$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

4 stars
1617 Southeast 17th Street, 1617 South East 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
51 reviews
Great Stay

Great Hotel: close to everything! Really comfortable room and well appointed public areas. Parking... See full review

  • Andrea9797979
  • Sep 3, 2014
Definite Do-Over

Very friendly and attentive staff, short bus or cab ride to beach, excellent service. See full review

  • Enid and Greg
  • May 27, 2014
Experience tropical delight in this renovated luxury hotel
The builders of the renovated Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Port Everglades Hotel cite the Renaissance era of discovery, conquest and trade as their design inspiration. The guest rooms, lobby, restaurant and various lounges feature carved wood furnishings, Renaissance-style window arches and colorful pallets. Despite this emphasis on past greatness, the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Port Everglades Hotel has a full complement of modern amenities, including a fitness suite and outdoor pool to take advantage of the gorgeous Florida climate.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Distinct style recalls the Renaissance-era tropical past of Florida and Fort Lauderdale
  • Convenient location just minutes from the Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport
  • Wealth of local attractions within walking distance, including the famous Floridian beaches and port
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Port Everglades Hotel Rooms
The Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Port Everglades Hotel has, above other hotels in the price range, a particularly idiosyncratic, yet appealing style that draws upon the influences of Renaissance-era architecture, fabrics and furnishings. These include period window shapes, dark wood furnishings with carved detail, and rugged, colorful carpets and rugs in guest rooms. Escape to a new vacation experience that, while different, is perfectly fitting with the relaxed surroundings of the city. King- or queen-size beds offer guests a range of prices and options to best suit their needs. For a slightly higher price, enjoy full access to club facilities. This includes access to the Club lounge during weekdays. High-speed and wireless Internet access is provided in all rooms, though use requires a small fee. Cable television with premium movie channels and news channels is also available at the Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Port Everglades Hotel.
Things To Do:
  • Biking Trail (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • North Atlantic Boulevard (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • South Beach Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Kayaking (8 mi/13 km)
  • Jacaranda Golf Club (10 mi/16 km)
Policies & Fees
From July 2, 2013 to September 27, 2013, Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel will be upgrading all guest bathrooms featuring new tile design and fixtures. Some noise is possible during day hours.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 1.1 mi
  • New River: 1.1 mi
  • Stranahan House: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 1.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 1.7 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 1.7 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 1.9 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.2 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 2.7 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 0.2 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 1.1 mi
  • New River: 1.1 mi
  • Stranahan House: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 1.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 1.7 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 1.7 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 1.8 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 1.9 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.2 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 2.7 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.8 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 3.3 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 3.7 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 7 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 11.5 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 12.6 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 14.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 19.8 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 20.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 20.9 mi

Dining

Bistro 17
Discover New American cuisine enhanced with local flavor in the intimate, tropically inspired setting of this Port Everglades-area restaurant.
R Lounge
Indoor and poolside setting offering light fare menu, specialty drinks and relaxed atmosphere. It's the perfect restaurant in downtown Ft. Lauderdale to grab a drink or a casual meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jul 26, 2011

Terrible service

[...] The parking was $20 per night…not cool considering the location isn't within walking distance to downtown or the beach. I had to use my cell phone to call the front desk each night of my stay because they wouldn't answer when I called from the room. The cleaning staff didn't leave toilet tissue and I had to wait 40 mins for the staff to bring some. The room wasn't vacuumed during my 4 night stay. Each night we had to call the front desk and ask for an additional set of towels...I thought after the first night they would know that there were 2 people in the room. Internet service is not free in the room...even Holiday Inn provides free internet service. My girlfriend noted that the coffee was terrible, however there's a Starbucks next door. For the price, I think this hotel is overpriced and offers very little amenities. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I've never left a review for anything and now I'm in the process of sending my comments to the executive staff of this hotel. On the positive side, the hotel's lobby décor was nice and the pool looked invitingt. Check-in and checkout was quick. The valet parking attendant was nice…he let me temporarily park my car out front while I changed my clothing. The bed was really comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's free parking on the side streets...just be careful not to park in the retail or restuarant lots. They all have posted signs that they will tow although I didn't witness any towing during my stay and there were plenty cars that were there overnight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deak
Business
Boonsboro Maryland
Jul 12, 2011

Good Location

Very good employees at front desk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 29, 2011

Relaxed & Satisfied

My boyfriend and I loved the bed so much that we spent most of our time sleeping. However, he and I thought some things were missing from our stay. For example, breakfast wasn't included, and the cost of parking wasn't reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
May 17, 2011

Great Price, location and experience

Nice quiet getaway hotel. Area was in walking distance (about 20/25 min ) of the beach and hot-spots but far away enough to be peaceful and quiet. Rooms were well-kept and clean. Pool was nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bihimi has great fish options and good drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vinnie4
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 13, 2011

Great Location

This is the perfect hotel for anyone going on a cruise. It's a quick 5-minute shuttle to the cruise ship terminals and a quick 7-minute trip to the airport. The hotel is well appointed with a pleasant, helpful staff. The rooms are clean, well maintained and slightly larger than a standard hotel room. We got a breakfast buffet included in our room rate and it was really well done. We would definitely return should the need arise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We arrived early evening and didn't want a heavy dinner. We found out that the lounge served light meals and we opted for that. Probably had one of the best hamburgers ever there and a really nice house cabernet. Service was attentive in a very comfortable "living room" type atmosphere. Comfy, good food and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thill
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Jan 27, 2011

Nice value for money

All okay incl. reception, room, gym, pool, restaurant. Nothing fantastic but very decent. Staff was very friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Five Guys near by...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 1, 2010

Very pleasant stay

We had an enjoyable one night stay at the Renaissance hotel. It is located in an area of Fort Lauderdale that offers a variety of places to eat and shop. The Renaissance is a beautiful hotel and was an excellent choice for us as we were there one day early for our cruise. I definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Nov 21, 2010

florida getaway

having fun enjoying the south florida sun and nightlife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

las olas blvd has it all

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Oct 14, 2010

Renaissance

Short, one block walk to the Convention Center. Several good restraunts in walking distance. No free WiFi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis Indiana
Sep 27, 2010

Good choice to stay!

Great value for this brand of hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

South Port Raw Bar has great fried clams!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top