$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
503 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (503)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 503
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami
Jun 27, 2009

perfect place and location

great customer service, wonderful tiki bar at the pool. will be back staff made me and my family fel at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami
Jun 27, 2009

perfect place and location

great customer service, wonderful tiki bar at the pool. will be back staff made me and my family fel at home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family blowout
Miami, FL
Jul 10, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

great location, great staff. Love this hotel will stay again any time. Had a great time with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Sta
Jun 9, 2008

Great for your money

My family and I were very satisfied with the Ocean Sky Hotel. The pool and beach area was awesome. We loved the fact that you can rent wave runners right at the hotel. My favorite part was that we could lay at the pool and walk 50 feet and you are at the beach. The hotel itself is a little weathered but the rooms were very clean. The staff was helpful. The tiki bar next to the pool was an added bonus. My family and I are already planning our trip back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel food is very good.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Very nice

I like this hotel Ocean Sky on fort lauderdale it was very clean and i tell one of my friend to go and visit this hotel it was very nice. and they like to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking to dinig center, shoping center and more...

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Sta
Jun 9, 2008

Great for your money

My family and I were very satisfied with the Ocean Sky Hotel. The pool and beach area was awesome. We loved the fact that you can rent wave runners right at the hotel. My favorite part was that we could lay at the pool and walk 50 feet and you are at the beach. The hotel itself is a little weathered but the rooms were very clean. The staff was helpful. The tiki bar next to the pool was an added bonus. My family and I are already planning our trip back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel food is very good.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
College Daughter and Mom
Ft. Lauderdale
Mar 16, 2014

Awesome Place to Stay

My daughter and I had an awesome stay at the Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort. The location right on the beach with the pool and deck right in the perfect spot was just perfect. We were always treated very great, and everyone was so nice to us. The only thing that was not just perfect was the wifi connection was very slow, but who needs internet when on vacation. I also had to pay a little more than I would have liked to pay, but in comparison to everything else I looked at online, it was a great deal. I didn't see another hotel that I would have rather been staying at while we were there. It was not crowded with rowdy college kids either!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Winn Dixie was only a block or two away and McDonalds just across the street. We could walk to the store and save tons on food for our vacation.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 18, 2007

Great Getaway

The Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort was a lovely hotel. The pool, outdoor dining, and tikki bar were excellent. The room was nice and having a balcony was fantastic! The ocean view was absolutely beautiful in the morning and evening as well. The location was great with a supermarket, resturants, and a bit of night life close by. We can't wait to visit the Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Very nice

I like this hotel Ocean Sky on fort lauderdale it was very clean and i tell one of my friend to go and visit this hotel it was very nice. and they like to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walking to dinig center, shoping center and more...

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Aug 8, 2007

rooms and pool are great value for the $

Great Hotel! Rooms, staff and pool are all top rate. The food and drinks are way over priced, and signs arew posted not to carry in outside food and bev to the pool area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

win-dixy is nearbye to get pop beer and snacks

Back to menu Return to top