$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Ocean Manor Beach Resort

3 stars
4040 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
345 reviews
Wonderful Stay Right on the Beach

I've been to Ocean Manor a few times over the years and its always a safe, clean place to stay... See full review

  • Kiki 0219
  • Nov 21, 2014
great location! at great price!

I have a great deal ,but when I got there it was more than I expected.the place is great located... See full review

  • gabe marin
  • Nov 16, 2014
Nightly entertainment, a lively tiki bar and residential amenities

Ocean Manor Beach Resort channels the best of the South Florida lifestyle, from the beachside tiki bar to the luxury penthouses with sweeping views of the skyline and Atlantic Ocean. Long before a multimillion dollar makeover, the hotel also hosted A-listers like Johnny Carson and Eric Clapton. The property keeps leisure at the forefront, entertaining guests with nightly entertainment and multiple lodging options equipped with kitchenettes, kitchens and terraces for soaking up the seaside vistas.

Highlights
  • Fort Lauderdale hotel with outdoor pool and nightly entertainment
  • Penthouses with spa baths, balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows
  • Some rooms with kitchenettes and kitchens
  • Tiki bar and sushi lounge
Rooms

Ocean Manor Beach Resort rooms treat guests to residential amenities like mini refrigerators, microwaves and views of the skyline or Atlantic Ocean via balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows. An emphasis on heavy woods, from sleigh bed frames to hardwood floors, creates traditional style. Suites are tailored for families and big groups with the addition of kitchenettes, lounging and dining areas. For VIP luxury, reserve a penthouse suite, which lives like a mini mansion in the sky with high-end furniture, gourmet kitchens, spa baths and expansive terraces with dining tables.

Dining

The seaside setting plays a major influence on food at Ocean Manor Beach Resort, where guests choose from the laid-back Bamboo Beach Tiki Bar & Café or the lounge-restaurant hybrid, Tokyo Blue. Both serve a heavy dose of ambiance, with the former dishing out casual beach fare, tropical drinks and live entertainment nightly. Sushi bar, Tokyo Blue, brims with eye candy, from the 1,200-gallon aquarium to the illuminated LED glass columns.

Recreation

The outdoor pool turns into a daily--and nightly--party at Ocean Manor Beach Resort as sunbathers, families and the happy hour folks gather on the sundeck or at the tiki bar. When the itch for adventure kicks in, guests take advantage of close proximity to the water with sightseeing cruises, snorkeling and diving excursions.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Miami International Airport (29.1 mi/46.8 km)
Attractions
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Las Olas Riverfront (4.9 mi/8 km)
  • Port Everglades (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • Broward County Convention Center (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (17.6 mi/28.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (28.3 mi/45.5 km)
Business
  • Banquet and meeting space
  • Free Wi-Fi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ocean Manor Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Ocean Manor Beach Resort Rooms

Efficiency Room with Full Kitchen
The Efficiency Room features one king sized bed or 2 double sized beds. Also fully equipped with full kitchen.
One Bedroom Suite
Full sized apartment with fully equipped kitchen and king bed w/ sleeper sofa.
Two Bedroom Suite
Full sized apartment with fully equipped kitchen, king bed and 2 doubles.
Hotel Room
The Hotel Room features One King Sized Bed or 2 Double Sized Beds. The rooms are spacious and equipped with standard amenities, In Room Refrigerator, Microwave and they offer breathtaking views of the city and the Atlantic Ocean.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.8 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 3.1 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.9 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 4.3 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 4.5 mi
  • New River: 4.7 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.8 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.9 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.9 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 5 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 5 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 5.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 6 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 9.8 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 14 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.7 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.9 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 26.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For meetings and events that leave an impression, Ocean Manor Resort has a special allure. From small meeting rooms to grand-scale conference centers, the hotel brings every event a dedicated focus and unbridled enthusiasm. Whether you're planning a company strategy session, an intimate cocktail party or a celebratory banquet, you'll always have our undivided attention. It's easy to plan and book your group and meeting events with Ocean Manor Hotel. Just ask for assistance from our friendly representatives. They'll be happy to help you make whatever arrangements you need for your next gathering.

