$140 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Ocean Manor Beach Resort

3 stars
4040 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
345 reviews
Wonderful Stay Right on the Beach

I've been to Ocean Manor a few times over the years and its always a safe, clean place to stay... See full review

  • Kiki 0219
  • Nov 21, 2014
great location! at great price!

I have a great deal ,but when I got there it was more than I expected.the place is great located... See full review

  • gabe marin
  • Nov 16, 2014
Nightly entertainment, a lively tiki bar and residential amenities

Ocean Manor Beach Resort channels the best of the South Florida lifestyle, from the beachside tiki bar to the luxury penthouses with sweeping views of the skyline and Atlantic Ocean. Long before a multimillion dollar makeover, the hotel also hosted A-listers like Johnny Carson and Eric Clapton. The property keeps leisure at the forefront, entertaining guests with nightly entertainment and multiple lodging options equipped with kitchenettes, kitchens and terraces for soaking up the seaside vistas.

Highlights
  • Fort Lauderdale hotel with outdoor pool and nightly entertainment
  • Penthouses with spa baths, balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows
  • Some rooms with kitchenettes and kitchens
  • Tiki bar and sushi lounge
Rooms

Ocean Manor Beach Resort rooms treat guests to residential amenities like mini refrigerators, microwaves and views of the skyline or Atlantic Ocean via balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows. An emphasis on heavy woods, from sleigh bed frames to hardwood floors, creates traditional style. Suites are tailored for families and big groups with the addition of kitchenettes, lounging and dining areas. For VIP luxury, reserve a penthouse suite, which lives like a mini mansion in the sky with high-end furniture, gourmet kitchens, spa baths and expansive terraces with dining tables.

Dining

The seaside setting plays a major influence on food at Ocean Manor Beach Resort, where guests choose from the laid-back Bamboo Beach Tiki Bar & Café or the lounge-restaurant hybrid, Tokyo Blue. Both serve a heavy dose of ambiance, with the former dishing out casual beach fare, tropical drinks and live entertainment nightly. Sushi bar, Tokyo Blue, brims with eye candy, from the 1,200-gallon aquarium to the illuminated LED glass columns.

Recreation

The outdoor pool turns into a daily--and nightly--party at Ocean Manor Beach Resort as sunbathers, families and the happy hour folks gather on the sundeck or at the tiki bar. When the itch for adventure kicks in, guests take advantage of close proximity to the water with sightseeing cruises, snorkeling and diving excursions.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Miami International Airport (29.1 mi/46.8 km)
Attractions
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Port Everglades (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Broward County Convention Center (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (28.3 mi/45.5 km)
Business
  • Banquet and meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Manor Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Ocean Manor Beach Resort Rooms

Efficiency Room with Full Kitchen
The Efficiency Room features one king sized bed or 2 double sized beds. Also fully equipped with full kitchen.
One Bedroom Suite
Full sized apartment with fully equipped kitchen and king bed w/ sleeper sofa.
Two Bedroom Suite
Full sized apartment with fully equipped kitchen, king bed and 2 doubles.
Hotel Room
The Hotel Room features One King Sized Bed or 2 Double Sized Beds. The rooms are spacious and equipped with standard amenities, In Room Refrigerator, Microwave and they offer breathtaking views of the city and the Atlantic Ocean.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Dining

Rumor Has It
Dine with a view of the ocean, this magnificent seafood restaurant offers only the freshest quality seafood's and meats available.
Beach Cafe
Newly remodeled to give you the beach atmosphere. Only the best ingredients are used to provide fresh quality food. The menu ranges from delicious homemade pizza to mouth watering black angus burgers. We also offer daily fresh fish and salad specials. If you need a pick me up, just order a cappuccino or espresso made from fine Italian coffee beans.
Seattle's Best
Fresly Brewed Starbucks Coffee conveniently located in our Lobby
Bamboo Beach Tiki Bar
Also newly remodeled, just a step from the sand We offer daily drink specials and live entertainment on the weekends. Enjoy the music while you sit by the beach sipping on a tropical drink.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For meetings and events that leave an impression, Ocean Manor Resort has a special allure. From small meeting rooms to grand-scale conference centers, the hotel brings every event a dedicated focus and unbridled enthusiasm. Whether you're planning a company strategy session, an intimate cocktail party or a celebratory banquet, you'll always have our undivided attention. It's easy to plan and book your group and meeting events with Ocean Manor Hotel. Just ask for assistance from our friendly representatives. They'll be happy to help you make whatever arrangements you need for your next gathering.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (345)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
345 out of 345
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.7

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kamus
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jan 2, 2013

Not entirely satisfactory.

