$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
502 reviews
GREAT place to get away

I absolutely LOVED staying here, balcony view was fantastic, ocean, pool, jacuzzi all available... See full review

  • Audrey Just Chillin
  • Jun 25, 2014
Excellent

I like everything about it, especially location. Rooms are ok, the lobby was good, beach is very nice. See full review

  • Tedird
  • May 29, 2014

If you want to stay near the beach, with rooms spacious enough to call home, the Ocean Sky Hotel Fort Lauderdale fills the bill. The scent of polished wood, tiki canopies and palm trees hangs in the air, and when dusk settles, the hotel lights up in aqua hues, preparing guests for a night of marine-side dancing, or a secluded dip in the outdoor Jacuzzi. Dine in American-Continental style on the sunny brick terrace, or take a long swig of your cocktail before the ocean waves in the tiki bar. Rent out jet skis or scuba equipment nearby for a little extra action on the waves, or retreat to the games room indoors when the air gets cooler.

Key facts
  • Heated swimming pool
  • Tiki bar
  • Oversized Jacuzzi
  • Fitness center
  • Game room
  • Terrace restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Event room and convention center
  • Nine-hole miniature golf course
  • Gift shop
Neighborhood
This North Ocean Boulevard hotel is flanked by the beach and the Intercoastal Waterway, with the small neighborhood of Lauderdale-by-the-sea to the north and Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood Airport (FLL) to the south (12 miles). The Galleria Shopping Mall provides contemporary entertainment amongst the bargain rails, or visitors can take a trip back in time to the stately Bonnet House and Gardens (both under three miles away). Head out into the sea with a dinner-cruise aboard the Jungle Queen to capture the whole of the shoreline with your senses, as well as your camera.
Hints and tips
The hotel's north-facing rooms give shy travelers the quietest stay, while view-seekers will adore the 9th floor.Check out the selection of Mediterranean-inspired restaurants on the fishing pier, or head toward the city center along Commercial Street for favorite grills like Flanigans.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort Rooms

Standard Room
The standard room offers two double beds or one king bed with a partial ocean view, free high-speed wireless internet, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, hair dryer, in-room safe, telephones with voice mail, AM/FM alarm clock radio and cable TV.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1785 -80.0981
Area served
Fort Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale Airport/Hollywood International(FLL)
Area description
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is ideally situated near business districts, the convention center, shopping areas and entertainment. Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort is located about 12 miles from the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.8 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5.1 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Full-service indoor/outdoor restaurant serving continental cuisine

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (502)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
502 out of 502
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mack1392
Maineville Ohio
Mar 27, 2014

Elevators

Everything was good except one day the elevators were not working. The employees were told and said the elevators were work on but still had same isssues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Arubea Resturant about 1.5 miles north of hotel great food and same price of all other resturants

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kal M
Chicago
Mar 19, 2014

Would Come Back

Great girls trip! Excellent location. The beach was amazing, its two blocks from a grocery store so we just walked there each day and brought back food to make in our room. The area has a lot of condos so unlike all of the other areas of the beach we had calm neighbors, no spring break frat parties. The rooms weren't great but they were doable. They just look older; however the seemed very clean and the beds were comfortable. The pool was so nice, and they gave us extra towels for free! The bar was very expensive. And watch out, the bar prices went up without notice as the day went on. You could buy an entire bottle of alcohol for just two drinks at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lp102
NYC
Mar 17, 2014

On the beach and great pool

pool is lovely, the cabanas are great value for money and well worth it. The hotel is right on the beach which was great, and walking distance to lots of restaurants. Nice weekend break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
College Daughter and Mom
Ft. Lauderdale
Mar 16, 2014

Awesome Place to Stay

My daughter and I had an awesome stay at the Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort. The location right on the beach with the pool and deck right in the perfect spot was just perfect. We were always treated very great, and everyone was so nice to us. The only thing that was not just perfect was the wifi connection was very slow, but who needs internet when on vacation. I also had to pay a little more than I would have liked to pay, but in comparison to everything else I looked at online, it was a great deal. I didn't see another hotel that I would have rather been staying at while we were there. It was not crowded with rowdy college kids either!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Winn Dixie was only a block or two away and McDonalds just across the street. We could walk to the store and save tons on food for our vacation.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
88Einer Danes
NEW YORK
Mar 10, 2014

AMAZING SHORT VACATION

This is one of the most AMAZING place, in FORT LAUDERDALE - staff are so acomodating and helpful ----- could never asked for more ----- will be back soon -----

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tobago Kid
Trinidad
Mar 8, 2014

My birthday Lime

It was great, my only recommendation is that breakfast should be included in the package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
skippy1
North Jersey
Mar 6, 2014

Very Convenient Location

Close to many restaurants and bars, excellent location, good staff, great pool and beach area. Great place to stay for golf groups.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jag1173
michigan
Feb 24, 2014

weekend getaway

the guy who parks the cars gave us a jump when the battery died with his car that was very nice and did not want tip. he was a special person :) can tell old hotel and doing updates but no fan in bathroom was odd but due to being old hotel we understood. We also thought 35.00 a day for the cabana was pricy did not buy that. used the free ones lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of twinners
Camp Hill, PA
Feb 19, 2014

Great day away!

My family decided to stay here this year and spend a day in Ft. Lauderdale prior to flying out. We thought the rooms were clean and tidy and the staff was super friendly. We enjoyed a short walk to Commercial Blvd from the hotel and enjoyed multiple options for dinner and entertainment. You can sit at the pool and enjoy a great view of the beach. We will definitely be staying here next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fesitas
chicago
Feb 17, 2014

great place

true the room could use a bit more love, but who goes to FL to stay in doors. the proximity to the beach and pool was awesome. The staff was super friendly. We took our 7th month baby and she loved it... we are still waiting for the pack & play we requested when we made reservations, we asked twice and no one deliver it to the room. that would be my only complaint

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Aruba restaurant it was great

Back to menu Return to top