$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

3 stars
View map of 520 N. Birch Road, Ft.Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
25 reviews
Great value

The hotel was OK but for an older crowd it was a gay resort but seemed to be older couples. I'm... See full review

  • Scott J.
  • Feb 20, 2015
Good location for honeymoon

We enjoyed our honeymoon at Cheston House. There were many positives and only a few negatives for... See full review

  • Michael
  • Apr 27, 2015
At Cheston House Men's Resort in Ft. Lauderdale, our commitment to you is to provide unparalleled service in an immaculate, warm, gay exclusive, friendly atmosphere at reasonable rates. The friendliest staff in Ft. Lauderdale would like to welcome you to our special gay oasis Ft. Lauderdale's Cheston House Men's Resort. From the moment you step in to our private, tropical, CLOTHING OPTIONAL courtyard, you will be embraced by unmatched hospitality, immaculate lush surroundings, and an easy camaraderie unsurpassed in any Ft. Lauderdale men's resort. Each of our 14 spacious accommodations including guestrooms, suites and apartments has been lovingly redecorated in what we like to call Ft. Lauderdale tropical gay motif. Whether you choose a guestroom, suite or full apartment not a detail has been overlooked in bringing you all the comforts of home.

Other amenities include Continental breakfast, Extensive Video Library, Extensive Reading Library, Heated Pool,Internet Access.

LATE ARRIVALS:(after 6:00pm) Guest MUST contact the property directly for Specific Arrival Instructions.

THIS IS A MEN ONLY RESORT! NO CHILDREN ALLOWED.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cheston House Gay Men's Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Cheston House Gay Men's Resort Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment
Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment features: 1 King Bed and Queen Sleeper Sofa (An Adjoining Deluxe Room available), Central Air Conditioning, Alarm Clock/Radio/CD, TV/VCR, Telephone with Voice Mail and Data Port, In-Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Full Bath, Separte Bedroom, Full Kitchen with Microwave and Coffee Maker, Abundant Closets, Living Room / Dining Room.
Suite
Suite features: One King bed (An adjoining Standard Guestroom available), Air-Conditioning, Alarm Clock/Radio/CD,TV/VCR, Telephone with Voice Mail and Data Port, In-Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Full Bath, Coffee Maker, Refrigerator, Abundant Closets, Separate Sitting Room.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 12.9 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.5 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
No Meeting Facilities available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 25
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yukie
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Wonderful location

Very clean, older guest house. Met some very nice guests who return year after year. I would definitely return as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott J.
Business
blairsville
Jan 12, 2015

Great for price

Was OK not all I was expecting but great for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David mid
Business
Australia
Aug 27, 2013

Totally gay friendly

I stayed five nights and every night was great. Chuck was very helpful and efficient in everything he did for you. Even though it was the slow season, the guests there were friendly and sociable. The pool was pristine and in use constantly. I'd definitely go back there again. Thanks you guys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casablanca restaurant

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel NYC
Business
New York City
Nov 14, 2012

Secluded, Yet Near the Beach and Restaurants

Checked in early Saturday evening. Staff offered me a cold beer while I was checked in. Room was immaculate and better than I expected. Many a guest were outgoing and friendly. Spent time nightswimming whilst getting to know the other guest. Extremely welcoming atmosphere. Just a five minute walk to the beach. Fifteen minute walk to the shops and restaurants along US 1A/along the beach. Luxury hotels and restaurants a few steps away from this little bit of paradise. The pool, and all of the guest house, was extremely clean and refreshing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk south along US 1A about 10-15 minutes to find shops, bars, and restaurants. While you'll find several chain, touristy and suburban type places the clientele was friendly. Ask the hotel patrons for more gay-centric locations; just a cab ride away.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Jun 23, 2012

Great Gay Hotel

Awesome! Great service and hotel in heart of Fort Lauderdale. Loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania.
Jun 9, 2011

Very nice resort

The Cheston House is a very clean, convenient, friendly place. That's what I was looking for. The room was very clean, the personnel were friendly and helpful, the pool and grounds were well taken care of and all of the guests were friendly and outgoing. The beach is just a block and a half away and bars and restaurants are within walking distance (10 to 15 minutes).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Casablanca restaurant is a short 10 minute walk and they have a fabulous happy hour at their terrace bar from 4 to 7 every weekday.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 15, 2010

Best Men's Resort Stay I have had

I have stayed at number of men's guest houses around the country. This is one of the best. The staff was incredible. Friendly and helpful does not say enough about them. I have been in places where it was an effort for the staff to even say hello or smile. They went out of their way to make suggestions and give me everything I needed to have a great stay. I also found that this friendlest spilled over to the guest. I had a great time laughing and talking with the other men who were staying here. Clean, friendly, nice, close to the beach. What more could anyone ask for on a trip to Fort Lauderdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to experience the gay Ft Lauderdale night life, you need to rent a car or be willing to pay for taxis. ALL of the men's guest house at the beach are not close enough to FT Lauderdale night life. This to me is not a downfall of the Cheston. It is just the way it is in Fort Lauderdale.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palm springs , ca.
Aug 4, 2009

great place to stay

This hotel was nice , clean and in a great location,. My room looked like it had been remodeled and look really nice, sheets and blankets were nice and new. the only minor inconvenience was the A/C unit, a bit noisy. Over all a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Apr 1, 2008

Good value

The clientele is a little older but the value is good. The host is very hospitable, the rooms are clean. Wish there were a hottub but the pool was heated and very, very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top