Il Lugano Suite Hotel

5 stars
3333 NE 32nd Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
225 reviews
Luxury

This is a very luxurious hotel. Though a bit pricey, It was well worth the extra money. Everything... See full review

  • glglglglglg
  • Jun 9, 2014
Perfect Stay!

My boyfriend and I wanted to have a perfect one Night romantic get a away and let's just say Il... See full review

  • JessRiv
  • Jun 9, 2014

Il Lugano Hotel Fort Lauderdale features sprouting orchids, layered lighting and a chic black bar area. Expansive windows look out onto sparkling seascapes below, where the hotel's private yacht docks on the Intracoastal Waterway. There are Cadillac Esplanades ready to take you anywhere within a three-mile radius, and the Italian homemade pastas at Da Campo Osteria bring a taste of the Mediterranean to Florida - chefs are even willing to demonstrate their mozzarella-pulling techniques so you can take a little of their expertise home with you.

Key facts
  • 104 smoke-free guestrooms
  • Limo and town car service
  • Free Wi-Fi 
  • Business and translation service
  • Dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Valet parking
  • Pets allowed
  • Steam room and fitness studio
  • Accessibility for the hearing impaired
  • Outdoor swimming pool
Neighborhood
The hotel rests in Fort Lauderdale's premium Isles neighborhood, where the canals of the Intracoastal waterway lead to beautiful waterside residences. Water taxis can deliver you from Il Lugano Suite Hotel north to the all-American restaurants of Commercial Street, or right down to Las Olas Boulevard, where you will find year-round events from art festivals to food and wine fairs. The area is also a golfer's utopia, with the huge greens at Coral Ridge Country Club across the water.
Hints and tips
LGBT travelers will be pleased with the hotel's TAG approval rating from 2013 for its approach to equality.

Il Lugano also has an ideal location for Fort Lauderdale events like March's Pridefest and October's Gay & Lesbian Film Festival, as well as being near to the LGBT rights museum Stonewall.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Il Lugano Suite Hotel Rooms

Accommodations
One bedroom suites up to 900 sq. ft. entertainment suites with expansive balconies catering up to 50 people. Studio Deluxe Suites over 650 sq. ft. All suites offer full kitchens, washer/dryer, private balcony with stunning Intracoastal and ocean views.

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Phone service
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
International direct dial
Smoke detectors

Hotel Map

26.1693 -80.103
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 11.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.1 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 2.5 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 3.4 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 3.7 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 3.8 mi
  • New River: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.1 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.2 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.2 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.4 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 2.1 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 2.3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 2.5 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 3.4 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 3.7 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 3.8 mi
  • New River: 4.1 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 4.1 mi
  • Stranahan House: 4.1 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 4.2 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 4.2 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 4.4 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 4.5 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 5.3 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 5.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 7.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 7.8 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 8.6 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 10.3 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 13.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.4 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 22.4 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 25.8 mi

Dining

da Campo Osteria
Chef Todd English has created a menu featuring handcrafted pastas and inventive wood grilled flatbreads. The house specialty is English’s signature mozzarella menu - diners may choose from a variety of delectable seasonal toppings.
il Lugano Wine Bar
Enjoy fine wines, cocktails, coffees, and a selection of light fare from da Campo Osteria by Todd English in this lobby bar. Open daily from 6 to 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.9
Location:
4
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul2013 lake
Central Florida
Jul 1, 2013

Great view

Great view from our room. Friendly staff. Only major complain was that parking was $25

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach across the street

Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cold weather man
Pittsburgh
Jun 27, 2013

Great Hotel

I stayed for a few nights and I hate to let others know but this is a gem of a hotel. Every staff person I came into contact with was nice and friendly. The room was clean and spacious. I look forward to a future visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul2013 lake
Central Florida
Jun 23, 2013

Beautiful view

Got an upgrade because of our honeymoon. Add $25 to the price for parking. Friendly staff for the most part. Big room. Costs a lot, and would only do it again for special occasions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby beach

Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miami to DC Traveler
Alexandria, VA
Jun 20, 2013

