$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
323 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1poohbear
mays landing,nj
Sep 27, 2012

great location for price

Great location! Beautiful pool & jacuzzi. Only downfall was air conditioner in room very noisy & we had to pay $12.00 a day for parking !!!! Half way thru vacation they advised that online we could have received a free gas card and welcome drinks if we booked thru them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

greek island restaurant-excellent food-can walk from the ocean sky

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neil12
New York, NY
Sep 5, 2012

Good budget stay

A decent hotel with a pool. A direct access to the beach that is no worse than the four- and five-star hotels nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Try H2O Cafe for a great fish soup!

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wave
Texas
Sep 1, 2012

Great time:)

We had a great time and wouldn't change anything about the hotel! Getting transportation was really the only thing that was difficult!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MR BILL AND MRS
HARRISBURG PA
Aug 14, 2012

GREAT PLACE TO STAY

MYRNA AND BILL HAD A WONDERFUL GREAT HOTEL WILL COME AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

RIGHT ON THE BEACH

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kitty kat kat
hampton, GA
Aug 6, 2012

romantic couple getaway

good price for a hotel directly on the beach in this area..beach could be cleaner though, but overall great stay..also no resort fees, which was awesome because some resorts can charge up to $30/day in resort fees..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kiki17
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Aug 6, 2012

Weekend getaway

Overall the it was a good stay for the price! The rooms were ok and the hotel was right on the beach. The lobby was much more updated then the rooms. The hotel was a good 20 minutes from where all the nightlife is so cabs can get pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJTexas
Fort Worth
Aug 1, 2012

Enjoyed our stay

The hotel is convenient to the beach, grocery store, liquor store and local restaurants. The room was clean but the AC was not very cold. The pool area was nice, but food/beverage at the pool of course was over priced. The amenities were great though! We didnt even need to rent a car we had everything we needed within walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Lynn and the gang at Ocean's Grille. If you are lucky O'Toole will share stories with you!

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family blowout
Miami, FL
Jul 10, 2012

Fantastic family getaway

great location, great staff. Love this hotel will stay again any time. Had a great time with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tom234
Denver
Jun 28, 2012

Yikes! Avoid at all costs!

This was a last minute stay. I was in the area on business with my wife and we wanted a hotel by the beach that wasn't too expensive. Because we knew the weather wasn't going to be good, we really just wanted someplace with internet access where they didn't charge more than $25 per day to park our rental car. The parking was only $12 per day, but I wish we had stayed across the street for half the price. Our room looked out at the air conditioning units, but you could see the ocean between them so it was called an 'Ocean View'. There were repair workers waking us up by 8AM the following morning. The internet didn't work and there was no movie channels so we sat there in the rain with nothing to do. We aked them for a refund so we could go somewhere with internet, but they refused to help since we booked online instead of booking directly through them. I was very disappointed and would never stay at this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ohio Family Vacation
Youngstown, ohio
Jun 26, 2012

Family getaway

Room was clean and beds comfortable. Bathroom was small, lights did not work above sink, very little water pressure in shower and the shower mat had a hole in it. Bed was too close to the refrigerator and was difficult to get in and out of it. Area with coffee maker and ice bucket was crowded and hard to maneuver when trying to make coffee. Pool area and hot tub were clean and enjoyable. The outdoor restaurant service was excellent, however the chairs were uncomfortable and not the same as shown in the picture on the website. Was not a bad hotel but not sure I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search