$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Plaza Resort & Spa

4 stars
600 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
198 reviews
Great Place

We stayed here last year and it was great!! Redneck Riviera watching at it's finest :) See full review

  • Angedelune
  • Jul 16, 2014
Fantastic getaway!

This vacation with my family was flawless! The hotel was soo beautiful and extremely comfortable... See full review

  • Dunn Family
  • Jul 2, 2014
Savor ocean breezes at family-friendly beachfront Daytona spa resort

A longtime fixture on the Daytona strip, the Plaza Resort & Spa provides the ultimate family beach getaway. The towering structure rests on Daytona's world-famous beach, and serves as a haven for swimming, sunning, bike riding and fishing. Private balconies provide dramatic ocean, river and city views, and the resort is surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions. Daytona International Speedway is short drive across the river. Kennedy Space Center and Orlando area theme parks are popular day trip destinations.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Full-service European spa
  • Short drive to Daytona International Speedway
  • Oversize oceanfront pool deck
Rooms
Brightly-painted walls and floral fabrics add a warm, tropical touch to the spacious 323 rooms and studios at the Plaza Resort & Spa. Rooms include private balconies caressed by gentle sea breezes. All include 42-inch plasma TVs, down pillows and bedding, refrigerator and microwave. 
Features

Plaza Resort & Spa is home to a pool complex surrounded by cozy lounge chairs, a perfect spot to enjoy a refreshing drink or snack from the poolside café. On-site dining options at the Plaza Resort & Spa also include the elegant Magnolia's. After dark, kick back to some live music inside the Veranda Lounge. Or take a short walk to one of Daytona's vibrant clubs, miniature golf courses or ice cream shops.

Recreation

Ocean Waters Spa offers 16 treatment rooms with an array of relaxing and energizing massage treatments, a full salon and body care treatments. The spa also houses a fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.5 mi/20.1)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.2 mi/106.5 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • High-speed, wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • The hotel balcony will undergo renovations from 09 September 2013 to 31 January 2014. 
  • Minimum check in age is 25 yrs.
  • A $19 USD resort fee per day includes: unlimited daily valet & self parking (one vehicle per room), in-room high speed internet access, unlimited toll-free and local calls, incoming/outgoing domestic faxes, use of in-room safe, and the daily use of the fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2354 -81.0116
Area served
Daytona Beach, FL
Nearby airports
DAB - Daytona Beach Regional
Area description
Located directly on the beach with sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean. Just minutes away you will find the Ocean Center, Boardwalk, Main Street and the Band Shell. Go a little bit further and you'll find Daytona International Speedway, Daytona USA, Daytona International Airport, Ponce de Leon Lighthouse and a whole lot more that makes Daytona Beach famous. And don't forget many other famous Florida attractions are only about an hours drive away including Disney World, Universal Studios, St. Augustine, and Kennedy Space Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Plaza Resort & Spa Rooms

Oceanfront room
Oceanfront room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Standard Room
Standard Rooms has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with Egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/ iron, blow dryer, 42" plasma television, telephone & data port.Plaza Resort & Spa is a Non-Smoking Property.
Oceanview room
Oceanview room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Limited View Room
One king or two queen beds with pillow top mattress and Egyptian cotton linens. TV with premium cable channels. Complimentary wireless internet access, microwave, refrigerator, in room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Magnolia's Cafe
Specializing in Southern Home-style Cuisine. A beautiful, lush restaurant with an open kitchen catering to a wide range of tastes and cravings.
Cafe AL Fresco
Located on the pool deck. Serves up light snacks and your favorite tropical drinks.
Mercado
A general store with an upscale deli serving everything from ice cream to salads, to great sandwiches and fast entrees to go.
Veranda Lounge
Overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
32000 Square feet of meeting space

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PTB
South Park PA
Feb 2, 2010

Family trip went well

The trip overall was nice. We were visiting a family member in the area. The hotel served it's purpose but did not have a large impact on the visit. One of us arrived on crutches and a wheelchair was available throughout the stay. Daylight front desk staff very nice, night shift staff not so much. I could stay again or recommend to others if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

several options within a few blocks

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dchanel875
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 2, 2010

Horrible Experience!

