$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Grand Resort and Spa

3 stars
539 N. Birch Rd, Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
20 reviews
Classy Gay Resort

The hotel room and amenities are tasteful and satisfying. The staff is very attentive and provides... See full review

  • The Sweet Life
  • Jul 28, 2014
Awesome

Great hotel. Anything you could possibly want is available. The staff was willing to do whatever it... See full review

  • Doug from Nola
  • Jun 27, 2014
The Grand Resort and Spa is Fort Lauderdale Beach's largest and finest gay owned and operated men's resort hotel , located just steps from the beach and convenient to all the attractions and nightlife for which Ft. Lauderdale is now world renowned. Our standard of contemporary luxury rivals that found in today's popular boutique hotels. What sets us apart is the genuine hospitality of our staff. Our personal attention to our guests' desires, like that found in smaller guesthouses, is consistently noted by our many frequent guests. We look forward to helping you experience a memorable vacation. As Ft. Lauderdale's first gay resort with its' own full-service day spa and hair studio, we can offer our guests an experience that is unique and wonderfully indulgent. From a relaxing Swedish massage to a haircut before your night on the town, we can accommodate all your needs right here.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

The Grand Resort and Spa Rooms

Pool View Guest Room
The room offers 1 King bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Joseph Abboud Bathroom amenities, Cable TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Flat Panel TV, Blue Ray Disc player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Wireles Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Microwave oven, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, coffee maker, Telephone, Voicemail. Decorated in modern contemporary style of dark rich wood and slate-like tile floors along with large windows looking out over the pool deck create a very soothing and peaceful environment.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 King Bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, CD player, Ceiling fan, Color TV, Crockery / Cutlery, DVD player, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Microwave oven, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Safe in room, Stove / Oven, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Video Player, Voicemail. Featuring a spacious Living Room, Dining Area/table and four chairs, Kitchen with granite or tile workspace, four burner glass cook top, microwave and full size refrigerator. Seperate King-size bedroom and wonderful bath with walk-in glass enclosed shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 1 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 1 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 12.9 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.5 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.5 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Dining

Dining
Each morning begins with a complimentary expanded Continental breakfast served in the Club Room or can be enjoyed poolside. You can join the festivities poolside on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings starting at 6pm for the Sundown Happy Hour featuring an every changing menu of sangria, white and red wines and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
German Michael
Business
San Diego
Dec 12, 2012

You feel welcomed there!

Staff is super nice and very attentive. Property is very clean and rooms are so very nice. Really makes you feel special! 2 blocks from beach. Spa on premises, very good and reasonable. Breakfast included. Happy hour on the weekend and Sunday morning Mimosas! This is the place to relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you stay there more than just a couple of days and want to go into Wilton Manor it is good to have a car there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greggggggggggggggggggggg
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Dec 11, 2012

Best hotel I've ever stayed at

Got there several hours before check-in; not only did they let me check-in when I arrived, but also gave me a tour facilities! They had a happy hour on Friday and Saturday evenings as well with Sangria/Wine with various finger foods around the pool, with a great atmosphere. The staff was consistently helpful and friendly, regularly offering to do things like calling cabs, letting us borrow beach chairs and towels, etc. Additionally, the staff was never intrusive. I got a pedicure at the spa, which was absolutely incredible. The beauticians were great, professional and helped to cultivate a relaxing atmosphere. Finally, the last day they let us check out 5-6 hours later than check out because we had a very late flight. This place was absolutely incredible- next time I go to ft. Lauderdale I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cl6809
Business
Atlanta, gA
Apr 27, 2013

A perfect vacation

I was hesitant to stay at a small, private resort that wasn't on the beach, but this was PERFECT! The staff were super helpful and friendly, the amenities were great, and the entire experience made us feel like we were at our 'home away from home'. The beach was a block away and some very good restaurants were within easy walking distance, as was the gay beach - just keep in mind that we love to walk. That having been said, we rented a car and I'd definitely recommend doing so if you're going to stay more than a day or two; there are lots of other places we went that wouldn't have been feasible without transportation. I rarely say "I'd like to stay here again", but this place has made that (very) short list. The only thing that was less than perfect was the mattress, because some mornings it left me feeling a little sore/stiff, but it could have just been our particular room and it certainly wouldn't prevent my staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car - so much is available for dining, beach, etc., within walking distance, but a car makes even more things accessible and enjoyable if the weather gets really hot or rainy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vlog
Business
USA
Sep 6, 2013

Quick get away

The Grand was really a nice hotel. I have to give them accolades on how clean the rooms and the entire property were. The king bed was so comfortable and I had a great sleep every night and it was very quiet. There were only 2 down sides: 1) It was not close to the bars at Wilton. The W does have 2 really good bars and it is very close but they are pricey. 2) Not a lot of food options within walking distance. You will need a rental car for getting around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The W

