$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
323 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel-ista
New York, NY
Nov 16, 2010

STAFF OF LIARS & THIEVES! BEWARE!

The hotel itself was nice & right on the beach as promised. However, it was miles away from shopping, nightlife, any real activities whatsoever. The rooms were DECENT, a little old and broken down but the balconies were a nice surprise. BEWARE OF THE HOTEL STAFF. THERE IS A LOT OF SHADY BUSINESS GOING ON IN THIS PLACE.FIRST OF ALL, WE PAID [$] CASH EACH NIGHT TO THE PARKING ATTENDANT AND UPON CHECK OUT WE WERE TOLD WE HAD TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL [$] PER NIGHT BECAUSE THE ATTENDANTS TAKING OUR MONEY SIMPLY CONSIDERED IT A TIP TO THEMSELVES AND NEVER REGISTERED THAT WE WERE PAYING. THE MANAGER AND FRONT DESK WERE EXTREMELY RUDE AND DID NOT HELP AT ALL, THE DISGUSTING PARKING "MANAGER" KEPT REFERRING TO ME AS BABY AND TRYING TO DEMEAN ME WHILE TELLING ME I HAD TO PAY DOUBLE BECAUSE HIS STAFF SAID "NO ONE PAID CASH" *side note, while we were having this payment issue at the front desk there was a line of 5-6 other guests also arguing over being charged for things they did not order or use, or simply over charged on bills. The hotel staff claimed they needed to do "full investigations" and that in order to check out they charged your credit card for whatever they pleased and then would possibly refund it upon completion of the investigation. B-S!!!!!!!Lastly, do not consider yourself safe in this hotel. We locked ourselves out of the room twice and 2 different housekeepers let us in our room by taking a random room card and spraying windex all over it, which apparently gives the card the ability to grant access to any room. Aside from the shady way of opening the door, they did not even ask us our name before letting us right into the room. very strange considering we had never seen either of them before. Overall, this was a terrible experience and i would never return to this hotel or reccommend it to even my worst enemies. If you enjoy being robbed and having no privacy or customer service then this is the place for you, if not then STAY FAR AWAY FROM THE OCEAN SKY HOTEL & RESORT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wirelesszone1983
new york
Jun 13, 2011

Nice view, everything else horrible

They make you pay for parking by the day, the charge you outrageously for everything, the showers had no water pressure, the towels were like sand paper, i will never return to this hotel. Not recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There are restaurants everyone that are much better and cheaper everywhere

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westwood, MA
Jul 27, 2008

terrible hotel

This hotel was terrible and they charged you for everything. The room was dirty and smelled of mildew. The hallways and rooms needed a coat of fresh paint. The hotel staff were rude an unintersted in pleasing their clients. This hotel nickled an dimed you. First of all, even if you were not going to use it you were charged $1 per day for the hotel room safe. Parking was expensive and the parking people expected tips. There was no reason why you could not park your car youself. When we were there it was very hot. Most of the beach chairs were in direct sunlight on their pool deck. My wife sat down on one of 10 or so beach chairs with an umbrella. Five minutes later a hotel pool worker came over to her an told her she had to move to a chair in the sun unless she paid a few of #30. My wife said she was only going to be there for 2o mintues and the person said it was still $20. The whole hotel was a big ripoff- Find another hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bkihum
Warren ohio
Jan 7, 2014

Gotcha

Far cry from the on line info. Get ready to be charged extra for everything from daily parking to beach lounge even to sit next to pool is 20$ per chair. Front desk people are rude and unhelpful. Rooms are out of date and tiny bathrooms. Food is pricey and only fair. Would never return or recommend this hotel. Ruined vacation because of poor hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tyegumcur
Central, TX
Aug 11, 2010

