$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
View map of 4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
385 out of 385
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Endz
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 17, 2009

One of the best vacations ever

First off I can't believe the reviews this place got. I booked my trip about a week prior to going and was worried that I was staying in a dump. Thankfully it's quite the contrary. The hotel is just fine. It's not the plaza or the hilton but it's clean and you can't beat its location. It's right on the beach! Yeah, the hotel's tiki bar is a little expensive and happy hour doesn't run on the weekends. Big whoop. I started going to the tiki bar next door which was dirt cheap. There's a grocery store not even two blocks away and in that same plaza is a McDonalds, Dunkin Donuts, and a Deli with a 2.99 breakfast. Oh, and on Commercial is a great bar/restaurant called Aruba. Large portions of the food and very strong fairly priced drinks. I stayed 5 nights in the hotel and it was a super bargain. The staff was very friendly. I almost felt like they were sad I was leaving. If you absolutely have to hear some negative then I guess the hotel's elevators could be a bit swankier (there's chipped plywood and cracked frames in the elevator) but that's no big deal. It got me upstairs and down with no issues. The beach elevator is slow as heck and the 9.00 per day valet charge wasn't all that great but overall I really can't complain. Oh, and if you're a single guy or girl and you're wondering whether there will be other young people at the hotel this is definitely the place to go. Plenty of guys and gals on vacation looking to meet new people. You really can't go wrong at this place. I can't wait to go back later this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Room service is cool once or twice but definitely hit up McDonalds or the Deli right next to it. It's cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vaca lover
Business
Allentown, Pa
Aug 17, 2009

Great vacation

Overall our stay was enjoyable, however nothing is included with the hotel. Chairs on the beach are extra along with any water activities. The staff was helpful, however not always prompt. The rooms were very small with an inconvenient bathroom. When we first checked in our bathroom lights didn't work, and the refrigerator in the room was broken. They have beach elevators however they were not working while we were there. On the other hand, the hotel was generally quiet with relaxing music playing by the pool which was big enough to accommodate everyone there. We found the location of the hotel to be convenient with drug stores, food stores, and restaurants close by but not to close to make the hotel loud and busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Commercial blvd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. & Mrs. Smith
Business
New York
Aug 9, 2009

Fabulous Spot!

I must say that the Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort was one that I really enjoyed. My girlfriend and I really liked the quiet of the hotel despite the many families that were there. The view was fantastic and being by the beach, it was just wonderful. We definitely plan on going back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of places to eat and drink along the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. & Mrs. Smith
Business
New York
Aug 9, 2009

Fabulous Spot!

I must say that the Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort was one that I really enjoyed. My girlfriend and I really liked the quiet of the hotel despite the many families that were there. The view was fantastic and being by the beach, it was just wonderful. We definitely plan on going back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of places to eat and drink along the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 5, 2009

Long weekend getaway

I had to switch rooms when I first got there due to the bad smell of mildew. In the new room I started to notice after a couple days that there was alot of moisture in the room. The carpet felt kinda damp & my clothes did too, strange. Don't basements only have too much moisture?! This hotel needs dehumidifiers! If you don't have a car it is too far to walk to the areas where all the restaurants, clubs & entertainment are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I went across the street to DaVinci's pizza twice, they have really good subs. There is also a Winn Dixie at the end of the plaza where I grabbed bottled water, juice and fruits for my fridge. I also got bakery items there since the hotel doesn't have a continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Aug 5, 2009

Long weekend getaway

I had to switch rooms when I first got there due to the bad smell of mildew. In the new room I started to notice after a couple days that there was alot of moisture in the room. The carpet felt kinda damp & my clothes did too, strange. Don't basements only have too much moisture?! This hotel needs dehumidifiers! If you don't have a car it is too far to walk to the areas where all the restaurants, clubs & entertainment are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I went across the street to DaVinci's pizza twice, they have really good subs. There is also a Winn Dixie at the end of the plaza where I grabbed bottled water, juice and fruits for my fridge. I also got bakery items there since the hotel doesn't have a continental breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexasGirls
Business
Amarillo, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Very disappointed

The beach was nice. The staff were not very helpful or friendly. The lobby is beautiful but when you go upstairs to your room....yuck. The halls are in need of paint and updating as are the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexasGirls
Business
Amarillo, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Very disappointed

The beach was nice. The staff were not very helpful or friendly. The lobby is beautiful but when you go upstairs to your room....yuck. The halls are in need of paint and updating as are the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
at the ocean
Business
virginia
Jul 29, 2009

beautiful beach getaway

the beach and ocean were great. the pool area and bar service were very accomodating. ocean sky has many admenitites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Olathe, KS
Jul 29, 2009

Would recommend to a friend

On the beach, perfect for sun & fun. Rent a car & drive down the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top