$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Plaza Resort & Spa

4 stars
600 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
201 reviews
Gorgeous hotel & great staf!

Once again we had a great stay at The Plaza. Cameron, who works the front desk, checked us in and... See full review

  • JLo21
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great Holiday escape

Stayed for the Labor Day weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful from the front desk to the... See full review

  • Travels for Work
  • Sep 2, 2014
Savor ocean breezes at family-friendly beachfront Daytona spa resort

A longtime fixture on the Daytona strip, the Plaza Resort & Spa provides the ultimate family beach getaway. The towering structure rests on Daytona's world-famous beach, and serves as a haven for swimming, sunning, bike riding and fishing. Private balconies provide dramatic ocean, river and city views, and the resort is surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions. Daytona International Speedway is short drive across the river. Kennedy Space Center and Orlando area theme parks are popular day trip destinations.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Full-service European spa
  • Short drive to Daytona International Speedway
  • Oversize oceanfront pool deck
Rooms
Brightly-painted walls and floral fabrics add a warm, tropical touch to the spacious 323 rooms and studios at the Plaza Resort & Spa. Rooms include private balconies caressed by gentle sea breezes. All include 42-inch plasma TVs, down pillows and bedding, refrigerator and microwave. 
Features

Plaza Resort & Spa is home to a pool complex surrounded by cozy lounge chairs, a perfect spot to enjoy a refreshing drink or snack from the poolside café. On-site dining options at the Plaza Resort & Spa also include the elegant Magnolia's. After dark, kick back to some live music inside the Veranda Lounge. Or take a short walk to one of Daytona's vibrant clubs, miniature golf courses or ice cream shops.

Recreation

Ocean Waters Spa offers 16 treatment rooms with an array of relaxing and energizing massage treatments, a full salon and body care treatments. The spa also houses a fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.5 mi/20.1)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.2 mi/106.5 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • High-speed, wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • The hotel balcony will undergo renovations from 09 September 2013 to 31 January 2014. 
  • Minimum check in age is 25 yrs.
  • A $19 USD resort fee per day includes: unlimited daily valet & self parking (one vehicle per room), in-room high speed internet access, unlimited toll-free and local calls, incoming/outgoing domestic faxes, use of in-room safe, and the daily use of the fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2354 -81.0116
Area served
Daytona Beach, FL
Nearby airports
DAB - Daytona Beach Regional
Area description
Located directly on the beach with sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean. Just minutes away you will find the Ocean Center, Boardwalk, Main Street and the Band Shell. Go a little bit further and you'll find Daytona International Speedway, Daytona USA, Daytona International Airport, Ponce de Leon Lighthouse and a whole lot more that makes Daytona Beach famous. And don't forget many other famous Florida attractions are only about an hours drive away including Disney World, Universal Studios, St. Augustine, and Kennedy Space Center.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Resort & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Plaza Resort & Spa Rooms

Oceanfront room
Oceanfront room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Standard Room
Standard Rooms has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with Egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/ iron, blow dryer, 42" plasma television, telephone & data port.Plaza Resort & Spa is a Non-Smoking Property.
Oceanview room
Oceanview room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Limited View Room
One king or two queen beds with pillow top mattress and Egyptian cotton linens. TV with premium cable channels. Complimentary wireless internet access, microwave, refrigerator, in room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Magnolia's Cafe
Specializing in Southern Home-style Cuisine. A beautiful, lush restaurant with an open kitchen catering to a wide range of tastes and cravings.
Cafe AL Fresco
Located on the pool deck. Serves up light snacks and your favorite tropical drinks.
Mercado
A general store with an upscale deli serving everything from ice cream to salads, to great sandwiches and fast entrees to go.
Veranda Lounge
Overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
32000 Square feet of meeting space

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChicagoGuy100
Chicago,Illinois
Aug 12, 2012

Nice hotel

The hotel was on a perfect location. The room was clean and comfyl to stay in. The service in the hotel was good. The staff in the lobby needs something more special. The price was alright because it has the beach in rear of the hotel. I would recomend this hotel to a freind and would come back next time im in florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The stores and resturants around the blocks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando Florida
Nov 14, 2010

Great View~

When we walked into the room we were in awe of the ocean and the room~ However when we got to the bathroom that was another story... We giggled and will laugh about the bathroom for many many years. The tub was crooked YES lopsided uneven...... and I really don't think they know that there is a product that actually removes mildew from caulk.... I mean really~ The bathrooms were really not so great. but thats it..... The area where the beds and tv and ocean view was WONDERFUL~ so over all nice..... the price was $64.00 more than the base price listed because of tax and this new "resort FEE' The hotel industry is just finding ways to increase their cost.... resort fee.... kinda reminds me of that fee the apartment industry charges, an admin fee.... Anyways we had fun at the beach and love the room just not the bathroom......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hyde park steakhouse has an early bird special from 5 to 630pm and it was only $19.00 for a salad filet and side... Great deal GREAT food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
Oct 22, 2010

