$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
502 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (502)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 502
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kal M
Chicago
Mar 19, 2014

Would Come Back

Great girls trip! Excellent location. The beach was amazing, its two blocks from a grocery store so we just walked there each day and brought back food to make in our room. The area has a lot of condos so unlike all of the other areas of the beach we had calm neighbors, no spring break frat parties. The rooms weren't great but they were doable. They just look older; however the seemed very clean and the beds were comfortable. The pool was so nice, and they gave us extra towels for free! The bar was very expensive. And watch out, the bar prices went up without notice as the day went on. You could buy an entire bottle of alcohol for just two drinks at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lp102
NYC
Mar 17, 2014

On the beach and great pool

pool is lovely, the cabanas are great value for money and well worth it. The hotel is right on the beach which was great, and walking distance to lots of restaurants. Nice weekend break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
88Einer Danes
NEW YORK
Mar 10, 2014

AMAZING SHORT VACATION

This is one of the most AMAZING place, in FORT LAUDERDALE - staff are so acomodating and helpful ----- could never asked for more ----- will be back soon -----

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
laf8
Fremont, Ohio
Jan 11, 2014

Very nice beachside getaway

The area of the hotel was very nice and more secluded. Friendly environment. The location was awesome and right on the beach with a side balcony to view the ocean. Lobby area was very nice and presentable looking. Nice sun-bathing area in the back with pool and hot-tub. Rooms were nice and clean & maintained daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Las Olas Blvd. - short drive, shopping & dining areas, marina & bayside area to take boat tours of luxurious mansions & cruise line areas. Aruba- restuarant, good food, dancing, bar, etc. short drive or about 15 minute walk down the street. Beside the beach. Nice block area with other nice resturants, VERY good seafood & wine resturant right beside Aruba. Souvenir & chocolate & yogurt shops, etc.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelinb
Wisconsin
Jul 7, 2013

It's just another hotel

Staff was very friendly and lobby was clean. The room was very ordinary and was clean and neat. The bathroom could use some work however. The tile was not laid flat and the mirror didn't fit in the spot it was located and it was chipped and broken around the edges. A few minor fixes would have made a noticeable improvement. When our room was cleaned they didn't leave fresh towels - we had to ask for them (twice) during a 3 night stay. One of the coffee cups was dirty, it was obvious we drank coffee, they neglected to refill the basket with more coffee pods. Ate lunch on our first day at the hotel - deck was nice food was not. We never ate there during the remainder of our stay. We asked for a late check out on our final day. We were extended 1.5 hrs (or had to pay a $60 fee for longer) but we were called to let us know that checkout time was 11. We informed them of our late checkout request - and then at 12:15 a maid was knocking at our door. Lack of communication. Again staff was nice and very accommodating - room was good sized and requests were immediately granted. An average stay nothing bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk north to lauderdale by the sea - a few great restaurants and shopping

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R Baker
Sanford Fl
Jun 30, 2013

Sisters Getaways

Pleasant experience. Staff nice. Bath rooms need to be remodeled. Parking prices to high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NewlyWedMOM 713
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 19, 2013

Great Hotel for a girls weekend

This hotel was better than I expected, the room was clean, up to date, comfy and great location. I was nervous about the bathroom in the room but it was very nice, it was up to date and spotless, the room had a fridge and beautiful balcony over looking the beach. The one thing I absolutely loved was that the hotel wasn't crowded, the pool was big, clean, and it was never too busy, we didnt have to fight over pool chairs or anything. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the restaurant it was over priced and digusting. But there were restaurants close by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The strip has restaurants, beaches, shopping close by about a mile and half away, we walked there alot.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kiki17
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Aug 6, 2012

Weekend getaway

Overall the it was a good stay for the price! The rooms were ok and the hotel was right on the beach. The lobby was much more updated then the rooms. The hotel was a good 20 minutes from where all the nightlife is so cabs can get pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
deleneys
miami, fl
Jun 18, 2012

NIce I really like near to the beach

Very good. Nice I will come back in July 3 for celebrate my birthday and aniversario. The people in the front desk (staff) they have good attention, the room is very clean, comfort and the price is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babulka5600
Brussels
May 22, 2012

great location, pool & beach, staff average

To recommend, great location right at the beach, wonderful pool area, good value for money. Only staff could be friendlier and more professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top