$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

Plaza Resort & Spa

4 stars
600 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
201 reviews
Perfect

Love this place, location and deal.... See full review

  • Stevil Knevil
  • Oct 20, 2014
Gorgeous hotel & great staf!

Once again we had a great stay at The Plaza. Cameron, who works the front desk, checked us in and... See full review

  • JLo21
  • Sep 2, 2014
Savor ocean breezes at family-friendly beachfront Daytona spa resort

A longtime fixture on the Daytona strip, the Plaza Resort & Spa provides the ultimate family beach getaway. The towering structure rests on Daytona's world-famous beach, and serves as a haven for swimming, sunning, bike riding and fishing. Private balconies provide dramatic ocean, river and city views, and the resort is surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions. Daytona International Speedway is short drive across the river. Kennedy Space Center and Orlando area theme parks are popular day trip destinations.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Full-service European spa
  • Short drive to Daytona International Speedway
  • Oversize oceanfront pool deck
Rooms
Brightly-painted walls and floral fabrics add a warm, tropical touch to the spacious 323 rooms and studios at the Plaza Resort & Spa. Rooms include private balconies caressed by gentle sea breezes. All include 42-inch plasma TVs, down pillows and bedding, refrigerator and microwave. 
Features

Plaza Resort & Spa is home to a pool complex surrounded by cozy lounge chairs, a perfect spot to enjoy a refreshing drink or snack from the poolside café. On-site dining options at the Plaza Resort & Spa also include the elegant Magnolia's. After dark, kick back to some live music inside the Veranda Lounge. Or take a short walk to one of Daytona's vibrant clubs, miniature golf courses or ice cream shops.

Recreation

Ocean Waters Spa offers 16 treatment rooms with an array of relaxing and energizing massage treatments, a full salon and body care treatments. The spa also houses a fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.5 mi/20.1)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.2 mi/106.5 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • High-speed, wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • The hotel balcony will undergo renovations from 09 September 2013 to 31 January 2014. 
  • Minimum check in age is 25 yrs.
  • A $19 USD resort fee per day includes: unlimited daily valet & self parking (one vehicle per room), in-room high speed internet access, unlimited toll-free and local calls, incoming/outgoing domestic faxes, use of in-room safe, and the daily use of the fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2354 -81.0116
Area served
Daytona Beach, FL
Nearby airports
DAB - Daytona Beach Regional
Area description
Located directly on the beach with sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean. Just minutes away you will find the Ocean Center, Boardwalk, Main Street and the Band Shell. Go a little bit further and you'll find Daytona International Speedway, Daytona USA, Daytona International Airport, Ponce de Leon Lighthouse and a whole lot more that makes Daytona Beach famous. And don't forget many other famous Florida attractions are only about an hours drive away including Disney World, Universal Studios, St. Augustine, and Kennedy Space Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Plaza Resort & Spa Rooms

Oceanfront room
Oceanfront room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Standard Room
Standard Rooms has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with Egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/ iron, blow dryer, 42" plasma television, telephone & data port.Plaza Resort & Spa is a Non-Smoking Property.
Oceanview room
Oceanview room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Limited View Room
One king or two queen beds with pillow top mattress and Egyptian cotton linens. TV with premium cable channels. Complimentary wireless internet access, microwave, refrigerator, in room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
32000 Square feet of meeting space

Dining

Magnolia's Cafe
Specializing in Southern Home-style Cuisine. A beautiful, lush restaurant with an open kitchen catering to a wide range of tastes and cravings.
Cafe AL Fresco
Located on the pool deck. Serves up light snacks and your favorite tropical drinks.
Mercado
A general store with an upscale deli serving everything from ice cream to salads, to great sandwiches and fast entrees to go.
Veranda Lounge
Overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, In
Apr 6, 2010

Spring Break 2010

We had another enjoyable and relaxing trip. Room was clean, with plenty of room. Pool was always clean. We enjoy their beach front. The Plaza is close to shopping,nightlife, and dining.We could walk to the boardwalk or along the beach.This was our second stay, and we would stay again. Checking out later, for a small fee,was great also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of dining along A1A and clse to the Plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiananpolis
Apr 4, 2010

Not 4 STAR

Not 4 STAR It wasn't up to par but we loved the location. Walking distance to Main St. and pier. Not very clean and very small bathroom. Very beat up and needed cleaning and painting in many areas. NO hot tub. Nice pool and sunning area. Breakfast: I wouldn't do again there. Lounge not open. Watch for extra charges....$8 to $12.00 a day parking ( even if you don't have a car) and safe is charged to your room no matter what! That is $1.50 per day. If you can get discount on rooms, its not bad. I would NOT be happy at all paying full price!!!! LOVE THE new beaches!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pokeman
Business
orlando,fl
Mar 31, 2010

good location/bad customer services

great location /nice pool/bad customer services

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windsor, Ontario
Mar 30, 2010

Good resort for the price

Good for the price. The hotel is dated but the rooms are decent, fairly clean (and I'm picky). The public areas--elevators, pool area--not so clean and lack maintenance. We picked this hotel for it's location--start of the strip where there are no cars on the beach and a lot less crowded. Big factor if you have children. We had an oceanfront room and would recommend it--worth the extra money! Our friends didn't and they had big noise and smell issues and a smaller room. If you want a beautiful hotel with gorgeous grounds and all the amenities including a big price, then stay at the Hilton. Look for a deal at this hotel, not worth the "regular" list price, but worth what we paid and much cheaper than oceanfront at the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brandon, FL
Mar 30, 2010

Had a better time there before!!!!

