$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
503 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (503)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
503 out of 503
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Mar 11, 2010

Don't Bother

When we arrived to check in the staff was exceptionally rude. We reserved a room with a king bed and were given a room with 2 double beds. When we asked if we could be moved to a room with a king bed the claimed that when you make a reservation online, the room type is only a request and not a guarantee (why would they give an option then?). So we were stuck in this double bed room with a deck shared with neighbors on either side and you could hear through the walls. On top of this, we walked into our room and 5 mins later maintainance people were there to fix a closet door. They should make repairs to a room when guests are NOT staying in the room. This is DEFINITELY NOT worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Ft. Lauderdale was fun to explore. The walk along the inlet was very nice.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Mar 11, 2010

Don't Bother

When we arrived to check in the staff was exceptionally rude. We reserved a room with a king bed and were given a room with 2 double beds. When we asked if we could be moved to a room with a king bed the claimed that when you make a reservation online, the room type is only a request and not a guarantee (why would they give an option then?). So we were stuck in this double bed room with a deck shared with neighbors on either side and you could hear through the walls. On top of this, we walked into our room and 5 mins later maintainance people were there to fix a closet door. They should make repairs to a room when guests are NOT staying in the room. This is DEFINITELY NOT worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Ft. Lauderdale was fun to explore. The walk along the inlet was very nice.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christy & teenage daughter
Wisconsin
Feb 23, 2010

Pretty good

Overall, better than we expected. The recent reviews were pretty scary, which made me nervous about the trip. However, the hotel overall was cleaner, prettier, and nicer than I expected. The beds were super comfortable. There were NO bugs in the rooms (contrary to some reviews) and no musty odor in our room or on our floor (9th). However, the front lobby smelled like vomit the entire weekend. A few of the front desk staff acted like they were too bored to smile, and when asked about local attractions they didn't seem to have a clue and instead pointed at the concierge (he was great, by the way). The valet guys and tiki bar staff were also great. The location rocks and the beach is gorgeous. The woman who handed out towels took her job a bit too seriously. Wouldn't give me a towel until I could produce a piece of paper with my name on it. (I forgot my paper in my room. Never mind that I was holding a KEY with my room number on it. I had to go to the front desk to complain. Lighten up with the towel service, please! The outdoor patio and pool area are very clean and attractive. The palm trees are lit up at night and there is music piped in all around. The only downfall was that it was kinda boring. Not much happening at the tiki bar. NO entertainment (which was advertised), though walking around town we found that a lot of the local hotels (even motels!) offered bands or some form of nightly entertainment. So we basically walked around til we found something fun to do. Which didn't take long! We found that the street off Anglin's Pier, about a mile down the beach, is blocked off every Saturday with live bands, shoping, and great indoor/outdoo restaurants. Very cool. Much of the crowd was middle aged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

At night, when there's nothing else going on, drive south to Hollywood (25 minutes on highway) and walk the boardwalk. Awesome tiki bars and live bands. Great atmosphere! Much different vibe than hotel area.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christy & teenage daughter
Wisconsin
Feb 23, 2010

Pretty good

Overall, better than we expected. The recent reviews were pretty scary, which made me nervous about the trip. However, the hotel overall was cleaner, prettier, and nicer than I expected. The beds were super comfortable. There were NO bugs in the rooms (contrary to some reviews) and no musty odor in our room or on our floor (9th). However, the front lobby smelled like vomit the entire weekend. A few of the front desk staff acted like they were too bored to smile, and when asked about local attractions they didn't seem to have a clue and instead pointed at the concierge (he was great, by the way). The valet guys and tiki bar staff were also great. The location rocks and the beach is gorgeous. The woman who handed out towels took her job a bit too seriously. Wouldn't give me a towel until I could produce a piece of paper with my name on it. (I forgot my paper in my room. Never mind that I was holding a KEY with my room number on it. I had to go to the front desk to complain. Lighten up with the towel service, please! The outdoor patio and pool area are very clean and attractive. The palm trees are lit up at night and there is music piped in all around. The only downfall was that it was kinda boring. Not much happening at the tiki bar. NO entertainment (which was advertised), though walking around town we found that a lot of the local hotels (even motels!) offered bands or some form of nightly entertainment. So we basically walked around til we found something fun to do. Which didn't take long! We found that the street off Anglin's Pier, about a mile down the beach, is blocked off every Saturday with live bands, shoping, and great indoor/outdoo restaurants. Very cool. Much of the crowd was middle aged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

