Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

3 stars
1398 N. Atlantic Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
43 reviews
Hidden Paradise

My wife and I spent a weekend and words alone cannot describe this wonderful place. Staff was very... See full review

  • MandR Forever
  • Sep 26, 2012
Can't go wrong

The Tropical Winds was pleasant and friendly. They did run out of coffee for their coffee makers,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 29, 2008
Beachfront Resort - Ideal for families - Centrally located in the heart of Daytona near shopping, dining and local attractions. Features a waterfront cafe, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, game room and free parking. All rooms have private balconies. Multi-lingual staff: German, Spanish, Dutch, Russian, Arabic. Free wireless Hi-Speed Internet.

*Unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, all registered guests per room must be at least 21 years of age. Each guest between the ages of 21 and 25 will require a $100. Security Deposit (Cash)*

Hotel Map

29.2492 -81.0184
Area served
Daytona Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Daytona Beach International Airport and Orlando International Airport
Area description
Beach, golf, fishing, Daytona International Speedway, Ponce de Leon Light house, river cruises, water sports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel Rooms

City View Apartment
Two room apartment, one king bed, one double, full kitchen, two balconies facing west.
Oceanview Room
This guest room includes one king bed. The Oceanview Room is a side view. All rooms have microwave and small refrigerator, hair dryer, color cable TV, alarm clock/radio and private balcony.
Ocenfront Efficiency
This guest room includes two double beds. The Efficiency Room is a direct oceanfront view. All rooms have hair dryer, color cable TV, full kitchen, and alarm clock/radio and private balcony.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 5.4 mi

Dining

Waterfront Cafe
Casual Cafe overlooking the pool and ocean serving breakfast, lunch and light snacks

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MandR Forever
Business
Altamonte Springs, Fl
Sep 26, 2012

Hidden Paradise

My wife and I spent a weekend and words alone cannot describe this wonderful place. Staff was very courteous, room was super clean and smelled great. Had a great oceanfront view overlooking the pool. The beds were very comfortable right down to the pillows. The grounds were very well maintained and the cost for this little paradise was cheap. All shops and restaurants were within a mile, yet it was so peaceful. The only bad thing was having to check out and go back home! Been to a lot of hotels in Daytona, and this has to be one of the best. Our experience was great. Will be back real soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Only 1.5 miles up the road and you are in the center of everything. Dining, movies, night clubs, plus a whole lot more. Drive or just walk along the beach and you're there. So many places to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pretzyldog
Business
Danville,IL
Jul 13, 2011

great place

Friendly staff,room was clean,modern.Bathroom was a little small. Only real complaint was internet service was poor. Very weak signal so hard to connect. I would stay again. Would have liked a bar on site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Charlie Horse a great place to eat. All you can eat snow crabs and food was good and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jupiter Florida
Jun 20, 2011

deception

Advertised as King, Ocean front, non smoking. What we got was King, side view, non smoking. They wanted an additional $20 for the real ocean front which was more than we paid at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay at the hilton

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brenda and Bill
Business
Lynn, MA
May 9, 2011

Restfull vacation

The Tropical Winds is always clean, friendly and quiet..the perfect formula for a relaxing vacation. The recent addition od WiFi throughout the hotel only makes it better. The food is very good in the breakfast/lunch room. A very pleasant week was had...Bill and Brenda, Lynn, MA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Love the Olive Garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alpharetta, GA
Oct 19, 2009

Perfect for Biketoberfest!

We went to Daytona Beach for Biketoberfest. We had a great time and will try to stay here again. Excellent location was central to everything we wanted to see. Price was fair. Room was large and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
JEFFERSONVILLE GEORGIA 31044
May 26, 2009

FLORIDA VACATION

NO SUNSHINE JUST RAIN AND THUNDER STORMS I KNOW THIS WAS NOT ANY FAULT OF YOURS BUT OTHER THAN LOTS OF SLEEP AND REST AND GOOD FOOD IT WAS OK AND WOULD HAVE BEEN GREAT IF NOT FOR BAD WEATHER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skyman08
Business
Johnson City, Tennessee
May 23, 2009

Great location and staff!

Although Daytona had the worst rainfall in history during our time there (Almost 30") We still enjoyed our stay, in fact we enjoyed it there so much we stayed an additional day at the same low rate we got on Orbitz. Whenever the rain stopped we went to the beach and also Laid out beside the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many attractions are witin a short drive of an hour or two. including Orlando, with it's many theme parks and The Kennedy Space Center, and Astronaut Hall of Fame Museum. And If you are a Race Fan, I would recommend the Daytona 500 Experience just a few miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 19, 2008

very quiet area

the room was in a quiet section of town yet very close to everything that we needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

take the bus to mainstreet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Aug 3, 2008

Hairy Sheets!!!!

When we walked in there was only one person on staff (this was at around 6 or so) and she was in a bad mood because she was arguing with a customer on the phone in front of everyone in the lobby. After waiting in line for about 15 to 20 minutes she gave us our room key. When we got to our room both beds had hair in the sheets. This wasn't a couple of hairs that feel out of the maid's head, this was hair from some hairy guy sleeping there without any shirt on. Two of the four pillows had stains on them one of them looked liked it hadn't been washed since someone spilt BBQ sauce on it. Bottom line GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!! There are much better places than this up and down Daytona Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 2, 2008

Family friendly

This hotel was in a great location. Family's seemed to be enjoying themselves. The only complaint we had was the cleaning of the room. It seemed they just couldn't get the vacuuming right. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a shopping center just a short drive from the hotel. You could get just about anything you needed from there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top