A Terrible Experience and Some Real Problems

Oh where to begin...this was an absolute disaster from the very beginning to the bitter end. It started with a late night arrival (guaranteed reservations) when we were told that 2/3 of our party (we had 3 rooms booked) did not have rooms; the front desk clerk used the excuse of the rain storms, but we later learned it was a doctors' convention and they overbooked the rooms. The rest of our family group had to be relocated to the Marriott which was about 20 minutes away. Because they are from Brazil and do not understand perfect english, we all had to go to ensure they were checked in (promised by the front desk at Il Lugano that everything was arranged). Good that the Americans went, as nothing was arranged and the Marriott folks were none too happy!! Well after a considerable time there and getting our foreign family situated and a 20 minute drive back, it was almost 2am by the time we got to our booked "suite" at Il Lugano, which wasn't a suite at all. But again...promises, promises. We were to be moved the following morning to the room we booked and paid for and the rest of our party would be upgraded as well...hhhmmmm....fool me once....(you know how this goes). Needless to say, nothing was ready and the excuses continued. Oh, don't get me wrong, everyone was quite pleasant, but at some point pleasant doesn't make up for lost vacation days because of constant moving from hotel to hotel and waiting for rooms....the rooms were not even ready until 5pm!!! How ridiculous!! I have read reviews here about slow housekeeping and rooms not ready...management needs a serious wakeup call. Then, after we return from shopping, remember I am with Brazilians, the rooms were finally ready, so everyone could go change and relax for a few minutes before dinner. OOOOPPPS, did I mention no upgrade, as promised??? Well, normally I would just blow that off, but after the lie about why rooms were not available at check-in and then waiting for another day for rooms, I thought this time I am holding them to their word!! In the end, one of the rooms was upgraded. Now let's go back to my room, which was booked and paid as a suite...what we ended up in was an "accessible" room. Now I have been in accessible rooms before and they are ok...not this one. The bathroom had metal equipment everywhere and flowed right into the shower with a huge bench. So you had to sit to shower and the water flowed all into the bathroom. Very poor architecture!! The shower was hand-held and the mirror was fine for someone in a chair, but for a 6'2" guy trying to comb or shave...not very compatible. Then came the room service. Simple enough, continental and 2 egg breakfast with bacon, 2 OJ's. They managed to mess that up 2 days in a row and even had the nerve to call back to have us re-sign the bill for their records...really????!!! And they ran out of OJ....again....REALLY???!!! Well, if that wasn't enough on our last evening we returned from a day of shopping, remember Brazilians, to find that both the bar and restaurant had closed well before 10pm. OK, I understand that if I am staying at a low end hotel, but this is rated as a fine hotel. Completely unacceptable!! Overall, I am quite ok with people making money, but not at the expense of customer service. Hire more housekeepers if that is what it takes to get rooms ready before dinner time and hire staff to man the bar and restaurant...yes, even if it is not busy. That is what a "fine" hotel does!!! This place gets a 2 star over just 1 star rating, only because the rooms are nice in general and the staff is pleasant, even when their hotel is failing its patrons. However, I will never return. It was a disastrous stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tamara the Cruiser
Seattle
Apr 29, 2013

Great Place!

We really enjoyed our time at Il Lugano! The staff were attentive and very friendly. The food at the restaurant was wonderful. Views from the room were great. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doyle141 Family
New York
Apr 10, 2013

Luxury off the beaten path

This is a fabulous hotel. Our family of four (including 9 and 11 year old girls) had a wonderful time at this upscale hotel. Our suite included a washer and dryer, kitchenette and two queen beds. A balcony overlooked the Atlantic Ocean, although next time we'd opt for the inland waterway side and its glorious sunsets. The rooms appear newly refurbished and are in all respects modern, spacious, clean and very comfortable. The hotel is three blocks from the ocean, but a five block walk to the beach via public access. The surrounding businesses are a bit run down, and some bars can be noisy at night with outdoor loud-speakers going until 2 in the morning. Thus, the location rates only a 3 of 5. Metered parking is plentiful and way cheaper than the hotel's valet parking ($30 per day!), but the metermaids sit in the lots 7 days a week at 7:59 am ready to issue tickets at 8:00 am to those with expired meters. This is the reason for an amenities score of 4 of 5. By the way, the back of the hotel that borders the waterway has extra large caban chairs on raised platforms to wath the sunsets, and the pool and hot tub were great for kids and parents alike. Its a beautiful setting that could not go unmentioned. Bottomline: I'm not easily impressed, but this place is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Song Sushi is a 4 minute walk and serves wonderful sushi.

Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gdbrp
virginia beach , va
Feb 15, 2013

ft lauderdale secret value

wonderful experience. clean hotel and grounds, friendly staff was very attentive and helpful regarding the entire area.location is central to many areas of interest, restaurants, etc., housekeeping was great. need a larger pool. we enjoyed our 5 day stay. thanks, and we will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Motti and Bina G
Lakewood NJ
Feb 8, 2013

Wonderful Stay!!!!!

I cant begin to describe my unbelievale experience during my stay at Il Lugano. The staff was extremely nice and extremely helpful !!!. i recommend this hotel to everybody!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sally22029
Ashland, ky
Jan 14, 2013

I'll be back!!

The concierge was wonderful, sincere, efficient and in charge. The room was large and clean with full kitchen, table and chairs plus washer/ dryer and nice seating area. The bar was small but complete... Serving dinner when the restaurant was closed on Monday . Atmosphere was quiet, private luxury as this is residential/ hotel. No running children in site. Waterfront. Our visit was early January and temps were 70-80's . We walked to restaurants and to the water taxi which took us everywhere we wanted for one price all day and evening. A spa is the only thing lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the water taxi . Fun ride touring the intercostal waterway while drivers give you interesting info on the yachts, homes, and their famous owners...plus..you can get off at 10 stops for art fairs, bars, restaurants and shopping. The ride home at night ( by 10 pm) is pretty.

Review of Il Lugano Suite Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chrismartelca
Montréal
Jan 14, 2013

2nd time and very happy to come back!

A real 5 stars hotel with VERY nice staff that are ALWAYS nice and smiling. I seriously recommend this hotel! I'll come back next year for a 3rd time I am sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top