This is an aging hotel that is undergoing some renovation. Frankly, it needs a lot more. I don't think I've ever stayed in any hotel where the room numbers were scrawled in magic marker over the doors! We initially checked in to a 1 rm efficiency apt-- which had sagging beds, cracked walls, broken mirrors, a non working safe, and dirty or missing kitchen items. Due to a clerical error, we were moved to a 1 bedroom suite which was a bit nicer but still with similar issues. Housekeeping skipped a day, towels were in short supply. Internet quality was very, very poor in both rooms. The beach Tiki bar was overpriced. On the plus side, the staff was nice, valet parking was reasonable at $7/day, the pool was OK, the view from the room was nice and we managed to have a good time anyway. Some other reviewers complained about bedbugs- we did not see any evidence in either room and I know what to check for. It's possible they are there but sometimes people who have bad experiences with staff in a hotel will post retaliatory reviews like "bedbugs here" so take everything you read with a grain of salt. In conclusion, the stay was acceptable and (barely) met minimum standards but primarily due to the sad state of the kitchen and the horrible internet, we will seek another hotel when we come back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The nearby Thai-To-Go restaurant featured excellent Thai food at a reasonable price for pickup or delivery.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John Toma
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jan 1, 2013

Worst ever

This is the worst hotel experience we have ever had even though we have stayed in hotels all over the world. We first had to change rooms because the air conditioner was extremely noisy and dripped water on the floor, the microwave was unplugged and could not be plugged in without unplugging the TV or refrigerator. Our new room had peeling paint, a single towel bar in the bathroom which was broken, no bath linens, a bed mattress that sagged toward the middle, and a door to the adjoining room that allowed us to hear every conversation. After being awakens several times in the night due to noise from neighboring rooms we finally got up early and checked out even though we had prepaid for another night. Other things in the resort/hotel we defective and in poor condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Unless you were willing to eat at the resort/hotel restaurant, there were very few restaurants including fast food within walking or short driving distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna N
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jan 1, 2013

Disappointing Weekend

This hotel is so rundown! It hasn't been updated in 25 years, which was when we last stayed there. The only place to have berakfast and lunch is outside so you are out of luck if the weather is bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ChristinaD...
Business
Michigan
Dec 29, 2012

More like a 1 star hotel

Our room number was written in marker on the door frame, the hallway smelled like mildew and the smell only doubled when we walked into the room. Black carpet stains greeted us at the door that followed us throughout the room. Where the carpet wasn't stained, it was ripped. There were holes in the ceiling, the water smelled and the room hasn't been updated since the early 90s. When I went to call the front desk, the phone only had a busy signal. The kitchen was grease spattered and counters were chipped. When I took the elevator down to complain, the staff stated they were condos that had been transformed into hotel rooms and that the state of each if them was different, they were "remodeling" and since it was Christmas Eve, we were stuck and good luck finding a better hotel. I would NEVER stay here again or recommend it to anyone else. Needless to say I did find a better room and checked out immediately. Before signing anything be sure to check your room personally, or better yet stay at a motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sugu
Business
Flint
Dec 21, 2012

Great ocean view

Excellent view of the Ocean! Great food and excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Theworstever
Business
ft lauderdale
Dec 21, 2012

The worst travel experience - ever! 3rd World...

The valet parking had our car towed after telling me to park the car myself in the place. We had to call the police after feeling our physical safety was in jeopardy. Had to pay towing bill after calling the police. Staff was abusive, used foul language and treats. The interior hallways looked like the worst college dorm. Cannot say enough about what a dump this place is!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
samiam68
Business
Chicago, IL.
Dec 20, 2012

Fl trip.

Parking, good. Food really good and priced fair. (we had dinner and breakfast) Kitchen / bar areas looked really clean and tidy. great location and views. Hotel next door had Jet skies for rent with kayaks and other stuff. (and didnt charge $5.00 to sit in a hotel chair on beach) Room, VERY BAD. Dirty floor and trim, (white trim is nice, but not nice if its dirty and looks to have never been cleaned) bathroom door broke, hotel room phone broke. Broken floor tiles with exposed rough sharp edges. Questionable electric (holes drilled through walls to power the fridge and micro wave (both dirty) Pool outside bar area and beach were nice and clean. Very Good bar outside staff, however we waited 10 minutes for the front check in guy to show up. Not a good image for any hotel. (seen him as a regular in rear bar area after check in and throughout night, not at station or even in the hotel area, in uniform "Drinking and smoking" off and on.) Our entire 2nd floor wing, had a really strong, fresh weed-pot smell. It was kinda sad, this could be a really nice place to stay with the basic cleaning and repairs. It looked as if at least out room was recently re-done. Very Nice tiles, shower, vanities, lighting. Over all very nice material was used. HOWEVER it all looked like a 12 year old installed all of it. My 12 year old can paint better than the people whom did my room. On one wall alone there were over 8 big roller marks of the wall color on the ceiling. Very poor quality workmanship. I truly hope they didnt actually pay someone to perform the work. If they did and you are in construction, I assure you that you could get a lot of work there alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ELCL2012
Business
CT
Dec 12, 2012

Didn't even stay one night!!!!

Absolutely horrid. Was asked to check into a room that was not an efficiency....we paid for an efficiency. The clerk said well these are the only other rooms I have and gave us keys to two room to check out. One was worse than the other. Even though this was 11:30 at night, we left and called for a refund. We drove around in middle of the night looking for another place. Their website couldn't be more misleading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I don't know
Business
chicago, illinois
Dec 10, 2012

hotel

not good. too much noise at front. Old - needs updating. The Tiki bar at the rear is well run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laureano
Business
San Juan PR
Dec 6, 2012

Nightmare

The facility has poor maintenance, the manager did not honor our reservation. The manager was at the front desk on the phone in a personal conversation (which I over heard) while I was waiting for service. No bellboy service nor a luggage cart were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top