Dining

Rumor Has It
Dine with a view of the ocean, this magnificent seafood restaurant offers only the freshest quality seafood's and meats available.
Beach Cafe
Newly remodeled to give you the beach atmosphere. Only the best ingredients are used to provide fresh quality food. The menu ranges from delicious homemade pizza to mouth watering black angus burgers. We also offer daily fresh fish and salad specials. If you need a pick me up, just order a cappuccino or espresso made from fine Italian coffee beans.
Seattle's Best
Fresly Brewed Starbucks Coffee conveniently located in our Lobby
Bamboo Beach Tiki Bar
Also newly remodeled, just a step from the sand We offer daily drink specials and live entertainment on the weekends. Enjoy the music while you sit by the beach sipping on a tropical drink.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (345)

Ratings and reviews for Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
345 out of 345
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.7

35% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelleykelly
Business
Jackson, MI
Apr 3, 2013

Would NOT stay here again

I really don't know how this place passes a health and safety code. My friend stayed here two years ago and said it was rough but not that bad... I would never recommend this place to anyone. We stayed in room 501 and the smell alone was awful. There was stagnent water in the dishwasher and the sink in the bathroom would back up and not drain. I wore my socks all the time because the floor was dirty. We bought cleaning supplies and tried to make the best of it. They had painted the kitchen in efforts to make it better but the counter was sticky and I wouldn't use the mix matched dishes. The beach and location was good. We are not picky people we enjoy camping and the outdoors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shooters and the water Taxi are great. If you have teens you need to go to the beach down by Los olas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LNick
Business
Newark Ohio
Mar 8, 2013

Very depressing vacaion

first room they gave us was 2 very small beds. Literally u felt springs when u sat on bed. Room so small and very old furniture. Door was all banged up and did not shut all the way. They gave us a second room and it was much bigger, 2 rooms, but that is all I can say. Very dirty comforter on bed. There was a small kitchen with holes in wall. Very old furniture.I felt very uncomfortable to sit on the couch. There was a small bed in a corner behind the couch. Bathroom wall had mold on bottom by floor. Our room number was actually written in black marker on the door. Would never recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take bus or trolley

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
renewed traveler
Business
Ann Arbor,Michigan
Feb 21, 2013

over rated

Very dull, lacks luster and appeal However, Tokyo Blue which is located in the Resort was its saving grace

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stay home next year
Business
melville,new york
Feb 12, 2013

RENOVATIONS

We beat the snow out early and got to the hotel,Friday at 3 pm The first room we were given had a broken vanity, cigarete butts on the balcony and a bad mold filled cieling, after a 2 hour wait at the desk we were treated to room number 2 with a broken bathroom pocket door stuck almost sideways, not really movable,the bathroom was dirty the balcony door had no way to lock it, i called you and asked for help . After a three way call you and i were guarenteed a renovated room, if we could wait till the following day. We stayed. the next day we were sent, at noon with all our stuff to the 9th floor ocean view. Better, but the tub had been repainted and was peeling badly, there was water stains on the ceiling and all around the ac duct, which were filled with dirt and dust and mold. Oh yes, it gets better, the suite next door, adjoing doors separtated the rooms , had a bachelor party till 3am fun fun. We complained at the desk and were told they had untill !!pm . We tried to call down then but the phone had no chord we found it under the bed the next morning. the refridge was filled with ice and left unplugged so there was water all over the floor. we called the desk , the sent someone who politely plugged it in and said here is your problem. We saw some beautiful rooms when walking the halls . alas they were not for customers.We went to lie at the beach and use the tiki bar but we spent more time arguing , waiting and cleaning up water. By the way i found someone who worked there who fixed the bathroom door for 20 dollars on the first night so we could use it.He was there to fix the tv , which you needed to broken remotes to work. tape was holding them together. Thanks for the help Mary Spira