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
youngstown, ohio
Nov 4, 2010

Relaxing and great get away

The resort was very clean and staff was excellent. I felt comfortable and could just kick back and relax, I only stayed 3 days, but next time will stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

just a short walk to the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 8, 2010

Great relaxing spa vacation by the beach

The Grand Resort was great! I wanted an easy getaway for the long weekend so I booked the 5 night get pampered package with spa services. I upgraded to a one bedroom suite by the courtyard. The room had a separate living ro0om, dining room off the kitchen, and bedroom. The kitchen had anything I could have needed. There were TV's in the living room and bedroom. Wi-Fi was free and very high bandwidth, which is unusual for hotels (plus a computer in the club room which I never used since I had my phone and computer). The Grand advertises reasonably priced snacks in the room, which is true (less than any hotel sundries shop or some of the local beach front shops charged, and I looked). They actually stocked the kitchen fairly well so I could have a beer, soda or snack anytime I wanted. They gave me a bottle of champagne as a welcome when I first got to my room. There were continental breakfast and happy hours every day. They were very simple but nicely presented and more than adequate. There was lemonade and ice tea by the pool most of the time, in addition to coffee and tea in the club room. There was a small but very clean, well appointed gym too, but I didn't use that. There is guest laundry room so don't over pack, just do a load while sitting by the pool.They have a pool area by the office, which is not clothing optional. There is a separate courtyard by the spa which is clothing optional. The Jacuzzi was huge and well maintained. The whole property was neat and clean. There were always fresh pool towels. They let you take the towels to the beach, plus they kept a few folding chairs and such for guests to borrow. They even loaned out umbrellas for when it rained. The courtyard was very tropical and a nice place to hang out in addition to the pool. There was even a garden area between buildings if you wanted a more isolated place to sit and contemplateI have never used spa services before, so when I had questions their front desk couldn't answer, their spa manager, [...], came to my room to help me out personally. My massage therapist for the trip was [...]. He was great, and every single service I came away thoroughly satisfied. I think he always did more that the service required, and took care of me when I got a sun burn too! I did a spa service every day. There was always someone in the front office, even late at night. Their staff was always up for a friendly conversation or directions around the area. The guests were all friendly, and it never felt crowded although I know the Grand was fully booked. I didn't bring a car, which was fine for a relaxed trip. There were restaurants and beach bars three blocks from Grand. The beach was a very comfortable two blocks away. A street led directly from the Grand's front door right to the beach. The "tourist" area with lots of bars, restaurants, and shops was a comfortable half mile or so away. I walked there twice and took the water taxi once so it is accessible by foot just walking along the beach. If you want to do clubs or night activities, you definitely need a car though. You also need a car if you want to go somewhere to stock up the kitchen yourself. There were also taxis everywhere since there are lots of hotels along the beach.Not only did I enjoy my stay, but my guests wanted to see the property when they visited me, and it was always a "wow" from each of them.When I checked out, I got a pleasant final surprise. There really were none of those extra charges you get with regular hotels. This really was all inclusive except for tips and extra spa services, or food I took from the fridge or snack basket. They never up sold me on anything, rather the opposite, always providing more than expected. This helped make it a much more affordable trip than I expected. I think the spa services might have been much more expensive if I had booked them separately, so the 5 night package was an exceptional deal. It would have been even less ex...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

You need a car for nightlife. The beach was a comfortable walk, as were a couple of restaurants. There is no onsite restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug from Nola
Business
New Orleans
Jun 27, 2014

Awesome

Great hotel. Anything you could possibly want is available. The staff was willing to do whatever it took to ensure a great getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Sweet Life
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2014

Classy Gay Resort

The hotel room and amenities are tasteful and satisfying. The staff is very attentive and provides great restaurant and other recommendations. If you're looking for a classy and well appointed hotel in the heart of the beach in Ft. Lauderdale, you cannot beat the Grand Resort. The best gay hotel experience bar none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy exquisite food at the charming Casablanca with spacious outdoor tables with beautiful views of the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nashrunner
Business
Nashville, TN
Jul 17, 2012

I will go back!

My travel plans for another trip fell through, so I was needing a quick "make up" trip. The first time I stayed and the Grand Resort I took a chance and made the reservation. I was not disappointed. Although appeared to be a remodeled older building, completely updated, spotlessly clean, lacking nothing. Although I didn't go for any spa services, some of the other guests said they were excellent as well. Positive environment, quick access to the beach and nice restaurants. Lacks nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaycw
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 29, 2013

Great resort

No need to worry, they've thought of everything!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top