$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
502 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (502)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
502 out of 502
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 25, 2008

very friendly

the pool area is nice,clean rooms,good for the price,friendly desk clercs and valet guys are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

coral bridge mall,galleria mall short drive

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Sep 16, 2007

Very Family Friendly

The overall Comfort, Cleanliness, and service was exceptional. I will recommend this hotel to my Friends and Family.This location in Ft lauderdale was excellent for shopping and restaurants.We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping is Close by. 15 Minutes to Galleria Mall.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ferdous
Troy, Michigan
Jul 3, 2013

Perfect Family vacation for a couple

I wanted to stay in a hotel in a relatively quiet but on a beach hotel. I found Ocean Sky to be the perfect one. The location is great! The staff were fantastic and the hotel is clean. The rooms are a little small but perfect for two and since we were outside most of the time, it did not bother us. The pool area and hot Spa is outstanding. I will definitely stay in this hotel when I go back to Fort Lauderdale and would recommend everyone to check this out. You will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 24, 2008

My review of Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

The Ocean Sky Hotel was under renovation . . . the rooms were nice and the beach is right out the back door. nice pool and hot tub paway. There is a McDonalds and Dunkin Donuts, as well as a grocery store right across the street. The ocean is only steps from the pool. That was the best feature of this hotel. Anything else is in driving distance. I would stay there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the city of Lauderdale by the Sea is just a few miles north of the hotel. It has a long pier and many shops and restaurants

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wisland
USA
Jun 17, 2007

Very Happy

When we stay here we were at ease and we ended up having a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Just everything was beauitful. The staff was great the valet was great the next I come to fort lauderdale time I return that is the hotel I am staying at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping and dinning isn't far short drive.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 11, 2007

One of the bests in the area

You will get exactly what you expect! We enjoyed our time there, it is very close to all fort lauderdale attractions, there is a grocery store near by where you can buy ready to eat food in case you would not like to eat in the hotel. The beach is great, the deck is huge and the pool is really clean. A taxi to the famous Las Olas costs about $12.50 but you can take the bus which stops almost across the streets and the area is 100% safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Olas is one of the most lively places I have ever been and is 10 minutes away from the hotel.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wisland
USA
Jun 17, 2007

Very Happy

When we stay here we were at ease and we ended up having a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Just everything was beauitful. The staff was great the valet was great the next I come to fort lauderdale time I return that is the hotel I am staying at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping and dinning isn't far short drive.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clementon
Oct 19, 2008

Great location

Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort was a great place for the money we spent. The location was great, on the beach, somewhere between Old Lauderdale and Las Olas Blvd, and near many shops that we could walk to. The lobby and downstairs area was very nice, but the rooms were alittle old looking, but very clean and comfortable. The pool area is gigantic, along with a small beach bar, and a nice outside or inside restaurant. It was a beautiful scene. They also rented wave runners, and other misc items. The staff were very friendly. We would definitely go back to Ocean Sky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary edith
Miami
Aug 11, 2010

Fantastic and very quiet

Very clean and quiet was amazing everything .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Sep 16, 2007

Very Family Friendly

The overall Comfort, Cleanliness, and service was exceptional. I will recommend this hotel to my Friends and Family.This location in Ft lauderdale was excellent for shopping and restaurants.We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping is Close by. 15 Minutes to Galleria Mall.

Back to menu Return to top