$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

3 stars
View map of 520 N. Birch Road, Ft.Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
25 reviews
Great value

The hotel was OK but for an older crowd it was a gay resort but seemed to be older couples. I'm... See full review

  • Scott J.
  • Feb 20, 2015
Good location for honeymoon

We enjoyed our honeymoon at Cheston House. There were many positives and only a few negatives for... See full review

  • Michael
  • Apr 27, 2015
At Cheston House Men's Resort in Ft. Lauderdale, our commitment to you is to provide unparalleled service in an immaculate, warm, gay exclusive, friendly atmosphere at reasonable rates. The friendliest staff in Ft. Lauderdale would like to welcome you to our special gay oasis Ft. Lauderdale's Cheston House Men's Resort. From the moment you step in to our private, tropical, CLOTHING OPTIONAL courtyard, you will be embraced by unmatched hospitality, immaculate lush surroundings, and an easy camaraderie unsurpassed in any Ft. Lauderdale men's resort. Each of our 14 spacious accommodations including guestrooms, suites and apartments has been lovingly redecorated in what we like to call Ft. Lauderdale tropical gay motif. Whether you choose a guestroom, suite or full apartment not a detail has been overlooked in bringing you all the comforts of home.

Other amenities include Continental breakfast, Extensive Video Library, Extensive Reading Library, Heated Pool,Internet Access.

LATE ARRIVALS:(after 6:00pm) Guest MUST contact the property directly for Specific Arrival Instructions.

THIS IS A MEN ONLY RESORT! NO CHILDREN ALLOWED.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cheston House Gay Men's Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Cheston House Gay Men's Resort Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment
Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment features: 1 King Bed and Queen Sleeper Sofa (An Adjoining Deluxe Room available), Central Air Conditioning, Alarm Clock/Radio/CD, TV/VCR, Telephone with Voice Mail and Data Port, In-Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Full Bath, Separte Bedroom, Full Kitchen with Microwave and Coffee Maker, Abundant Closets, Living Room / Dining Room.
Suite
Suite features: One King bed (An adjoining Standard Guestroom available), Air-Conditioning, Alarm Clock/Radio/CD,TV/VCR, Telephone with Voice Mail and Data Port, In-Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Full Bath, Coffee Maker, Refrigerator, Abundant Closets, Separate Sitting Room.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 12.9 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.5 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
No Meeting Facilities available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 25
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Good location for honeymoon

We enjoyed our honeymoon at Cheston House. There were many positives and only a few negatives for staying at the 3 star resort. The amenities were really good and we loved most of what the resort had to offer. There are obvious improvements required in the accommodation area but you get the feel that the staff are on the case to make the required changes. Overall it was a pleasant stay and we enjoyed our time at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DoozyLI
Business
Long Island, NY
Feb 15, 2014

Sweet little oasis in the heart of Central Beach

Very quiet and laid back...if you want excitement, Cheston is not for you. But if you want a beautifully landscaped, tranquil and friendly place to unwind and forget the outside world, you've found a little gem. Cheston was clean, well run and a great value. The pool was refreshing after a day at the beach. Cheston seems to cater to an older crowd, which was fine...I hate being the oldest person in a room, so it made me feel quite young!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sebastian Street, the gay beach, is just down Ocean Boulevard. Don't miss it!

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAChicago
Business
Chicago
Nov 16, 2013

Quiet place

The hotel was quiet and relaxing. It's close to the beach, has a nice pool & adequate facilities for it's size. The rooms are well kept, but could use a bit of attention on their state of repair. All in all a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
plya
Business
long island ny
Feb 3, 2012

great place for a vacation

beautiful apartment, and beautiful grounds 2 blocks from the beach. the staff at the cheston house were great always there to meet your needs. the next time we go to ft lauderdale we will be staying at the cheston house they truely make you feel at home. we give it 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
plya
Business
long island ny
Feb 3, 2012

Winter getaway

Ideal location, private tropical paradise, beautifully decorated apartment and immacuate. Wonderful staff and host. Cant wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TomGayNYC
Business
New York, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Clean simple rooms and friendly staff.

Clean hotel and friendly staff. This is a no frills hotel. The breakfast and happy hour was very marginal compared to other gay mens resorts that I have stayed at in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TexasCoach
Business
Dallas
Jun 25, 2009

very hospitable

Small intamate place with lots of friendly people to visit with from all over the world. Pool was great, beach was close, and attractions were easy to find. The gay bars were about a $15 dollar cab ride away but always busy with lots of friendly people to meet willing to give information about activities and things to do. I love the ability to swim in the nude with like minded people without everything being about sex (although it was available). The staff was very friendly and willing to help with all of your vacation needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car and designate a driver

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Windsor
Sep 23, 2008

Very friendly staff & close to the beach!

The Cheston House Resort is well maintained. THe room was very nice with a king sized bed, separate bath, refrigerator & microwave. The TV was a bit older and on the small size, but I didn't go to Florida to watch TV. I went to Florida to enjoy laying naked by the pool which I was able to do at this resort and to lay on the beach, enjoy the surf and read my book. Which also worked out well as the hotel is just 2 blocks from the beach! The staff was all very friendly and very attentive to my needs. I had a very nice, relaxing time at The Cheston House Resort and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top