$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

3 stars
520 N. Birch Road, Ft.Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
21 reviews
Quiet, respectable gay resort

I stayed at Cheston House for about 10 days and absolutely loved it. It was in the summer, so there... See full review

  • FTLover
  • Jun 17, 2014
An excellent choice

Huge room, nice pool, very quiet, with a friendly staff. It's true that it's not the newest of... See full review

  • WoofableNYC
  • Jun 9, 2014
At Cheston House Men's Resort in Ft. Lauderdale, our commitment to you is to provide unparalleled service in an immaculate, warm, gay exclusive, friendly atmosphere at reasonable rates. The friendliest staff in Ft. Lauderdale would like to welcome you to our special gay oasis Ft. Lauderdale's Cheston House Men's Resort. From the moment you step in to our private, tropical, CLOTHING OPTIONAL courtyard, you will be embraced by unmatched hospitality, immaculate lush surroundings, and an easy camaraderie unsurpassed in any Ft. Lauderdale men's resort. Each of our 14 spacious accommodations including guestrooms, suites and apartments has been lovingly redecorated in what we like to call Ft. Lauderdale tropical gay motif. Whether you choose a guestroom, suite or full apartment not a detail has been overlooked in bringing you all the comforts of home.

Other amenities include Continental breakfast, Extensive Video Library, Extensive Reading Library, Heated Pool,Internet Access.

LATE ARRIVALS:(after 6:00pm) Guest MUST contact the property directly for Specific Arrival Instructions.

THIS IS A MEN ONLY RESORT! NO CHILDREN ALLOWED.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cheston House Gay Men's Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Cheston House Gay Men's Resort Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment
Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment features: 1 King Bed and Queen Sleeper Sofa (An Adjoining Deluxe Room available), Central Air Conditioning, Alarm Clock/Radio/CD, TV/VCR, Telephone with Voice Mail and Data Port, In-Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Full Bath, Separte Bedroom, Full Kitchen with Microwave and Coffee Maker, Abundant Closets, Living Room / Dining Room.
Suite
Suite features: One King bed (An adjoining Standard Guestroom available), Air-Conditioning, Alarm Clock/Radio/CD,TV/VCR, Telephone with Voice Mail and Data Port, In-Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Full Bath, Coffee Maker, Refrigerator, Abundant Closets, Separate Sitting Room.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 12.9 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.5 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
No Meeting Facilities available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 21
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
5
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FTLover
Business
New Jersey
Jun 17, 2014

Quiet, respectable gay resort

I stayed at Cheston House for about 10 days and absolutely loved it. It was in the summer, so there were not as many people there but I was looking for a quieter gay getaway. It is clothing optional on the first floor, but it was not a hookup fest and in my opinion it is very appropriate for monogamous couples who just want to socialize with other gay men. Chuck, the owner, was extremely helpful from giving me tips about local gay life to ordering delivery to the room. I had a regular room, not anything fancy. The room was comfortable and clean--but not luxurious--and the amenities in the room were very good. A sizable fridge, microwave, etc. Housekeeping was fairly diligent as well. If there were two things I would add to the place it is 1. An outdoor jacuzzi, like some other gay resorts on the beach have and 2. Heavier free weights in the exercise room (up to 50 lbs at least) for those of us who like to workout on vacation. However, these minor quibbles do not take away from the great experience. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

I would rent a car. You may feel isolated on the beach without one and there is so much to see in Fort Lauderdale/Wilton Manors for the gay traveler.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WoofableNYC
Business
New York, NY
Jun 9, 2014

An excellent choice

Huge room, nice pool, very quiet, with a friendly staff. It's true that it's not the newest of hotels, but it has been well cared-for. Great location: a block off the beach, a short walk from lots of restaurants and shops, and just far enough off the strip to be quiet and peaceful. Would definitely stay there again when in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeyDono2
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Feb 28, 2013

Very nice, but not what I was expecting.

The place was very clean, but the decor is outdated. While my stay was very nice, like staying at a friends apartment (deluxe suite), the clientele was more mature than I was anticipating. I felt like a young kid among them, and I'm 41. The continental breakfast is also lacking, not as nice as the average chain hotel. I was expecting more from a small gay owned B-N-B. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian Sunboi
Business
Guelph, Ontario Canada
Dec 10, 2012

Canadian Returns for second time!

Great service, staff very friendly and helpful, clean and comfy room. This was my second visit to Cheston House and I will be back. Location can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall and restaurants not too far away. Starbucks on the way to Gay Sebastian Beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BriGuyNY
Business
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2012

Cheston House

Gay, all male-clothing optional guest house in Ft Lauderdale for a mature group of men who are comfortable in their skin. Excellent surroundings, service and location ( 2 short blocks to beach, 10-15 minute drive to gaybars, establishments, and restuarants ). I got this last minute, and have NO REGRETS!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top