Nice place to stay for bike week

Good Central palce for bike weeks, good bike parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Main St

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 4, 2010

Daytona Beach

Great location with really nice rooms with balconies. The restaurant wasn't open on a Tuesday night for dinner, so we found great choices within walking distance. We would definitely go back for a really quit and relaxing three days on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out The Hyde Park for a fantastic dinner with awesome service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garfield, NJ
Aug 11, 2010

Noisy

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. The pool is great and the location of the hotel is right in the middle of the Daytona Beach hot spots. The only problems we encountered at this hotel was that we could hear absolutely everything that was going on in the room next to us. When the people next door showered is sounded like they were in our room. Our room was also oceanview but we got the view of another buildings roof more than the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Aug 9, 2010

One of the nicest hotles in Daytona

We arrived the night before our reservation and was told then that there were no more Oceanfronts available and that we would have to stay in a Oceanview. The man said he could make someone move... and it shocked me! I thought how rude! He made us a new reservation and we did get our Oceanfront but had to keep checking in at the desk to make sure but after we checked in to our regular reserved room everything went fine. OUr first room was a little dirty with marks on the walls and a dead bug on the ceiling. The Oceanfront was much nicer! We have a 3 and 6 yr old and the only down side to the hotel is there's no kiddie pool for them to play. Maid service was good except for once when we had to call them twice and the front desk once for somone to come clean our room. Beds were clean and comfortable and that's a biggie with us! The hotel wasnt as pretty in person as is in the photos but overall is a good place to stay. The parking garage is ideal size and always room for hotel guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central florida
Jul 30, 2010

definatly not a 3 star hotel

For 150.00 bucks a night you except more. I worked in the hotel business for 18 years and have stayed in many places and service and cleanliness is the two most important things to a good stay. Daytona may be famous for it beach but its hotels especially this one is outdated, plain dirty, and the staff are lackidazical at best. If you would like some entertainment to start your stay watch the valet staff they are like the keystone cops they do not have a clue. And by the way I can understand why the monsters in the morning show from orlando stay at the plaza, one more big beer party will not make a diffrence in what the facility looks like, It seems there have been way to many parties between the times this hotel needs updating.A small hint for the GM if he even cares to read these. Get out of your office, walk your floors, check some rooms, you will benefit from it daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valley Forge, PA
Jul 29, 2010

Good price, don't expect a lot

Let me start off by saying that for the price of a little over $100/night during July, the Plaza Resort was a good value for being right on the beach. Our experiece, for a couple in our late 40's, we did expect more after reading other reviews and resort literature. Our first experience with pulling into the hotel was one marked with a sense of choatic confusion - I think our timing was bad as about 11 other couples and families pulled up to the small off-boarding and registration area. Our check-in person, was swampped with phone calls while trying to check people in. The room type I reserved was not available, so we had to settle for the next best available with no compensation. The room was clean and large, the bathroom was small and while clean, we did notice silverfish bugs each day in our bathtub. The amenities were scarce. Although I called down twice requesting additional bath towels, they were never delivered. The pool area was very nice and access to the beach was easy. I was disappointed that the resort didn't have more activities for the guests nor did they catered to those using the beach. Beach rental of chairs/umbrella will run you $30/day unless your reserve for 3 days then its $75, this is not associated with the hotel. We had breakfast twice in the hotel restaraunt which was good with a buffet. There are plenty of restaraunts nearby but for better quality food, I suggest driving to other locations. A short walk along the beach took you to the small boardwalk area and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not try to check in around the peak time of 4-6pm, its busy and the front lobby and desk are understaffed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Villa Rica, Ga.
Jul 27, 2010

First Trip getaway

We had a great time...had great seafood...great local pubs and all around great first time to Daytona Beach. Had to ask for more towels and wash cloths everyday. But overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single mom with limited income
Business
Douglasville, GA
Jul 24, 2010

Our stay

Our stay was enjoyable with a few exceptions. The first night there was no air in our room, in the middle of July. We were told we could move to another room, but it wouldn't be oceanfront like the room we had. Also, the ice machine on our floor was out of order for our entire stay. We had to go to the floor above or below our room for ice. The biggest surprise was the daily "resort fee" we were charged at checkout. We were told the resort fee covers such amenities as the safe, valet parking, the spa, etc. The only extra amenity we used, besides the pool, was valet parking, which we were told was included with the price of our room. We were not told the other amenities were included, and that we would be charged for them whether we used them or not. We would have definitely utilized the spa had we known we would be charged for it when we checked in. Also, our reservation confirmation was for two queen beds. Our room had one king bed and a pull-out couch. All in all, I would have stayed at a different hotel had I known about the additional "resort fee".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KarlaJ
Business
Dothan, AL
Jul 14, 2010

WONDERFUL!!

VIEW WAS AWSOME!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top