$136 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Ocean Manor Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of 4040 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
308 out of 308
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.7
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.6

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C Anderson
Business
Kansas City, KS
Jan 17, 2013

What you'd expect for the price, not bad

For a place on the beach, it's pretty darn good. I think most of the bad reviews are from people that don't understand what a 'nice hotel' costs in FLL. We had a great time, the tiki bar is awesome, and the club was bumping Fri & Sat night (if that's your thing.) The staff was nice, and accommodating. Only complaint I had with our room was that the door had obviously been kicked in in the past and wasn't the most secure thing I've ever seen. We just hid valuables really well and didn't have any problems at all. We really liked the Galt Ocean Mile area... one thing I wasn't aware of is that you can legally drink on the beach in this area because they are private beaches owned by those hotels. Unlike the main FLL Beach area where drinking is technically illegal and during peak season you will eventually be hassled. We will definitely be staying in the Galt Ocean Mile area again if we return to Lauderdale. It was great to be able to go snag a frozen cocktail at 1:30am and go jump straight in the ocean with it with no troubles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just north of the hotel a few blocks "country ham & eggs" had delicious breakfast.

Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kamus
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Jan 2, 2013

Not entirely satisfactory.

This is an aging hotel that is undergoing some renovation. Frankly, it needs a lot more. I don't think I've ever stayed in any hotel where the room numbers were scrawled in magic marker over the doors! We initially checked in to a 1 rm efficiency apt-- which had sagging beds, cracked walls, broken mirrors, a non working safe, and dirty or missing kitchen items. Due to a clerical error, we were moved to a 1 bedroom suite which was a bit nicer but still with similar issues. Housekeeping skipped a day, towels were in short supply. Internet quality was very, very poor in both rooms. The beach Tiki bar was overpriced. On the plus side, the staff was nice, valet parking was reasonable at $7/day, the pool was OK, the view from the room was nice and we managed to have a good time anyway. Some other reviewers complained about bedbugs- we did not see any evidence in either room and I know what to check for. It's possible they are there but sometimes people who have bad experiences with staff in a hotel will post retaliatory reviews like "bedbugs here" so take everything you read with a grain of salt. In conclusion, the stay was acceptable and (barely) met minimum standards but primarily due to the sad state of the kitchen and the horrible internet, we will seek another hotel when we come back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The nearby Thai-To-Go restaurant featured excellent Thai food at a reasonable price for pickup or delivery.

Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John Toma
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Jan 1, 2013

Worst ever

This is the worst hotel experience we have ever had even though we have stayed in hotels all over the world. We first had to change rooms because the air conditioner was extremely noisy and dripped water on the floor, the microwave was unplugged and could not be plugged in without unplugging the TV or refrigerator. Our new room had peeling paint, a single towel bar in the bathroom which was broken, no bath linens, a bed mattress that sagged toward the middle, and a door to the adjoining room that allowed us to hear every conversation. After being awakens several times in the night due to noise from neighboring rooms we finally got up early and checked out even though we had prepaid for another night. Other things in the resort/hotel we defective and in poor condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Unless you were willing to eat at the resort/hotel restaurant, there were very few restaurants including fast food within walking or short driving distance.

Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donna N
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Jan 1, 2013

Disappointing Weekend

This hotel is so rundown! It hasn't been updated in 25 years, which was when we last stayed there. The only place to have berakfast and lunch is outside so you are out of luck if the weather is bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sugu
Business
Flint
Dec 21, 2012

Great ocean view

Excellent view of the Ocean! Great food and excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Theworstever
Business
ft lauderdale
Dec 21, 2012

The worst travel experience - ever! 3rd World...

The valet parking had our car towed after telling me to park the car myself in the place. We had to call the police after feeling our physical safety was in jeopardy. Had to pay towing bill after calling the police. Staff was abusive, used foul language and treats. The interior hallways looked like the worst college dorm. Cannot say enough about what a dump this place is!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
samiam68
Business
Chicago, IL.
Dec 20, 2012

Fl trip.

Parking, good. Food really good and priced fair. (we had dinner and breakfast) Kitchen / bar areas looked really clean and tidy. great location and views. Hotel next door had Jet skies for rent with kayaks and other stuff. (and didnt charge $5.00 to sit in a hotel chair on beach) Room, VERY BAD. Dirty floor and trim, (white trim is nice, but not nice if its dirty and looks to have never been cleaned) bathroom door broke, hotel room phone broke. Broken floor tiles with exposed rough sharp edges. Questionable electric (holes drilled through walls to power the fridge and micro wave (both dirty) Pool outside bar area and beach were nice and clean. Very Good bar outside staff, however we waited 10 minutes for the front check in guy to show up. Not a good image for any hotel. (seen him as a regular in rear bar area after check in and throughout night, not at station or even in the hotel area, in uniform "Drinking and smoking" off and on.) Our entire 2nd floor wing, had a really strong, fresh weed-pot smell. It was kinda sad, this could be a really nice place to stay with the basic cleaning and repairs. It looked as if at least out room was recently re-done. Very Nice tiles, shower, vanities, lighting. Over all very nice material was used. HOWEVER it all looked like a 12 year old installed all of it. My 12 year old can paint better than the people whom did my room. On one wall alone there were over 8 big roller marks of the wall color on the ceiling. Very poor quality workmanship. I truly hope they didnt actually pay someone to perform the work. If they did and you are in construction, I assure you that you could get a lot of work there alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ELCL2012
Business
CT
Dec 12, 2012

Didn't even stay one night!!!!

Absolutely horrid. Was asked to check into a room that was not an efficiency....we paid for an efficiency. The clerk said well these are the only other rooms I have and gave us keys to two room to check out. One was worse than the other. Even though this was 11:30 at night, we left and called for a refund. We drove around in middle of the night looking for another place. Their website couldn't be more misleading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
I don't know
Business
chicago, illinois
Dec 10, 2012

hotel

not good. too much noise at front. Old - needs updating. The Tiki bar at the rear is well run.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laureano
Business
San Juan PR
Dec 6, 2012

Nightmare

The facility has poor maintenance, the manager did not honor our reservation. The manager was at the front desk on the phone in a personal conversation (which I over heard) while I was waiting for service. No bellboy service nor a luggage cart were available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top