Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

3 stars
View map of 520 N. Birch Road, Ft.Lauderdale, FL 33304

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian Sunboi
Business
Guelph, Ontario Canada
Dec 10, 2012

Canadian Returns for second time!

Great service, staff very friendly and helpful, clean and comfy room. This was my second visit to Cheston House and I will be back. Location can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall and restaurants not too far away. Starbucks on the way to Gay Sebastian Beach!

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniel NYC
Business
New York City
Nov 14, 2012

Secluded, Yet Near the Beach and Restaurants

Checked in early Saturday evening. Staff offered me a cold beer while I was checked in. Room was immaculate and better than I expected. Many a guest were outgoing and friendly. Spent time nightswimming whilst getting to know the other guest. Extremely welcoming atmosphere. Just a five minute walk to the beach. Fifteen minute walk to the shops and restaurants along US 1A/along the beach. Luxury hotels and restaurants a few steps away from this little bit of paradise. The pool, and all of the guest house, was extremely clean and refreshing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk south along US 1A about 10-15 minutes to find shops, bars, and restaurants. While you'll find several chain, touristy and suburban type places the clientele was friendly. Ask the hotel patrons for more gay-centric locations; just a cab ride away.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Carolina
Jun 23, 2012

Great Gay Hotel

Awesome! Great service and hotel in heart of Fort Lauderdale. Loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BriGuyNY
Business
New York, NY
Mar 13, 2012

Cheston House

Gay, all male-clothing optional guest house in Ft Lauderdale for a mature group of men who are comfortable in their skin. Excellent surroundings, service and location ( 2 short blocks to beach, 10-15 minute drive to gaybars, establishments, and restuarants ). I got this last minute, and have NO REGRETS!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
plya
Business
long island ny
Feb 3, 2012

great place for a vacation

beautiful apartment, and beautiful grounds 2 blocks from the beach. the staff at the cheston house were great always there to meet your needs. the next time we go to ft lauderdale we will be staying at the cheston house they truely make you feel at home. we give it 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
plya
Business
long island ny
Feb 3, 2012

Winter getaway

Ideal location, private tropical paradise, beautifully decorated apartment and immacuate. Wonderful staff and host. Cant wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania.
Jun 9, 2011

Very nice resort

The Cheston House is a very clean, convenient, friendly place. That's what I was looking for. The room was very clean, the personnel were friendly and helpful, the pool and grounds were well taken care of and all of the guests were friendly and outgoing. The beach is just a block and a half away and bars and restaurants are within walking distance (10 to 15 minutes).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Casablanca restaurant is a short 10 minute walk and they have a fabulous happy hour at their terrace bar from 4 to 7 every weekday.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth
Oct 22, 2010

Cheston House

I was there for an interview in FLL, but thought to stay at a gay resort. The hotel was very cute, nice room, lighting was a little dim in the living room, but overall was a nice place to stay. A hot tub would of been nice, but they do have the clothing optioinal pool which was nice. They did have mainly older guests stay, however. Everyone was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 15, 2010

Best Men's Resort Stay I have had

I have stayed at number of men's guest houses around the country. This is one of the best. The staff was incredible. Friendly and helpful does not say enough about them. I have been in places where it was an effort for the staff to even say hello or smile. They went out of their way to make suggestions and give me everything I needed to have a great stay. I also found that this friendlest spilled over to the guest. I had a great time laughing and talking with the other men who were staying here. Clean, friendly, nice, close to the beach. What more could anyone ask for on a trip to Fort Lauderdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to experience the gay Ft Lauderdale night life, you need to rent a car or be willing to pay for taxis. ALL of the men's guest house at the beach are not close enough to FT Lauderdale night life. This to me is not a downfall of the Cheston. It is just the way it is in Fort Lauderdale.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TomGayNYC
Business
New York, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Clean simple rooms and friendly staff.

Clean hotel and friendly staff. This is a no frills hotel. The breakfast and happy hour was very marginal compared to other gay mens resorts that I have stayed at in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top