$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

3 stars
View map of 4060 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunnylover
Family
Midland, MI, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Fun Family Vacation

Great time had by all every time we have gone to this hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alchemist
Couples
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Apr 3, 2012

That will be $25 to sit in the chair

The location is the draw. A beach front location on the ocean is wonderful but be prepared to pay for everything else. Nothing is included with the room other than access to the beach, not parking, breakfast, or even the use of lounge chairs on or near the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Lauderdale by the Sea just north has a nice selection of restaurants and shops as well as a public beach.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Razelle
Couples
Maine
Mar 31, 2012

Spring vacation

We arrived after a long day of traveling and were pleasantly surprised! The staff was helpful, the room was super and we had a great view of the ocean! We were able to sit on the balcony, listen to the waves and relax for our first night away. The room was clean, the beach was easily accessible, the fitness room had convenient hours..it was definitely worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to dine within a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tekqueen
Couples
Athens, OH 45701, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Lovely views right on the beach

This was a great vacation. We stayed in a standard room with two regular size beds. The room a pretty ordinary motel room with a microwave and small refrigerator. There was a free safe and free wireless internet. There was nothing wrong with the room, it just wasn't gorgeous and who cares about that when you have the beautiful ocean and great pool where we spent the majority of our time. The beds weren't wonderful, but they were fine. I liked the pillows. (2 regular ones and a body pillow) I always wish for a full size coffee pot, but there was only a small one. The room was clean and my only complaint is that the shower was weaker than I would have liked. The one thing I wish someone would have told me about was parking. All parking was $12.00 a day. (Which I thought was reasonable) Valet is $12, but you tip (of course). I thought all the parking was valet. I just didn't find out about the non-valet parking till the 3rd day. It was across a small street and we liked it because we needed the little walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandmeow
Couples
Plymouth, Ma
Mar 11, 2012

OUR FAVORITE PLACE ON THE BEACH

The Galt Ocean Mile is mostly high rise condos on the beach - there are only 2 hotels on this special strip & we've been coming to the Ocean Sky for years. From there, you can walk to stores, food, and about a mile to Lauderdale by the Sea for evening dancing in the streets to a live band some nights. It is away from the main road ( 1A) & well lit with benches at night also for strolling. The hotel pool area is very nice-there is also a free bus that will take you in a few directions if you don't want to walk to shops. Casino is about 15 minutes away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Galleria Mall has anything you might need & it is not "touristy" stuff -

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sevenlegs
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Outdated Rooms

On the plus side, the tiki lounge and pool are are very nice. Being right on the beach was great for a morning run. However, the carpet, bed, A/C unit, and trim were fairly dated. The shower was old and only served up very hot water. The A/C unit made a knocking noise that made sleep a bit challenging. I could hear the neighboring guest's talk show on their TV and their persistent coughing through the wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Michael S.
Single
Whiting, NJ
Feb 20, 2012

Hotel needs more work

Cleanliness just barely passable. Staff needs some training in cordiality and professionalism. Was suprised to learn of non-optional $10.00 per day valet parking fee. No laundry service, and 2nd floor (coin fed) washers & driers, which need updating. I could go on and on, The location is nice, and as they say, the 3 most important factors in real estate: Location, Location, Location. Would I come back? Probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Stock your in-room mini refrigerator with wine, beer and soda from the Publix, just down the road, across the street.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mvc3650
Family
NY
Feb 9, 2012

Only good if you're low on money

Let's face it.. this hotel is old and needs work. I went there in 2010 and arrived late at the hotel with my father. We specified in our reservation that we wanted a NON-smoking room..we got a room on the smoker's floor. It smelled terrible and we had to bear through a night of fumes until they gave us a better room. The next room we got was a little bit better and had an updated bathroom. However, the balcony is hardly a balcony because it's separated only by one cement bar..so anyone could just go onto your balcony. The beds were uncomfortable. This hotel really isn't what it used to be, and it is just really old. However, if you're looking for a fun vacation in a good location, this hotel has that. It's in the heart of Ft. Lauderdale, within walking distance of a Dunkin Donuts, some nail salons, and a souvenir shop. The pool and jacuzzi are nice as well as the Tiki Bar. The beach is nice but it is a little small and gets crowded. The water sports offered are great and fun. This hotel is minutes from Ft. Lauderdale hotspots (Las Olas, A1A Blvd) and close to the airport. There are always a lot of people at this hotel (spring break) and so it's always "alive", which we liked. I don't mean it's full of rowdy college kids though. There are many families and young college kids too. Although the rooms aren't too great, the location can't be beat and there is a lot to do in that area. Although we had a good time at the hotel, I wouldn't recommend because personally, I prefer the room to be a little more clean and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car or take a taxi, it's all close by.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Years Traveler
Couples
Ohio, USA
Jan 8, 2012

A lot to do without leaving the hotel

We were upset we did not have access to our room's balcony due to construction. None of the other guests did either. We had a great time at the hotel pool, outdoor bar and ocean. The staff was great, though a little overworked. The hotel was understaffed given the number of guests, but we were in no hurry. Food and drink prices were a little high, but that's the industry. The room was clean. Convenient store, restaurants and fast food were all within walking distance. Overall an enjoyable place to spend our New Years vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your drinks at the convenient store and keep in the room fridge.

Review of Ocean Sky Hotel and Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
miskflower
Couples
Kentucky, USA
Dec 23, 2011

Not as clean

we found some stains on the bed, felt gross. The only reason we stayed is location. It is right at the beach, just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top