$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
323 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014
Located directly on the beach, the Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort - formerly the Ramada Plaza Beach Resort - is set in the city of Ft Lauderdale. Guests will find the hotel is conveniently located only minutes from the Ft Lauderdale Airport and historic Las Olas Boulevard. The resort comprises 225 comfortable guest rooms with open-air balconies and side ocean views. The hotel features an oversized outdoor pool overlooking the ocean, outdoor Jacuzzi and a wide variety of water-sports (rental fees apply) including - Jetskis and Banana Boat Rides. The Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort is the perfect place to stay the next time you visit Ft Lauderdale. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is a smoke-free hotel. No pets allowed

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bkihum
Business
Warren ohio
Jan 7, 2014

Gotcha

Far cry from the on line info. Get ready to be charged extra for everything from daily parking to beach lounge even to sit next to pool is 20$ per chair. Front desk people are rude and unhelpful. Rooms are out of date and tiny bathrooms. Food is pricey and only fair. Would never return or recommend this hotel. Ruined vacation because of poor hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 6, 2007

Not worth the stay!

The Ocean View Sky and Resort - where do I begin? The location was great, the hotel was a complete dump. The lobby is very deceiving, it is decent (not grand), but the rooms are ridiculously outdated. We checked in, went to the room, found mold & mildew (along with sand from someone else's stay) in the bathtub, crusty body fluids on the sheets (pillows had been turned, but cases not replaced (evidenced by the makeup smeared all over the other side of the pillow). Oh well, we think...what do we expect for the money...then we step out onto the balcony...THICK, GREEN MOLD EVERYWHERE. You couldn't even touch the railing because the mold was so thick. Constant drips from the AC above, making it to where you couldn't even stand out there without being soaked. The only plus to the whole place was the beach access and the outdoor pool area was fairly nice. I would NEVER recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
My name is Stanford E Murrell
Business
Orlando Florida
Jun 21, 2009

Stay Away

This was among the worse experiences. The night manger did not call a plumber until 18 hours later when we got back at midnight. THEN the plumber came. At 1:00 am we asked for a cleaning lady. No. We asked for cleaning supplies. Refused. We asked for a room change. Only to a smoking one we were told. We said we are checking out. Suddenly a room down the hall opened up for us but only after we said we wanted to speak to a manager and not a night cleck and we wanted the hotel owners name and number. We are not pigs. We should not have come back to the mess in the bathroom. Moreover, the coffee container was chipped on the pouring edge and thus dangerous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jfigero
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 21, 2009

I do not recommend this hotel!

The hotel was a bit shabby but that would have been fine if the service had been at least acceptable.We had to ask four times for a crib to be delivered to our room and it finally came up with a cigarette hole burned in the side and an unhappy delivery person. We asked the front desk for reccomendations on nearby breakfast places and they responded with a: "I don't know of any", and the concierge would be here in an hour- we could ask him. Thank goodness for google and mapquest on our blackberries otherwise we would still be driving around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No na
Business
Stamford CT
Jun 29, 2009

Bad

Pay parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexasGirls
Business
Amarillo, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Very disappointed

The beach was nice. The staff were not very helpful or friendly. The lobby is beautiful but when you go upstairs to your room....yuck. The halls are in need of paint and updating as are the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ffffffffff
Business
fffffffffffffffff
Sep 28, 2009

The worst

N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florence, KY
Nov 23, 2009

Ocean Sky

I travel all over the world & have never had an experience like this. I was on a two conference run in Florida. This was my time to relax. Arrived @ hotel about 12:30 - 1:00 AM after driving from Jacksonville. Went to bed extremely tired. when getting ready the next morning for a brunch meeting with a Doctor & staff in Lauderdale I noticed a spot on the cotton blanket. After closer inspection found blood on the sheet & blanket (NOT MINE). I took a better look & found blood splatter on two of the pillow cases. Staff gave ME attitude. I work for a medical lab & requested the pilow case so I could run test on the blood. I was told that would not happen. I offered to pay for the pillow case so I could see what I slept in. They refused. This is not over by a long shot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BrianTattooed
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 12, 2010

Horrible service and liars

They lost my reservation an made me wait 2 hours while they doodled around eventhough I had a confirmation, didn't honor free breakfast or welcome covktail, bar refused to give out water for free. Good location but everything fromthe staff to the rooms are far below par. Maids are theives and staff is horribly rude. Wouldn't go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Living Room and The Parlor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tyegumcur
Business
Central, TX
Aug 11, 2010

Wore out & needs updating

!!!!!!THIS HOTEL IS A TRAVEL DONT!!!!!! When we arrived @ the hotel it was VERY VERY busy. Which, is to be expected when it is located RIGHT on the water. We checked in & the lady at the front desk was super rude. When handed our paperwork she says thats a $25 day depoist for the hotel for usage of tiki bar, pool towels, water recreation. We told her that we were not planning to use any of that & she said it was policy to take the deposit anyway. PLUS there is a $10 a day non-refundable charge for parking. They also charge you $1 a day for the safe....we were told by the lady when we checked in that if we did not use it we werent charged for it....WRONG!!! You are charged for it whether you use it or not. After going over all the charges she hands us keys to the room & its for 2 double beds. We reserved a king. Showed her the print out of our confirmation & she said "Im sorry, but you booked through a third party & we already have all the king rooms booked". We asked her "do you not honor your third parties bookings"? She said "we try to", but we didnt receive our king bed until our 3rd night there. If you are wanting a NONSMOKING room....this hotel is not the place for you. The rooms may say nonsmoking, but the balconys are not off limits. The smoke travels right into your room & pretty much makes the rooms SMOKING! The walls & doors are paper thin....we were awaken several mornings before 6:30am by either someone on the balcony on their cell phone, or kids watching cartoons in the next room. All the staff was rude & completey put out if we were to ask questions. I strongly reccomend against this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea Watch on the Ocean is a great place to get WONDERFUL fresh seafood while in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top