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

check out the rooms before bring the luggage up

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bill the imp
Business
northbridge ,ma
Feb 6, 2013

you get what you pay for

The hotel desciption online said they were renovating the hotel.. From what I heard from other guest they have been saying that for about 10 years now. our room was supposed to be one of the renovated rooms but really didn't appear to be finished. with that said, the room was clean and the location was good and you were on the beach. The restaunt and Tiki bar were really good. Upon checking out ythe desk clerk offered no sympathy for the inadequate room. I guess they are tired of hearing the comlaints. we did get a really good rate on the room ... so would I stay there again?? for the same good rate maybe ..but wouldn't reccomend the place to someone I was trying to impress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

trulux restraunt.. great service, great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Extremely Unhappy Cust
Business
Iowa
Feb 5, 2013

RUN AWAY - DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

The best thing about this hotel was their website. I'm not sure where the pictures were taken, but it definitely wasn't here! Our room number was written on the trim above our door in marker. It was too late to back out since this was a pre-paid reservation. Our air conditioner controller was also written with marker and had two settings - on and off. They had unplugged the refrigerator so there was water all over the floor when we arrived. If you are lucky enough to have towels and wash cloths in your room, I would recommend that you hide them from housekeeping because these are the only ones you will receive unless you go downstairs and beg for more. The beds were uncomfortable and appeared to be wrapped in newspaper and plastic from the sounds they made every time you rolled over. On a brighter note, the tiki bar had excellent drinks and food. However, they have no clue how to host a super bowl party. They didn't even start to hook up the TV projector until after the game had started. The best part of this stay was checking out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuLu54
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Feb 4, 2013

Ocean Manor OK for those on a budget

Bed and pillows very comfortable . Hotel is in process of renovating. The Tokoyo Blue Restaurant there was Outstanding! Pool hours were restrictive 0900-2000 & no hot tub. It is an OK place to stay but donlt know if I would want to stay a week there. . . . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelpal22
Business
Dearborn, Michigan
Jan 26, 2013

Dirtiest Hotel Ever!!!!!

Let me start by saying that I'm writing this review with my middle finger. This hotel was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in all my years of travel!! The sheets look like they have not been cleaned in over 5 years (no exaggeration). Don't even bother taking a shower! The water and the shower reeked of filth! The room was so moldy you can smell it out the door!!The whole hotel smelled moldy and disgusting!!!! I can not stress enough how nasty this place is!! If you have any shred of dignity in your body and care about your health in any way, you will stay clear of this place!! We came back from our trip and my family and I were covered, and I literally mean COVERED in bed bug bites!! We had to cut out hair from what the water did it, and now seeking medical treatment for the bites!! The bed bugs were so extreme that they came back with us and we are also in the process of scrubbing down everything we own!! WORST WORST WORSTTTT EXPERIENCE EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
retired edtech
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 20, 2013

Needs updated

The door frame was not painted and the room # was above the door and looked like it was written there with a marker! The floors were very shiny marble and when you have just taken a shower you can slide and fall quite easily. Rugs were only in the hall. We had to beg for toilet paper and towels each day. The only store in the lobby had locally created food. The same breakfast sandwiches were out for three of the 5 days. We went to Dunkin Donuts for coffee because the coffee was bitter at this store, like it had been sitting there for a while!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ocean Manor Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C Anderson
Business
Kansas City, KS
Jan 17, 2013

What you'd expect for the price, not bad

For a place on the beach, it's pretty darn good. I think most of the bad reviews are from people that don't understand what a 'nice hotel' costs in FLL. We had a great time, the tiki bar is awesome, and the club was bumping Fri & Sat night (if that's your thing.) The staff was nice, and accommodating. Only complaint I had with our room was that the door had obviously been kicked in in the past and wasn't the most secure thing I've ever seen. We just hid valuables really well and didn't have any problems at all. We really liked the Galt Ocean Mile area... one thing I wasn't aware of is that you can legally drink on the beach in this area because they are private beaches owned by those hotels. Unlike the main FLL Beach area where drinking is technically illegal and during peak season you will eventually be hassled. We will definitely be staying in the Galt Ocean Mile area again if we return to Lauderdale. It was great to be able to go snag a frozen cocktail at 1:30am and go jump straight in the ocean with it with no troubles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just north of the hotel a few blocks "country ham & eggs" had delicious breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top