. Everything within walking distance. We started our day with a 3 mile walk, then off to the beach(never a problem getting towels or chairs) for a few hours and then hit some restaurants and bars. If I had to complain about one thing..we never got our wake up call the morning we left. It didn't matter because we set our alarm and just wanted a backup. The person at check out was very apologetic. Also we did not rent a car however everyone we met staying at hotel complained about the $28 a day fee to park at the hotel!!!! I will defiantly go back if the price is similar to what I paid this vacation...if not I will try the Hilton next door!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba Shrimp was the best food for a fair price. Chima was excellent but a little pricey. $50 per person for Brazilian buffet and $15 for a glass of wine. Worth the experience if you do not have a place like this near home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim 48187
Canton, MI
Mar 25, 2013

Great Location, Very Comfy Room

The location and access to the Beach was very convenient. We had a great view of the ocean from our room. The beds were very comfortable, we had a great two nights' rest. We appreciate the ease of access to transportation around town and getting to the port for our cruise. I appreciated the Starbucks and small store in the hotel. I was not particularly pleased with Shula's because they ran out of prime rib and the following morning our breakfast took 50 minutes to arrive. It seems with a fully-booked hotel they were unprepared. That aside, we were pleased with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I was not particularly pleased with Shula's in the hotel. They ran out of prime rib and the following morning our breakfast took 50 minutes to arrive. There is a Starbucks in the hotel which is helpful. There are plenty of other places within a short cab ride that you can eat at in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karabear's mom
Business
Hickory, North Carolina
Mar 8, 2013

Conference getaway

The location of the hotel and the view from my room were excellent. The staff were very professional and helpful. We really enjoyed taking our books out on the beach and sitting in the hotel provided beach chairs and studying. However, they took our chairs away promptly at 5pm for the day, which was disappointing. The breakfast was wonderful and the sound system for the conference was very good. On the last day of our conference we realized about 100 or more people would need to get to the airport in a rush to catch their flight. A few of us went to the front desk and inquired as to obtaining or reserving a taxi for 5pm. We were told that would not be necessary. They had anticipated the rush and they would have several taxi vans waiting for us. At 5:05 when we started flooding the entrance to obtain our rides, only one van was to be seen. Luckily I was one of the first out of the hotel. I feel sorry for the ones that were stuck at the hotel with no taxi and a flight to catch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The water taxi was WONDERFUL. Being able to ride the taxi and try different restraunts along the intercostal waterway was an amazing experience.P

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cruise aholic
Neenah, WI
Feb 6, 2013

Day before cruise...

The Westin was perfect place to stay the night before our cruise. It was very nice and the location was perfect to kill time prior to boarding our ship. Plenty of shops/restaurants, I would definately stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
murphster47
Greenville, SC, USA
Dec 25, 2012

Great view, great times

Couldn't ask for a better time, great service, great view and excellent restaurants, bars and the beach right across the street. This hotel has two towers connected to each other, one has lobby and pool, the other has Starbucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superwife C
Virginia
Sep 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

The room we got at check in was not so great, overpowering smell of bleach and the you couldn't open the window. The staff gave us another room located in the second tower which was much nicer and you could open a sliding door and look out at the ocean.The bathroom is very strange, the shower has a half glass instead of a door so water gets all over and you are forced to get a shot of cold water when you turn the shower on. There is no privacy either b/c the doors are like wooden shutters. Otherwise a nice room. The pool was very nice, walkway to the beach was great, starbucks located in the building was great. Having to pay $25 a day for valet parking wasn't so great and even though we called ahead we still waited 10 minutes each time to get our car. Otherwise the staff was great and the hotel is pretty nice and right on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb333
Atlanta
Sep 10, 2012

Fun in the sun!

Couldn't ask to be closer to the beach action. Staff friendly and helpful but not obtrusive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Curious neststalker
los angeles
Sep 9, 2012

Not worth my money and support

Everything supposed to feel posh but it was all looks and not quality. The carpet didn't feel clean. Furniture had chipped. Wall was not clean, had smears. The pool is tiny so is the fitness room. In room amenity, only coffee offered not tea. The fridge wasn't cold. Internet wasn't free. Staffs were very nice but some weren't as with any hotel. They claimed that their valet service would have my car ready if I called from the room. I tried. When I showed up, it wasn't ready and still have to wait every time. The location was perfect. The sandy beach was only a few feet away from the water. But they could have done a better job to protect the environment and endangered turtles. I came during turtle nesting season. There were signs on the streets about street lights turn off at a certain time which was understandable. Certain areas were taped off to prevent foot traffic on turtles nest. The hotel didn't even have a single information about the turtle nests posted. People from the hotel just walk in the taped off area assuming it was saved for children's play. The hotel has staffs that put the chairs out for us but charged $20 for umbrella and didn't tell us about the turtle nests. Light attracts turtles away from the ocean. The hotel elevator corridor to the beach light was on all night even if they don't let their guests used it after 8pm. What a waste of energy and hazard to the baby turtles. Since I was fascinated with the turtles and their nesting, I stayed up most of the night to watch turtles hatch. Turn out, it was illegal to disturb turtles and I could be fined. I could only watch from a distance without light. After talking to one of the staff about how they could have let me know earlier with information or turn off the light on the unused corridor, he tried to avoid the conversation. I watched many documentary about babies turtles died when they headed for street light. I feel so guilty staying at this hotel knowing that they didn't even bother to turn off unused bright white lights and so many people stepped on these nests even when they are taped off. When does the killing end? I came for a vacation but now I am disturbed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just ned to unwind
Fort Myers Fl.
Sep 5, 2012

Fun in the sun

Great Location , facilities are great but a little pricey , Shula's was a great experince and great food . But the staff at check out was lacking they booked us in the wrong room so that had to move us to another room but it was not ready , so they asked if we could go to the pool bar and have a refreshment on them . Well we did that and when the room was ready and got ready to leave we told the bartender up front that Westin was going to buy our 1st drinks but she gave us a hard time and got very angry at us , so we ended up paying for our drinks, then on the following day coming back from the beach the security guard wouldn't allow us back on the premisses because the front desk forgot to give us an wrist bracelet , we got that resolved. then we tried to charge something to our room and the front desk clerk forgot to save our charge card information

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

dinning and entertainment is a short walk away many restuarants and bars within a half mile

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wants another trip
Business
For Lauderdale, Florida
Sep 4, 2012

awesome

everything smelled wonderful - had a slight problem with the faucet in the bathroom sink ( low water pressure) and when reported, it was fixed IMMEDIATELY - then we even got a follow up call to see if we were satisfied - this was one of the best hotels we've stayed in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top