Wore out & needs updating

!!!!!!THIS HOTEL IS A TRAVEL DONT!!!!!! When we arrived @ the hotel it was VERY VERY busy. Which, is to be expected when it is located RIGHT on the water. We checked in & the lady at the front desk was super rude. When handed our paperwork she says thats a $25 day depoist for the hotel for usage of tiki bar, pool towels, water recreation. We told her that we were not planning to use any of that & she said it was policy to take the deposit anyway. PLUS there is a $10 a day non-refundable charge for parking. They also charge you $1 a day for the safe....we were told by the lady when we checked in that if we did not use it we werent charged for it....WRONG!!! You are charged for it whether you use it or not. After going over all the charges she hands us keys to the room & its for 2 double beds. We reserved a king. Showed her the print out of our confirmation & she said "Im sorry, but you booked through a third party & we already have all the king rooms booked". We asked her "do you not honor your third parties bookings"? She said "we try to", but we didnt receive our king bed until our 3rd night there. If you are wanting a NONSMOKING room....this hotel is not the place for you. The rooms may say nonsmoking, but the balconys are not off limits. The smoke travels right into your room & pretty much makes the rooms SMOKING! The walls & doors are paper thin....we were awaken several mornings before 6:30am by either someone on the balcony on their cell phone, or kids watching cartoons in the next room. All the staff was rude & completey put out if we were to ask questions. I strongly reccomend against this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Watch on the Ocean is a great place to get WONDERFUL fresh seafood while in the area.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Oct 16, 2009

Bed bugs bite souvenir

We stayed at the hotel 3 nights. 2nd night my skin was getting irritated with the sheets. Me and my husband came home with bunch of bed bugs bite. I won't go back there no more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
prankster
Business
New York,NY
Nov 2, 2011

Do not recommend

Very unhappy withe hotel the reservation clerc, unfriendly.Room was not the one I paid for I had a tween bed and asked for the kingbed, construction was going on, food is not good at all, not professinaly run. I will never stay there ever again and will not recommed it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KeyLimey
Anna Maria, FL, USA
Nov 1, 2011

The Shining- DON'T STAY HERE!!

THIS HOTEL IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION!! Hated our stay at Ocean Sky. The hotel reminded us of The Shining....We stayed there for 4 nights. First, there is a $10 per day parking charge that is NO WHERE listed on Orbitz. The rooms don't look like the photos on here, at least our room wasn't; It was old, smelled, & very dated! The so called partial ocean view was a joke, we had to look through the far corner of a very dirty window to catch a glimpse. The balcony's are off limits to guests!!So after being very annoyed & very upset, my husband went to the front desk to complain. She offered to move us to another room. So we went to look at it & it was nice, just like the pictures on here. Went back to the front desk to say OK, she then tells us it is an additional $100 per night!! The walls are paper thin, heard neighbors all night long & people in the hall ways. Fire alarm went off @3am Sunday night...Restaurant was empty every night & seemed too stuffy, (not casual), Tiki bar was deserted every night, so we ended up at the Tiki bar next door So needless to say I hated every part of this hotel stay!! FIND ANOTHER HOTEL~~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 30, 2007

Totally unhappy

My boyfriend and i were very unhappy with this hotel. we called the hotel for direction from the airport, and was tranfer to a voice mail. The front desk employee need to be more happy, friendly, and more helpful with question. They do have a beutiful lobby, the rest of the hotel need and update. the carpet in the room is too old from wear and tear afraid to walk bare footed. the bathroom very small, very tight for two people to be in. Their bath towel are old, nothing soft about them. We enjoy the location nice to walk on the beach, but that is all. one night the hotel security come to our room and just walk right in no knock or anything. he was trying to cross over to the next room. all he said was sorry front desk told him room was empty. Next time we will stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall is not far from hotel.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 6, 2007

Not worth the stay!

The Ocean View Sky and Resort - where do I begin? The location was great, the hotel was a complete dump. The lobby is very deceiving, it is decent (not grand), but the rooms are ridiculously outdated. We checked in, went to the room, found mold & mildew (along with sand from someone else's stay) in the bathtub, crusty body fluids on the sheets (pillows had been turned, but cases not replaced (evidenced by the makeup smeared all over the other side of the pillow). Oh well, we think...what do we expect for the money...then we step out onto the balcony...THICK, GREEN MOLD EVERYWHERE. You couldn't even touch the railing because the mold was so thick. Constant drips from the AC above, making it to where you couldn't even stand out there without being soaked. The only plus to the whole place was the beach access and the outdoor pool area was fairly nice. I would NEVER recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search