$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
323 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 323
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Schaumburg, *
Jul 13, 2008

My review of Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

In regards to Ocean Sky Hotel an Resort -Ft. Lauderdale. FL. Perfect location-Great Tiki Bar- Wonderful pool area-Microwave,refrigerator, safe, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker were convenient in rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 14, 2008

The rooms were adequate. ...

The rooms were adequate. Remembering that you get what you pay for, i was pleasantly surprised. I found the rooms to be very nice and also roomy. The view was good. The location was close to the places I had intended to visit. The bar was under construction, but, the one next door served admirably. I would go back if it was teh same time of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Beach is not as large as I had imagined, but, was ample for off season stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Audrey Just Chillin
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jun 25, 2014

GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available from dawn to dusk. When they say it's all about location, this is an excellent location to just relax and enjoy the amenities. My vacation was AWESOME, I left feeling relaxed and revived...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justine
Frankfurt
Jul 25, 2007

Great Location!

The Ocean Sky Resort and Hotel was just ok. The room itself was nothing special but I loved the location and the fact that it was right on the beach. Its nice to have a choice whether or not to swim in the pool or the ocean. One of the things that annoyed me was even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door, they still came in our room and cleaned it. This has also happened at other hotels so can be quite annoying. I liked the fact that there was a supermarket nearby as well as Dunkin Doughnuts and a few other places. I bought drinks from the supermarket as they were a lot cheaper than buying them from the hotel. The thing I was disappointed with is the fact that they charge you for parking. We ended up just parking across the road and didn't have to pay for that. If you are just looking for a short get away and aren't too worried about the room, then I would definitely recommend this hotel, since it is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Windixie supermarket is right down the road as well as other amenities. There is also a free bus that comes every now and then, we didn't take it but apparently it is only 50 cents and you just flag it down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
aurora,co
Jun 12, 2009

location,location,location

the hotel staff were great in recommending places to go. the beach access was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hexper
n.y.c.
Aug 20, 2010

Great for families

I found the staff to be exceptional with a great location.But the only thing i didn't like was limited amenities.For example t.v. stations and lack of paperview movies. Otherwise,great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami, fl
Sep 28, 2009

Great Beach Getaway

It was a great spot at a good price for a relaxing beach weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Oct 19, 2009

fantastic getaway

i enjoy my weekend stay a lot

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single mom getaway
Chicago
Apr 28, 2013

Quick mini vacation

My decision to stay here was based on the many positive reviews. This hotel is literally on the beach. Upon my arrival I was upgraded to a better room with a beautiful view of the ocean for no additional charge. The room was clean and somewhat modern . Many stores within walking distance so you don't need a car. If you decide to bring a car it is an additional fee. Overall it was worth it. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the beach. Many stores, and dining within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Endz
Queens, NY
Aug 17, 2009

One of the best vacations ever

First off I can't believe the reviews this place got. I booked my trip about a week prior to going and was worried that I was staying in a dump. Thankfully it's quite the contrary. The hotel is just fine. It's not the plaza or the hilton but it's clean and you can't beat its location. It's right on the beach! Yeah, the hotel's tiki bar is a little expensive and happy hour doesn't run on the weekends. Big whoop. I started going to the tiki bar next door which was dirt cheap. There's a grocery store not even two blocks away and in that same plaza is a McDonalds, Dunkin Donuts, and a Deli with a 2.99 breakfast. Oh, and on Commercial is a great bar/restaurant called Aruba. Large portions of the food and very strong fairly priced drinks. I stayed 5 nights in the hotel and it was a super bargain. The staff was very friendly. I almost felt like they were sad I was leaving. If you absolutely have to hear some negative then I guess the hotel's elevators could be a bit swankier (there's chipped plywood and cracked frames in the elevator) but that's no big deal. It got me upstairs and down with no issues. The beach elevator is slow as heck and the 9.00 per day valet charge wasn't all that great but overall I really can't complain. Oh, and if you're a single guy or girl and you're wondering whether there will be other young people at the hotel this is definitely the place to go. Plenty of guys and gals on vacation looking to meet new people. You really can't go wrong at this place. I can't wait to go back later this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Room service is cool once or twice but definitely hit up McDonalds or the Deli right next to it. It's cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search