$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
325 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (325)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 6, 2007

Not worth the stay!

The Ocean View Sky and Resort - where do I begin? The location was great, the hotel was a complete dump. The lobby is very deceiving, it is decent (not grand), but the rooms are ridiculously outdated. We checked in, went to the room, found mold & mildew (along with sand from someone else's stay) in the bathtub, crusty body fluids on the sheets (pillows had been turned, but cases not replaced (evidenced by the makeup smeared all over the other side of the pillow). Oh well, we think...what do we expect for the money...then we step out onto the balcony...THICK, GREEN MOLD EVERYWHERE. You couldn't even touch the railing because the mold was so thick. Constant drips from the AC above, making it to where you couldn't even stand out there without being soaked. The only plus to the whole place was the beach access and the outdoor pool area was fairly nice. I would NEVER recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
My name is Stanford E Murrell
Business
Orlando Florida
Jun 21, 2009

Stay Away

This was among the worse experiences. The night manger did not call a plumber until 18 hours later when we got back at midnight. THEN the plumber came. At 1:00 am we asked for a cleaning lady. No. We asked for cleaning supplies. Refused. We asked for a room change. Only to a smoking one we were told. We said we are checking out. Suddenly a room down the hall opened up for us but only after we said we wanted to speak to a manager and not a night cleck and we wanted the hotel owners name and number. We are not pigs. We should not have come back to the mess in the bathroom. Moreover, the coffee container was chipped on the pouring edge and thus dangerous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jfigero
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 21, 2009

I do not recommend this hotel!

The hotel was a bit shabby but that would have been fine if the service had been at least acceptable.We had to ask four times for a crib to be delivered to our room and it finally came up with a cigarette hole burned in the side and an unhappy delivery person. We asked the front desk for reccomendations on nearby breakfast places and they responded with a: "I don't know of any", and the concierge would be here in an hour- we could ask him. Thank goodness for google and mapquest on our blackberries otherwise we would still be driving around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No na
Business
Stamford CT
Jun 29, 2009

Bad

Pay parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexasGirls
Business
Amarillo, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Very disappointed

The beach was nice. The staff were not very helpful or friendly. The lobby is beautiful but when you go upstairs to your room....yuck. The halls are in need of paint and updating as are the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ffffffffff
Business
fffffffffffffffff
Sep 28, 2009

The worst

N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florence, KY
Nov 23, 2009

Ocean Sky

I travel all over the world & have never had an experience like this. I was on a two conference run in Florida. This was my time to relax. Arrived @ hotel about 12:30 - 1:00 AM after driving from Jacksonville. Went to bed extremely tired. when getting ready the next morning for a brunch meeting with a Doctor & staff in Lauderdale I noticed a spot on the cotton blanket. After closer inspection found blood on the sheet & blanket (NOT MINE). I took a better look & found blood splatter on two of the pillow cases. Staff gave ME attitude. I work for a medical lab & requested the pilow case so I could run test on the blood. I was told that would not happen. I offered to pay for the pillow case so I could see what I slept in. They refused. This is not over by a long shot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BrianTattooed
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 12, 2010

Horrible service and liars

They lost my reservation an made me wait 2 hours while they doodled around eventhough I had a confirmation, didn't honor free breakfast or welcome covktail, bar refused to give out water for free. Good location but everything fromthe staff to the rooms are far below par. Maids are theives and staff is horribly rude. Wouldn't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Living Room and The Parlor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tyegumcur
Business
Central, TX
Aug 11, 2010

Wore out & needs updating

!!!!!!THIS HOTEL IS A TRAVEL DONT!!!!!! When we arrived @ the hotel it was VERY VERY busy. Which, is to be expected when it is located RIGHT on the water. We checked in & the lady at the front desk was super rude. When handed our paperwork she says thats a $25 day depoist for the hotel for usage of tiki bar, pool towels, water recreation. We told her that we were not planning to use any of that & she said it was policy to take the deposit anyway. PLUS there is a $10 a day non-refundable charge for parking. They also charge you $1 a day for the safe....we were told by the lady when we checked in that if we did not use it we werent charged for it....WRONG!!! You are charged for it whether you use it or not. After going over all the charges she hands us keys to the room & its for 2 double beds. We reserved a king. Showed her the print out of our confirmation & she said "Im sorry, but you booked through a third party & we already have all the king rooms booked". We asked her "do you not honor your third parties bookings"? She said "we try to", but we didnt receive our king bed until our 3rd night there. If you are wanting a NONSMOKING room....this hotel is not the place for you. The rooms may say nonsmoking, but the balconys are not off limits. The smoke travels right into your room & pretty much makes the rooms SMOKING! The walls & doors are paper thin....we were awaken several mornings before 6:30am by either someone on the balcony on their cell phone, or kids watching cartoons in the next room. All the staff was rude & completey put out if we were to ask questions. I strongly reccomend against this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Watch on the Ocean is a great place to get WONDERFUL fresh seafood while in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cdukakis
Business
North Branch, MN
Aug 9, 2011

Disappointed

My best friend and I stayed at Ocean Sky 3 yrs ago. We had a great experience so we decided to stay there again. What we did not know until we arrived was that all the balconies were under construction so all guests were not permitted any access to the balconies. The jackhammers started at 9 AM every weekday. We were surprised any renovations were going on as they were also undergoing some reconstruction 3 yrs ago (to a lesser extent), thought they'd have it all finished by now. We had also chosen a smoking room, as that was an option when we booked the trip, however, when we arrived, we were told the hotel was non-smoking, and had been that way for the last year and a half. [...] Word of advice: before booking, call the hotel directly with any questions/concerns and to confirm whether there is any ongoing construction, and to confirm that any special requests will be honored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top