$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
323 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (323)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
323 out of 323
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BAw409
New hampshire
May 8, 2009

Ocean Sky

Some people have slamed the place as dirty and unfriendly/ This wasn't the case. the staff was awesome and always helpful and super friendly. The beach was perfect. Being an old hotel it really needs upgrades to its infrastructure. they bacically lost power and were running on a back up generator so 2 days with out A/C was hard to take.They did not offer any break for the burden guests went through which was a shame.The food on sight was adequate. of the 5 days three were perfect. ive stayed at much worse for much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

About a 15.00 cab to get anywhere 1 way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dars
florida
May 5, 2009

flordia

stayed on the beach. we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
May 4, 2009

Fantastic getaway!

Needed a well deserved break from work and the cold weather still lingering in NY so after a few days of research and reviews I decided to go with this resort. Of course some of these reviews were terrifying but from my personal experience I can't say that I had any complaints from arrival until my departure from this Heaven! We arrived early and were allowed to check in then, everything was well explained at the counter so again I cannot say there were any hidden fees or surprise charges. The staff was friendly enough for me. My greatest concern was the cleanliness of the room and it met my standards. I had a very nice room and I loved the view from the balcony (we were on the 7th floor). The only disturbance I can think of is anytime balconies' doors are left open they slammed into the railings due to the strong winds there but I simply placed a chair to pin it against railing and that seemed to take care of my door. (Still wished some of the other guests were as smart as me). I will say and as expected drinks/food were pricey but we walked across the street and found McD's, pizza place, Dunkin Donuts, a really nice brkfast spot (Eastside bagels) very reasonal prices and great service. There is also a Winn Dixie in the same plaza and a Bank of America branch with ATM. There is a huge souvenier place called Wings way cheaper than gift shops at hotel. Upon check out we came across a bit of a rush but again, it was a Monday and check out time so once that rushed passed everything went back to normal. No complaints!!! If you're looking for a great place to relax and do your own thing this is it. If you're looking to be babied or catered and entertained this isn't the place for you. Great place, I will definitely come back and recommend to friends. If you're not sure, give it a shot you won't regret it. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elk Rapids, MI
May 4, 2009

Relaxing on the beach!

My friend and I wanted to go somewhere to just hang out on the beach, enjoy small, inexpensive meals, and explore the town a little with out our children. We had a great, worry free time at the Ocean Sky

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at ocean sky and are a fan of happy hour and down to earth, local people, walk down to Our Place. The food and drinks are awesome and so are the people. Tell [...], [...] and [...] I said hello!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 2, 2009

Ocean Sky

Good value. Pool bar staff overworked. Need more help. Breakfast service slow. Courteous service throughout. Bar close at 10:00pm. Too early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wings

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Trimble, CO
May 2, 2009

A nice beach location.

A great location on the beach. Good meals, and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Addison, IL
Apr 29, 2009

Excellent experience

It was a wonderful experience. I was there with my wife and two very young kids, during spring break. This hotel was surprisingly quieter compared to the surrounding hotels....no misbehaving young adults. The service was wonderful, the pool was cute, although the tiki bar was way too expensive. Now, the beach was breathtaking. Try to get a room with a view of the beach, the sunsets are beautiful. The rooms could have been larger...but for the price, it was ok. No complains. Wife loved it...and that doesn't happen very often..trust me !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marge character
Silt, Colorado
Apr 22, 2009

Beautiful Lobby

Very nice location, and very few people on the beach. And no matter what, you HAVE to PAY to park at the hotel. We rented a car, so we had no choice. $9.00 per night. Also, the lobby is beautiful. All marble, but then when you open the doors to the rooms.....EEEWWWWW. Very different, and a strange feeling at that. CHEAP!!! Other than that they kept it very nice. And then we had a surprise charge of a safe in the room, which we didn't use, nor need. But they charge for that also.....$1.00 per day. Was $70.00 for regular breakfast for 3 people....So plan on eating further north at the wonderful inexpensive restaurants. EXCELLENT location, excellent pool and the ocean was wonderful....not many people on the beach. Had a great time. Yes, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent nite life....everyone partying everywhere....North of the hotel and South of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
Apr 22, 2009

The Sky has Limits

The location was about 3 miles from the Lauderdale strip which was not bad. The hotel is older but is clean with a nice pool. The staff was not friendly or helpful. We had to re-activate our key cards at least 8 times in four days which is very aggrevating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A great Mexican restaurant on Sunrise Blvd and seafood restaurant Sea branch north past Commerical Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LJJ
Business
Bryant, AR
Apr 22, 2009

Unbeatable location

Business conference located in hotel conference room. Comfortable, quiet and very accessible. Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search