$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

3 stars
520 N. Birch Road, Ft.Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
30 reviews
Quiet, respectable gay resort

I stayed at Cheston House for about 10 days and absolutely loved it. It was in the summer, so there... See full review

  • FTLover
  • Jun 17, 2014
An excellent choice

Huge room, nice pool, very quiet, with a friendly staff. It's true that it's not the newest of... See full review

  • WoofableNYC
  • Jun 9, 2014
At Cheston House Men's Resort in Ft. Lauderdale, our commitment to you is to provide unparalleled service in an immaculate, warm, gay exclusive, friendly atmosphere at reasonable rates. The friendliest staff in Ft. Lauderdale would like to welcome you to our special gay oasis Ft. Lauderdale's Cheston House Men's Resort. From the moment you step in to our private, tropical, CLOTHING OPTIONAL courtyard, you will be embraced by unmatched hospitality, immaculate lush surroundings, and an easy camaraderie unsurpassed in any Ft. Lauderdale men's resort. Each of our 14 spacious accommodations including guestrooms, suites and apartments has been lovingly redecorated in what we like to call Ft. Lauderdale tropical gay motif. Whether you choose a guestroom, suite or full apartment not a detail has been overlooked in bringing you all the comforts of home.

Other amenities include Continental breakfast, Extensive Video Library, Extensive Reading Library, Heated Pool,Internet Access.

LATE ARRIVALS:(after 6:00pm) Guest MUST contact the property directly for Specific Arrival Instructions.

THIS IS A MEN ONLY RESORT! NO CHILDREN ALLOWED.

Cheston House Gay Men's Resort Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment
Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment features: 1 King Bed and Queen Sleeper Sofa (An Adjoining Deluxe Room available), Central Air Conditioning, Alarm Clock/Radio/CD, TV/VCR, Telephone with Voice Mail and Data Port, In-Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Full Bath, Separte Bedroom, Full Kitchen with Microwave and Coffee Maker, Abundant Closets, Living Room / Dining Room.
Suite
Suite features: One King bed (An adjoining Standard Guestroom available), Air-Conditioning, Alarm Clock/Radio/CD,TV/VCR, Telephone with Voice Mail and Data Port, In-Room Safe, Iron and Ironing Board, Full Bath, Coffee Maker, Refrigerator, Abundant Closets, Separate Sitting Room.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cheston House Gay Men's Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

26.1298 -80.1059
Area served
Ft. Lauderdale
Nearby airports
Ft. Lauderdale International Airport.
Area description
Convenient is the key word here. Just a few steps to stunning Ft. Lauderdale Beach, a short pleasant walk to Sebastian Street gay beach and just minutes to gay bars, restaurants, shopping, nightclubs, etc

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.3 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.6 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • New River: 1.4 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.4 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.4 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.4 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.7 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.8 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.4 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.8 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 12.9 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.5 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 23.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
No Meeting Facilities available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
plya
long island ny
Feb 3, 2012

great place for a vacation

beautiful apartment, and beautiful grounds 2 blocks from the beach. the staff at the cheston house were great always there to meet your needs. the next time we go to ft lauderdale we will be staying at the cheston house they truely make you feel at home. we give it 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
plya
long island ny
Feb 3, 2012

Winter getaway

Ideal location, private tropical paradise, beautifully decorated apartment and immacuate. Wonderful staff and host. Cant wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania.
Jun 9, 2011

Very nice resort

The Cheston House is a very clean, convenient, friendly place. That's what I was looking for. The room was very clean, the personnel were friendly and helpful, the pool and grounds were well taken care of and all of the guests were friendly and outgoing. The beach is just a block and a half away and bars and restaurants are within walking distance (10 to 15 minutes).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Casablanca restaurant is a short 10 minute walk and they have a fabulous happy hour at their terrace bar from 4 to 7 every weekday.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania.
Jun 9, 2011

Very nice resort

The Cheston House is a very clean, convenient, friendly place. That's what I was looking for. The room was very clean, the personnel were friendly and helpful, the pool and grounds were well taken care of and all of the guests were friendly and outgoing. The beach is just a block and a half away and bars and restaurants are within walking distance (10 to 15 minutes).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Casablanca restaurant is a short 10 minute walk and they have a fabulous happy hour at their terrace bar from 4 to 7 every weekday.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth
Oct 22, 2010

Cheston House

I was there for an interview in FLL, but thought to stay at a gay resort. The hotel was very cute, nice room, lighting was a little dim in the living room, but overall was a nice place to stay. A hot tub would of been nice, but they do have the clothing optioinal pool which was nice. They did have mainly older guests stay, however. Everyone was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth
Oct 22, 2010

Cheston House

I was there for an interview in FLL, but thought to stay at a gay resort. The hotel was very cute, nice room, lighting was a little dim in the living room, but overall was a nice place to stay. A hot tub would of been nice, but they do have the clothing optioinal pool which was nice. They did have mainly older guests stay, however. Everyone was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 15, 2010

Best Men's Resort Stay I have had

I have stayed at number of men's guest houses around the country. This is one of the best. The staff was incredible. Friendly and helpful does not say enough about them. I have been in places where it was an effort for the staff to even say hello or smile. They went out of their way to make suggestions and give me everything I needed to have a great stay. I also found that this friendlest spilled over to the guest. I had a great time laughing and talking with the other men who were staying here. Clean, friendly, nice, close to the beach. What more could anyone ask for on a trip to Fort Lauderdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to experience the gay Ft Lauderdale night life, you need to rent a car or be willing to pay for taxis. ALL of the men's guest house at the beach are not close enough to FT Lauderdale night life. This to me is not a downfall of the Cheston. It is just the way it is in Fort Lauderdale.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, Georgia
Apr 15, 2010

Best Men's Resort Stay I have had

I have stayed at number of men's guest houses around the country. This is one of the best. The staff was incredible. Friendly and helpful does not say enough about them. I have been in places where it was an effort for the staff to even say hello or smile. They went out of their way to make suggestions and give me everything I needed to have a great stay. I also found that this friendlest spilled over to the guest. I had a great time laughing and talking with the other men who were staying here. Clean, friendly, nice, close to the beach. What more could anyone ask for on a trip to Fort Lauderdale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to experience the gay Ft Lauderdale night life, you need to rent a car or be willing to pay for taxis. ALL of the men's guest house at the beach are not close enough to FT Lauderdale night life. This to me is not a downfall of the Cheston. It is just the way it is in Fort Lauderdale.

Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TomGayNYC
New York, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Clean simple rooms and friendly staff.

Clean hotel and friendly staff. This is a no frills hotel. The breakfast and happy hour was very marginal compared to other gay mens resorts that I have stayed at in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Cheston House Gay Men's Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TomGayNYC
New York, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Clean simple rooms and friendly staff.

Clean hotel and friendly staff. This is a no frills hotel. The breakfast and happy hour was very marginal compared to other gay mens resorts that I have stayed at in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top