$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
View map of 4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
291 reviews
Great

Great Hotel on the Beach. We flew into Miami and stayed 1 night. Would stay there again. See full review

  • Angela T.
  • Jul 8, 2015
Awesome Weekend

We were in town for the NHL draft and wanted an affordable place to stay on the beach, and Ocean... See full review

  • Hannah S.
  • Jun 30, 2015
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.
General

Ocean Sky Hotel, Fort Lauderdale

Location

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Dining
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Rooms
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Highlights

The Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort in Fort Lauderdale offers spacious rooms that provide excellent views of the beach. With flat screen televisions, clean facilities, comfortable beds and room service; it's the ultimate home away from home. You can select a guest room with an open-air balcony or an oceanfront suite with a kitchenette, dining and living room. The hotel has a state-of-the-art fitness center and an on-site laundry facility.

 

The Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort is located near a variety of local attractions, like the Galleria Shopping Mall and the Bonnet House; guests have convenient access to restaurants and fashion boutiques. The Fort Lauderdale Airport (FLL) is just 11 miles away, and the Port Everglades Cruise Terminal is seven miles from the hotel. 

Policies
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

★★★
$107
3.8 / 5 534 reviews
★★★
$73
3.8 / 5 52 reviews
★★★
$99
4.2 / 5 33 reviews
★★★
$82
2.6 / 5 34 reviews
★★★
$113
2.3 / 5 308 reviews
★★★
$118
3.8 / 5 172 reviews
★★★
$69
3.4 / 5 129 reviews
★★★★
$83
4.1 / 5 116 reviews

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 291
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hannah S.
Friends
N/A
Jun 30, 2015

Awesome Weekend

We were in town for the NHL draft and wanted an affordable place to stay on the beach, and Ocean Sky provided. The staff was friendly and helpful, we felt safe, and we had tons of fun. The beds were pretty comfortable, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amanda D.
Friends
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Good

Location was great for the price. Front desk was not very accommodating when we paid for a king bed and were placed in a room with two doubles. Not happy to help us switch. Other than that hotel was good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charley
Friends
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Relaxing stay

The hotel is well decorated and the rooms are spacious and clean. We were very happy with the pool, hot tub and beach area. One thing that was disappointing was the staff in some areas of the hotel. The lady that checked us into our room was not friendly and acted as if we were an inconvenience. Other than that this hotel is well worth the money considering it's oceanfront and near gas stations, restaurants and convenient stores. I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shaqueta t.
Friends
egg harbor townsh
Jan 16, 2015

good location/ right on beach

right on beach. perfect location! we got a bad room facing a dirty roof of hotel. other than that pics are exactly what they are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ebonie Blu
Friends
ATL
Jul 24, 2014

So wonderful, I extended my stay

I enjoyed my stay at this resort. Not only was the entire ambiance beautiful and well-structured to meet the needs of each guests, but the staff was most pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located directly on the ocean, providing immediate access to relaxation and tranquility. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a quiet place to hide away and relax. Perfect for couples! At the end of my 4 day stay, I made arrangements for an additional night, it was hard to say goodbye.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short drive away from the resort is an excellent restaurant called Arubas. There you'll enjoy live music and good food--right on the beach!

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kal M
Friends
Chicago
Mar 19, 2014

Would Come Back

Great girls trip! Excellent location. The beach was amazing, its two blocks from a grocery store so we just walked there each day and brought back food to make in our room. The area has a lot of condos so unlike all of the other areas of the beach we had calm neighbors, no spring break frat parties. The rooms weren't great but they were doable. They just look older; however the seemed very clean and the beds were comfortable. The pool was so nice, and they gave us extra towels for free! The bar was very expensive. And watch out, the bar prices went up without notice as the day went on. You could buy an entire bottle of alcohol for just two drinks at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lp102
Friends
NYC
Mar 17, 2014

On the beach and great pool

pool is lovely, the cabanas are great value for money and well worth it. The hotel is right on the beach which was great, and walking distance to lots of restaurants. Nice weekend break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
88Einer Danes
Friends
NEW YORK
Mar 10, 2014

AMAZING SHORT VACATION

This is one of the most AMAZING place, in FORT LAUDERDALE - staff are so acomodating and helpful ----- could never asked for more ----- will be back soon -----

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laf8
Friends
Fremont, Ohio
Jan 11, 2014

Very nice beachside getaway

The area of the hotel was very nice and more secluded. Friendly environment. The location was awesome and right on the beach with a side balcony to view the ocean. Lobby area was very nice and presentable looking. Nice sun-bathing area in the back with pool and hot-tub. Rooms were nice and clean & maintained daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Olas Blvd. - short drive, shopping & dining areas, marina & bayside area to take boat tours of luxurious mansions & cruise line areas. Aruba- restuarant, good food, dancing, bar, etc. short drive or about 15 minute walk down the street. Beside the beach. Nice block area with other nice resturants, VERY good seafood & wine resturant right beside Aruba. Souvenir & chocolate & yogurt shops, etc.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelinb
Friends
Wisconsin
Jul 7, 2013

It's just another hotel

Staff was very friendly and lobby was clean. The room was very ordinary and was clean and neat. The bathroom could use some work however. The tile was not laid flat and the mirror didn't fit in the spot it was located and it was chipped and broken around the edges. A few minor fixes would have made a noticeable improvement. When our room was cleaned they didn't leave fresh towels - we had to ask for them (twice) during a 3 night stay. One of the coffee cups was dirty, it was obvious we drank coffee, they neglected to refill the basket with more coffee pods. Ate lunch on our first day at the hotel - deck was nice food was not. We never ate there during the remainder of our stay. We asked for a late check out on our final day. We were extended 1.5 hrs (or had to pay a $60 fee for longer) but we were called to let us know that checkout time was 11. We informed them of our late checkout request - and then at 12:15 a maid was knocking at our door. Lack of communication. Again staff was nice and very accommodating - room was good sized and requests were immediately granted. An average stay nothing bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk north to lauderdale by the sea - a few great restaurants and shopping

Back to menu Return to top