At night, when there's nothing else going on, drive south to Hollywood (25 minutes on highway) and walk the boardwalk. Awesome tiki bars and live bands. Great atmosphere! Much different vibe than hotel area.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Feb 19, 2010

The Resort that has great potential!

Ocean Sky is in a fabulous location on the ocean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The heated pool and deck are very nice. This could be a first class hotel. The problems are: Upon arrival, I was told there were additional charges; $9 per day for valet parking and $1 per day for the in-room safe. (This was the first time I was ever charged for the safe.) The front desk manager told me we could self-park but we were still charged an additional $9 per day. The valets (an independent company not affiliated with the hotel) did their best to block open parking places to prevent self-parking. In many places (NYC comes to mind) people know parking is often additional. However in my experience in FL for this type of hotel paid parking is not common, so if the hotel needs to charge for parking they should disclose that at booking. In any case they should cancel this valet company and let guests self park for a fee, or offer valet service only if requested. The hotel has cigarette smell throughout, especially on the fifth floor where we stayed. This is overpowering and offensive. I prefer non-smoking hotels. However, the Ocean Sky likely has guest from counties where smoking is still widespread and they may need to cater to those visitors. In any case, they should ventilate the hotel more effectively to remove the cigarette smell and offer non-smoking floors. The restaurant is also a contracted operation. On my first morning I went down to the lobby for coffee. In many of the hotels I've stayed in, complementary coffee is offered in the lobby for hotel guests. Not the Ocean Sky. A morning cup of mediocre coffee costs $2.80 which includes coffee, tax and a mandatory 15% gratuity added to every item in this restaurant, even a cup of coffee. Needless to say, that cup of coffee was the only purchase we made from the restaurant during our week stay. The bottom line is Ocean Sky is in a beautiful location and has a very nice and helpful staff. It's very important for management to step up and make some policy changes (take over the restaurant, remove the cigarette smell, and lose this valet company) to make this a top flight hotel and resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Feb 19, 2010

The Resort that has great potential!

Ocean Sky is in a fabulous location on the ocean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The heated pool and deck are very nice. This could be a first class hotel. The problems are: Upon arrival, I was told there were additional charges; $9 per day for valet parking and $1 per day for the in-room safe. (This was the first time I was ever charged for the safe.) The front desk manager told me we could self-park but we were still charged an additional $9 per day. The valets (an independent company not affiliated with the hotel) did their best to block open parking places to prevent self-parking. In many places (NYC comes to mind) people know parking is often additional. However in my experience in FL for this type of hotel paid parking is not common, so if the hotel needs to charge for parking they should disclose that at booking. In any case they should cancel this valet company and let guests self park for a fee, or offer valet service only if requested. The hotel has cigarette smell throughout, especially on the fifth floor where we stayed. This is overpowering and offensive. I prefer non-smoking hotels. However, the Ocean Sky likely has guest from counties where smoking is still widespread and they may need to cater to those visitors. In any case, they should ventilate the hotel more effectively to remove the cigarette smell and offer non-smoking floors. The restaurant is also a contracted operation. On my first morning I went down to the lobby for coffee. In many of the hotels I've stayed in, complementary coffee is offered in the lobby for hotel guests. Not the Ocean Sky. A morning cup of mediocre coffee costs $2.80 which includes coffee, tax and a mandatory 15% gratuity added to every item in this restaurant, even a cup of coffee. Needless to say, that cup of coffee was the only purchase we made from the restaurant during our week stay. The bottom line is Ocean Sky is in a beautiful location and has a very nice and helpful staff. It's very important for management to step up and make some policy changes (take over the restaurant, remove the cigarette smell, and lose this valet company) to make this a top flight hotel and resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RKH11403
Business
Nashville, TN
Feb 13, 2010