The customer service was not good at all. The pool was over run with spring breakers could not get use it at all. The noise on Saturday was unbelieveable was woke up also every hour with doors opening and closing - The room was not cleaned on Sunday- returned back to room Sunday evening to find no towels in bathroom- all that was done was the bed was made- had to call housekeeping 2 times to get some one to come up and clean the bathroom, bring clean coffee cups and get more coffee. Very disappointed with the service this time had stayed at this hotel 3 prior times will not be returning.Customer service was terrible, housekeeping not good at all, for the price of the rooms they will not be getting any further business from me. I would have had better service at the local motels for half the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington, WV
Mar 30, 2010

Spring Break

I liked a couple things about the hotel. First off, it was very nice. The lady at the check-in counter was very understanding and did her best to get us through the process quickly and effectively. The location was great! I loved the pool area. However, the hotel had no hot tub except in the spa area. They actually wanted us to pay $25 for thirty minutes per person for the hot tub. No thanks. The pool chairs were very uncomfortable. That was all pretty acceptable though because the rest of the hotel was very clean and quiet. All week, the cleaning lady only came once, although that may have been because we denied her service on the second day. When we checked out, we had a lot of trash and we were spring breakers so they looked at us a little more critically. The security guard wanted the check-out man to keep money from our damage deposit for TRASH purposes. Not cleaning and damage. They actually sent me back upstairs with a trash bag and made me bag my trash before they would give me back my damage deposit. Ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can save a lot of money on breakfast just by walking across the street to Ihop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KY
Mar 22, 2010

Nice hotel....for Daytona

A very nice hotel for the location. Security was very noticable which made it a very safe location. Great for a quick trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Florida
Feb 25, 2010

Great Getaway

Great location, beautiful room, friendly staff loved our mid week getaway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PTB
Business
South Park PA
Feb 2, 2010

Family trip went well

The trip overall was nice. We were visiting a family member in the area. The hotel served it's purpose but did not have a large impact on the visit. One of us arrived on crutches and a wheelchair was available throughout the stay. Daylight front desk staff very nice, night shift staff not so much. I could stay again or recommend to others if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

several options within a few blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dchanel875
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 2, 2010

Horrible Experience!

I chose this property to celebrate a special occassion with my mom-& honestly it was ruined.I only see my mom once a year. She had just had surgery,& I wanted a nice beach hotel with good service,a spa & restaurant-for a special girls night. This hotel was listed as 4 star rated. Trust me, It's not. I have worked in hospitality for 14 years-and am very familiar with what level of service is required to receive a 4 star rating. I would also like to add-because I have worked in the field for as long as I have-I am probably more sympathetic, than some other reviewers might be.Although much of Daytona is older...this hotel looked like one of the nicest. I liked the room. It was decent,& the location was good...but a downside is that the bathrooms are small, no vanity- so toiletries go on the floor. Maybe thats why they are not pictured? Ok, not a big deal for a short stay. Next I paid addtl for an oceanfront room-the balcony is really small.Online pictures are misleading. You dont even have enough room to face your deck chair forward it is so narrow. My mom sadly also received a serious electrical shock when her metal balcony chair brushed the a/c unit-as it wasnt grounded.It's hard not to hit the unit because of the deck size? After check in, I called the spa to make an appointment,& was told they had nothing available for 2 people until the following day, as they were closing early. I have managed a spa-& I called earlier-and was told for a mid-week stay, same day reservations were fine.I stayed in Mid-December, but with the weather at 74' degrees-there was plenty of people on the beach-so I wouldnt say it was (off season). Although we were disappointed about the spa-As it is a 'Spa Resort'-we decided instead to have a cocktail and nice dinner. Disappointed again. We went downstairs and found that the lounge. poolside grill & bar, ocean view tiki bar &restaurant were all Completely Closed. This is not posted anywhere, &I was not advised at check in.I had even asked what time there was dinner service at check in. The giftshop in the lobby-which was open when we arrived-had closed 5 hours early,so we couldnt even get a water. I approached the manager to speak with him. I explained my mom had had surgery,& that I selected the property strictly for all of their amenities-none which were available?Not one.He was extremely rude-EXTREMELY. He said it was slow-and he decided to close without warning-and if I "really" worked in a hotel-I should know that they can close at any time.I advised him, that actually-to maintain a 4-star rating, that wasnt true. You had to offer amenities-and have them available for guests to enjoy? Certainly, you would at the minimum have restricted or limited hours posted?He made no apology whatsoever-&said what do you want me to do about it?Then made a snide comment to the front desk clerk next to him. Insinuating a was(looking for compensation).Which I could did not ask for. Additionally-the hotel advertises a $25 hotel credit-which we did not get at all-but I was billed in advance for parking & a room safe that I did not request o use. All in all-I flew into Jacksonville for one night with my mom. We could have stayed anywhere for this special trip. This stay was horrible-and the management unprofessional. I found out after-that the development company who runs the hotel also owns several small run down hotels,& the 'Daytona Beach Hotel' website they sponser-is all of their properties. Not exactly subjective.Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean walk & Ocean Deck casual nightlife was nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top