I chose this property to celebrate a special occassion with my mom-& honestly it was ruined.I only see my mom once a year. She had just had surgery,& I wanted a nice beach hotel with good service,a spa & restaurant-for a special girls night. This hotel was listed as 4 star rated. Trust me, It's not. I have worked in hospitality for 14 years-and am very familiar with what level of service is required to receive a 4 star rating. I would also like to add-because I have worked in the field for as long as I have-I am probably more sympathetic, than some other reviewers might be.Although much of Daytona is older...this hotel looked like one of the nicest. I liked the room. It was decent,& the location was good...but a downside is that the bathrooms are small, no vanity- so toiletries go on the floor. Maybe thats why they are not pictured? Ok, not a big deal for a short stay. Next I paid addtl for an oceanfront room-the balcony is really small.Online pictures are misleading. You dont even have enough room to face your deck chair forward it is so narrow. My mom sadly also received a serious electrical shock when her metal balcony chair brushed the a/c unit-as it wasnt grounded.It's hard not to hit the unit because of the deck size? After check in, I called the spa to make an appointment,& was told they had nothing available for 2 people until the following day, as they were closing early. I have managed a spa-& I called earlier-and was told for a mid-week stay, same day reservations were fine.I stayed in Mid-December, but with the weather at 74' degrees-there was plenty of people on the beach-so I wouldnt say it was (off season). Although we were disappointed about the spa-As it is a 'Spa Resort'-we decided instead to have a cocktail and nice dinner. Disappointed again. We went downstairs and found that the lounge. poolside grill & bar, ocean view tiki bar &restaurant were all Completely Closed. This is not posted anywhere, &I was not advised at check in.I had even asked what time there was dinner service at check in. The giftshop in the lobby-which was open when we arrived-had closed 5 hours early,so we couldnt even get a water. I approached the manager to speak with him. I explained my mom had had surgery,& that I selected the property strictly for all of their amenities-none which were available?Not one.He was extremely rude-EXTREMELY. He said it was slow-and he decided to close without warning-and if I "really" worked in a hotel-I should know that they can close at any time.I advised him, that actually-to maintain a 4-star rating, that wasnt true. You had to offer amenities-and have them available for guests to enjoy? Certainly, you would at the minimum have restricted or limited hours posted?He made no apology whatsoever-&said what do you want me to do about it?Then made a snide comment to the front desk clerk next to him. Insinuating a was(looking for compensation).Which I could did not ask for. Additionally-the hotel advertises a $25 hotel credit-which we did not get at all-but I was billed in advance for parking & a room safe that I did not request o use. All in all-I flew into Jacksonville for one night with my mom. We could have stayed anywhere for this special trip. This stay was horrible-and the management unprofessional. I found out after-that the development company who runs the hotel also owns several small run down hotels,& the 'Daytona Beach Hotel' website they sponser-is all of their properties. Not exactly subjective.Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean walk & Ocean Deck casual nightlife was nice.

Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WinterGetaway
Jasper, Indiana
Jan 2, 2010

Fun In The Sun

Very nice staff to take care of any need you may have. Overall very well kept resort. I feel like they shouldn't charge for self park of your vehicle of 8.00 per day or add a charge per day for the room safe, which we never used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Live your life.
Jacksonville, Florida
Dec 21, 2009

"Paid to much for that stay."

The lobby appearance was nice, but the smell wasn't. our first room the toilet did not work at all and had to move. We moved to a room with a oceanview and one of the light didn't work & had toilet promblems again. The staff was nice except one male who told that didn't have any show caps, but they do and i finally received one later on. The thing i did not like most is the high raised entry to the terrace, i hit my foot a few times and it hurt. Overall the price was to high and I would come back for a lot lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Dec 7, 2009

good location - nice ocean view

Nice beach location. We normally don't spend this much on a hotel but upgraded to an ocean view. The room was clean and updated. The beds were plush and comfortable. Location was in walking distance to restaurants, movie theater, etc. Extra charge for parking and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando,FL
Nov 20, 2009

Okay, definititely not upscale

My wife and I visited for a weekend away from Orlando and where looking for something a little upscale near home without spending $200-250 per night. There was no attention to detail in the halls to the rooms or the elevator interiors or in many regards. Ceiling tile were dirty and hanging out of place. There were hangers and clothes laying on the lower roof and balcany was dirty. Fitness center was very small with no towels supplied. We chose to skip it. Bed was comfortable and room was okay, but bath was very small, basic and plain. Nothing romantic about the room or special if your looking for a luxury resort. Restaraunt fruit looked and tasted like it was two to three days old. We had complimentary breakfasts and ate there but after our breakfast experience we wouldn't consider eating dinner there due to the service and quality of the breakfast buffet. We generally felt that the resort was not staffed properly to have any attention to detail and they cut corners on details in way too many places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
Oct 11, 2009

Okay ... but expect more for the $$$

Front desk was unaware of special promotion given when reservations were made. After a couple phone calls the matter was cleared up and the promotion was honored. Although we were made aware of the parking fees at the time of the reservation and at check-in, our final bill also contained additional fees for the safe that were not agreed upon nor expected. Rooms are clean, but the not-so-recent renovations were not exactly first class. A decent room, with a great view and relatively nice amenities .... but not a particularly good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
THE VILLAGES, FL
Sep 12, 2009

JUST OK

THE HOTEL WAS JUST OK. NOTHING GREAT. WE NOTICED THAT THEY WERE NOT MAINTAINING THE AREA AROUND THE POOL. THE LOUNGES NEEDED A DEEP CLEANING. THE CONCRETE AREA SURROUNDING THE POOL HAD ANTS ALL OVER IT. THERE DIDN'T APPEAR TO BE ANY ATTEMPT TO CLEAN IT. THEY DIDN'T SEEM TO CARE ABOUT HAVING ANY OF THE BARS OPEN. WE APPROACHED THE BARTENDER AROUND 9PM ONE NIGHT AND ASKED IF WE COULD GET A DRINK AND SHE KIND OF SHRUGGED HER SHOULDERS AND LOOKED AT US AS TO SAY "IF YOU REALLY NEED ONE." SHE DID NOT ANSWER US. JUST LOOKED AT US.THERE WAS NO LIFE AT THE HOTEL. WE PROBABLY WILL NOT GO BACK THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SC
Sep 9, 2009

Florida Get-a-way

Visited local sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chillicothe, Ohio
Sep 3, 2009

Daytona Beach in August

The hotel staff was very friendly and gave us an option to inspect a few rooms before we checked on so that we could choose between a pool level room or a higher floor with a better ocean view. Either room would have been okay. We chose the higher room because the pool level room was a bit musty (too close to the pool and wet feet, would be great with kids). All of the rooms were nice, but the bathrooms have pedistal sinks and are a bit small. The view of the ocean was excellent. The pool and patio (with access to the beach) were large and very attractive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Parks Riverside Restaurant on Riverside drive was very good and nicely decorated.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search