Not too bad of a stay

As soon as we got there, we got slammed with hidden charges. They wantede us to pay for a safe that we weren't going to use, before we even got into the room. You have to pay $9 per day for parking, even if you park your own car or use valet, it's $9, no matter what. I prepaid for the room, but they wanted a $100 deposit, no big deal, except that I won't receive that refund for 15 business days, and I was only going to be staying for 2 nights, and had booke 2 rooms. The hotel was pretty far from the shopping and restaurants on the beach strip. If you wanted to use lawn chairs to lay out, you had to rent them. The tiki bar and restaurant were outrageously expensive. They were painting in the lobby, so everytime you went to leave the hotel, you got a headache. There are no rooms with a good ocean view. This hotel is miniaturized by the other hotels surrounding it. The balconies are not sectioned off, there'sjust a little bar that separates them, so when the wind was blowing at night, our chairs ended up down balcony a few rooms down from us. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful with marble floors and columns, but the rooms were nothing in comparison. The carpets were ripped, and just a basic hotel room that you would find at any Days Inn or Super 8. The bathroom was super tiny and had horrible lighting. If you opened your window,thepeople in the hotel next door were starring right into your room. You had to walk out onto the balconies and lean over the railling to look at the ocean. The hotel next door had a great tiki bar and cafe that we spent some time at. It's pretty sad that you need to go to the hotel next door to have any kind of fun, or relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

About 5 miles down the strip, there are great little restaurants, lounges, and shops. Would have been nice if we were closer to things like that.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RKH11403
Business
Nashville, TN
Feb 13, 2010

Not too bad of a stay

As soon as we got there, we got slammed with hidden charges. They wantede us to pay for a safe that we weren't going to use, before we even got into the room. You have to pay $9 per day for parking, even if you park your own car or use valet, it's $9, no matter what. I prepaid for the room, but they wanted a $100 deposit, no big deal, except that I won't receive that refund for 15 business days, and I was only going to be staying for 2 nights, and had booke 2 rooms. The hotel was pretty far from the shopping and restaurants on the beach strip. If you wanted to use lawn chairs to lay out, you had to rent them. The tiki bar and restaurant were outrageously expensive. They were painting in the lobby, so everytime you went to leave the hotel, you got a headache. There are no rooms with a good ocean view. This hotel is miniaturized by the other hotels surrounding it. The balconies are not sectioned off, there'sjust a little bar that separates them, so when the wind was blowing at night, our chairs ended up down balcony a few rooms down from us. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful with marble floors and columns, but the rooms were nothing in comparison. The carpets were ripped, and just a basic hotel room that you would find at any Days Inn or Super 8. The bathroom was super tiny and had horrible lighting. If you opened your window,thepeople in the hotel next door were starring right into your room. You had to walk out onto the balconies and lean over the railling to look at the ocean. The hotel next door had a great tiki bar and cafe that we spent some time at. It's pretty sad that you need to go to the hotel next door to have any kind of fun, or relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

About 5 miles down the strip, there are great little restaurants, lounges, and shops. Would have been nice if we were closer to things like that.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Saints are WC
Alexandria, VA
Feb 8, 2010

Great pool on the Ocean, but the rooms

Went to the Super bowl. Location was good, pool overlooking the ocean wonderful. Hotel is old, no onsite dining, rooms need upgrade. The staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Saints are WC
Alexandria, VA
Feb 8, 2010

Great pool on the Ocean, but the rooms

Went to the Super bowl. Location was good, pool overlooking the ocean wonderful. Hotel is old, no onsite dining, rooms need upgrade. The staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top