$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
View map of 4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
291 reviews
Great

Great Hotel on the Beach. We flew into Miami and stayed 1 night. Would stay there again. See full review

  • Angela T.
  • Jul 8, 2015
Awesome Weekend

We were in town for the NHL draft and wanted an affordable place to stay on the beach, and Ocean... See full review

  • Hannah S.
  • Jun 30, 2015
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.
General

Ocean Sky Hotel, Fort Lauderdale

Location

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Dining
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Rooms
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Highlights

The Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort in Fort Lauderdale offers spacious rooms that provide excellent views of the beach. With flat screen televisions, clean facilities, comfortable beds and room service; it's the ultimate home away from home. You can select a guest room with an open-air balcony or an oceanfront suite with a kitchenette, dining and living room. The hotel has a state-of-the-art fitness center and an on-site laundry facility.

 

The Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort is located near a variety of local attractions, like the Galleria Shopping Mall and the Bonnet House; guests have convenient access to restaurants and fashion boutiques. The Fort Lauderdale Airport (FLL) is just 11 miles away, and the Port Everglades Cruise Terminal is seven miles from the hotel. 

Policies
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 291
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric S.
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Great Getaway Too!

Trip to Ft. Lauderdale went exactly as planned. The Ocean Sky was recommended by friends who told me what to expect by way of service and comfort. Good value for the money. Great location with easy access to restaurants, other hotels and the beach. I would definitely recommend it to friends and plan another trip in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Js jay
Business
Peoria, il
Mar 31, 2014

Clean and calm, away from busy area

Good for those who want a quite time on beach and vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Photo Dad
Business
Northern Ohio
Jan 5, 2014

Average but expected

Great location (on beach). Very nice staff. Avg. room. Bad internet connection. Bad tv. Food is ok but $$$. Very near restaurants and "normal life" used stores. With little improvement could be 4 stars but it's a 3 star. Would recommend but don't expect a wow factor. It's ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots close by including normal every day chains

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sevenlegs
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Outdated Rooms

On the plus side, the tiki lounge and pool are are very nice. Being right on the beach was great for a morning run. However, the carpet, bed, A/C unit, and trim were fairly dated. The shower was old and only served up very hot water. The A/C unit made a knocking noise that made sleep a bit challenging. I could hear the neighboring guest's talk show on their TV and their persistent coughing through the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
derek o
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 1, 2011

Sad use of a beautiful building

"Open air balconies" in add can not be accessed they are crumbeling, doors and windows won't open. Ocean view is through a small locked window. Many cleaning staff yet floors weren't vacuumed and previous occupant's wash rag and soap were still in the shower. Waited 7 hours to have the overflowing toilet, broken shower and coffee pot repaired. Never showed had to request a new room. No concern no apology. There is a definite lack of supervision of the staff and customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cantina for food! excellent food and service.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
horrible hotel
Business
New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Horrible experience

We have stayed at this place in the past and we had a wonderful experience. This vacation was a disaster from the start. We got to the hotel late around 11pm. When we walked into the room the TV looked like it was going to fall off the wall. We called down to the lobby and they said they would send someone up to check it out. No one ever came? The next issue was I tried to get on the Internet to do some work stuff and after spending an hour with the help desk I still was unable to get on wifi. I got up around 6am and called back to the help desk and the server was still down for wifi. I called down to the lobby to check and see if I could use there computers and all they could over me was the pay by credit card computer? I really thought that was bad service due to there site was down. Luckly there was a Mcdonalds not to far so I went there to complete some of the work that I needed to do. Our next issue was when I cam back from a Meeting confreence. We went down to the pool area and there towels were like my rags for washing my truck? When we returned from the pool area I noticed our room was still not cleanned? We got ready and went out for dinner that night and when we left our room we saw houskeeping two doors down so we asuumed they would come and clean our room while we were out? MMM that was wrong. We came back that night and the room was never cleaned? When I called down to the front desk they said that we had a do not disturb sign on it and that's why the room was not cleaned? We did have one on in the morning,but we were in and out all day. Most places re-check rooms through out the day. Oh and the last thing per the advertiseemnt all rooms had ocean balcany rooms. All the the balcony's were being worked on so we had no access to them. Really to be honest the only great servcie was the valut and food service. Those guys were great. Just a horrible experience. would never come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shooter on the water. Great food and service.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Jun 27, 2011

good value

I was a business trip but was glad to be able to jump in the ocean at end of the day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kellymon
Business
Binghamton, NY
Jun 20, 2011

Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort

I went for business and stayed through the weekend. it was a perfect weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It was very nice. The people at the hotel were very personable. Totally REASONABLE.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parking is not free
Business
N Las Vegas
Apr 30, 2010

ok

I didn't like the fact the parking was not included or even mentioned when I signed up for this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RKH11403
Business
Nashville, TN
Feb 13, 2010

Not too bad of a stay

As soon as we got there, we got slammed with hidden charges. They wantede us to pay for a safe that we weren't going to use, before we even got into the room. You have to pay $9 per day for parking, even if you park your own car or use valet, it's $9, no matter what. I prepaid for the room, but they wanted a $100 deposit, no big deal, except that I won't receive that refund for 15 business days, and I was only going to be staying for 2 nights, and had booke 2 rooms. The hotel was pretty far from the shopping and restaurants on the beach strip. If you wanted to use lawn chairs to lay out, you had to rent them. The tiki bar and restaurant were outrageously expensive. They were painting in the lobby, so everytime you went to leave the hotel, you got a headache. There are no rooms with a good ocean view. This hotel is miniaturized by the other hotels surrounding it. The balconies are not sectioned off, there'sjust a little bar that separates them, so when the wind was blowing at night, our chairs ended up down balcony a few rooms down from us. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful with marble floors and columns, but the rooms were nothing in comparison. The carpets were ripped, and just a basic hotel room that you would find at any Days Inn or Super 8. The bathroom was super tiny and had horrible lighting. If you opened your window,thepeople in the hotel next door were starring right into your room. You had to walk out onto the balconies and lean over the railling to look at the ocean. The hotel next door had a great tiki bar and cafe that we spent some time at. It's pretty sad that you need to go to the hotel next door to have any kind of fun, or relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

About 5 miles down the strip, there are great little restaurants, lounges, and shops. Would have been nice if we were closer to things like that.

Back to menu Return to top