$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
503 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (503)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
503 out of 503
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmeow
Plymouth, Ma
Mar 11, 2012

OUR FAVORITE PLACE ON THE BEACH

The Galt Ocean Mile is mostly high rise condos on the beach - there are only 2 hotels on this special strip & we've been coming to the Ocean Sky for years. From there, you can walk to stores, food, and about a mile to Lauderdale by the Sea for evening dancing in the streets to a live band some nights. It is away from the main road ( 1A) & well lit with benches at night also for strolling. The hotel pool area is very nice-there is also a free bus that will take you in a few directions if you don't want to walk to shops. Casino is about 15 minutes away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleria Mall has anything you might need & it is not "touristy" stuff -

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sevenlegs
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Outdated Rooms

On the plus side, the tiki lounge and pool are are very nice. Being right on the beach was great for a morning run. However, the carpet, bed, A/C unit, and trim were fairly dated. The shower was old and only served up very hot water. The A/C unit made a knocking noise that made sleep a bit challenging. I could hear the neighboring guest's talk show on their TV and their persistent coughing through the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michael S.
Whiting, NJ
Feb 20, 2012

Hotel needs more work

Cleanliness just barely passable. Staff needs some training in cordiality and professionalism. Was suprised to learn of non-optional $10.00 per day valet parking fee. No laundry service, and 2nd floor (coin fed) washers & driers, which need updating. I could go on and on, The location is nice, and as they say, the 3 most important factors in real estate: Location, Location, Location. Would I come back? Probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stock your in-room mini refrigerator with wine, beer and soda from the Publix, just down the road, across the street.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mvc3650
NY
Feb 9, 2012

Only good if you're low on money

Let's face it.. this hotel is old and needs work. I went there in 2010 and arrived late at the hotel with my father. We specified in our reservation that we wanted a NON-smoking room..we got a room on the smoker's floor. It smelled terrible and we had to bear through a night of fumes until they gave us a better room. The next room we got was a little bit better and had an updated bathroom. However, the balcony is hardly a balcony because it's separated only by one cement bar..so anyone could just go onto your balcony. The beds were uncomfortable. This hotel really isn't what it used to be, and it is just really old. However, if you're looking for a fun vacation in a good location, this hotel has that. It's in the heart of Ft. Lauderdale, within walking distance of a Dunkin Donuts, some nail salons, and a souvenir shop. The pool and jacuzzi are nice as well as the Tiki Bar. The beach is nice but it is a little small and gets crowded. The water sports offered are great and fun. This hotel is minutes from Ft. Lauderdale hotspots (Las Olas, A1A Blvd) and close to the airport. There are always a lot of people at this hotel (spring break) and so it's always "alive", which we liked. I don't mean it's full of rowdy college kids though. There are many families and young college kids too. Although the rooms aren't too great, the location can't be beat and there is a lot to do in that area. Although we had a good time at the hotel, I wouldn't recommend because personally, I prefer the room to be a little more clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car or take a taxi, it's all close by.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
towranger
colorado
Jan 30, 2012

no real opinion

the location is great! the rooms have been updated since my last visit and were very comfortable. the cleaning staff did a good job. the concierge that works with the hotel were a great help finding restaurants and local attractions. the only bad thing about my stay were the elevators; a little too noisy and malfunctioned several times...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the strip mall restaurants; they were close and a good value

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Years Traveler
Ohio, USA
Jan 8, 2012

A lot to do without leaving the hotel

We were upset we did not have access to our room's balcony due to construction. None of the other guests did either. We had a great time at the hotel pool, outdoor bar and ocean. The staff was great, though a little overworked. The hotel was understaffed given the number of guests, but we were in no hurry. Food and drink prices were a little high, but that's the industry. The room was clean. Convenient store, restaurants and fast food were all within walking distance. Overall an enjoyable place to spend our New Years vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your drinks at the convenient store and keep in the room fridge.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
miskflower
Kentucky, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Not as clean

we found some stains on the bed, felt gross. The only reason we stayed is location. It is right at the beach, just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roxyunk
PA
Dec 15, 2011

Great location

Great location in terms of being near a supermarket, take-out food, and right on the beach. There was construction on all of the balconies while we were there, so not only could nobody use their balcony, but there was also drilling from 9-5 daily. I had to call twice when drilling was still going on well after 5pm, but they were responsive to my calls and stopped shortly after. Only other complaint was that the bed was not comfortable, and the pillows were flat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
breucklynboy
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Staff needs to 'get with it'

No knowledge of ADA. Requested handicapped room. No grab bars in bathroom; room; was furthest room down the hall from elevator..Did they think my walker was a luggage transporter? No more Ocean Sky, Ft Lauderdale for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
billy joe wilson
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 10, 2011

great beach

Hotel was nice, however all the room balconies were closed and under construction during the day time hours. The constuction noise was annoying at the pool area, but nhot to bad on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a cheap beach chair at one of the discount stores on your first day and use it for your stay. Beach chairs were available for a $5 dollar fee each day.

Back to menu Return to top