Plaza Resort & Spa

4 stars
View map of 600 North Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

3.7/5

Overall score

81%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7
Savor ocean breezes at family-friendly beachfront Daytona spa resort

A longtime fixture on the Daytona strip, the Plaza Resort & Spa provides the ultimate family beach getaway. The towering structure rests on Daytona's world-famous beach, and serves as a haven for swimming, sunning, bike riding and fishing. Private balconies provide dramatic ocean, river and city views, and the resort is surrounded by shops, restaurants and attractions. Daytona International Speedway is short drive across the river. Kennedy Space Center and Orlando area theme parks are popular day trip destinations.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location
  • Full-service European spa
  • Short drive to Daytona International Speedway
  • Oversize oceanfront pool deck
Rooms
Brightly-painted walls and floral fabrics add a warm, tropical touch to the spacious 323 rooms and studios at the Plaza Resort & Spa. Rooms include private balconies caressed by gentle sea breezes. All include 42-inch plasma TVs, down pillows and bedding, refrigerator and microwave. 
Features

Plaza Resort & Spa is home to a pool complex surrounded by cozy lounge chairs, a perfect spot to enjoy a refreshing drink or snack from the poolside café. On-site dining options at the Plaza Resort & Spa also include the elegant Magnolia's. After dark, kick back to some live music inside the Veranda Lounge. Or take a short walk to one of Daytona's vibrant clubs, miniature golf courses or ice cream shops.

Recreation

Ocean Waters Spa offers 16 treatment rooms with an array of relaxing and energizing massage treatments, a full salon and body care treatments. The spa also houses a fitness center (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (6.9 mi/11.1 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.9 mi/9.5 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Ponce Inlet Lighthouse (12.2 mi/19.6 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.5 mi/20.1)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.2 mi/106.5 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • High-speed, wireless Internet access (fees apply)
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • The hotel balcony will undergo renovations from 09 September 2013 to 31 January 2014. 
  • Minimum check in age is 25 yrs.
  • A $19 USD resort fee per day includes: unlimited daily valet & self parking (one vehicle per room), in-room high speed internet access, unlimited toll-free and local calls, incoming/outgoing domestic faxes, use of in-room safe, and the daily use of the fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Plaza Resort & Spa Rooms

Oceanfront room
Oceanfront room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Standard Room
Standard Rooms has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with Egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/ iron, blow dryer, 42" plasma television, telephone & data port.Plaza Resort & Spa is a Non-Smoking Property.
Oceanview room
Oceanview room has one king or two queen beds. Room includes pillow top bedding with egyptian cotton linens. Each room offers refrigarator , microwave , coffee maker , In-room safe.($1.50 per day), ironing board/iron , blow dryer , 42" plasma tv , telephone , in room movies , high-speed internet , private balconies , complimentary newspaper. Plaza resort $ Spa is a non-Smoking Property.
Limited View Room
One king or two queen beds with pillow top mattress and Egyptian cotton linens. TV with premium cable channels. Complimentary wireless internet access, microwave, refrigerator, in room safe (surcharge).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Hotel Map

29.2354 -81.0116
Area served
Daytona Beach, FL
Nearby airports
DAB - Daytona Beach Regional
Area description
Located directly on the beach with sweeping views of the Atlantic Ocean. Just minutes away you will find the Ocean Center, Boardwalk, Main Street and the Band Shell. Go a little bit further and you'll find Daytona International Speedway, Daytona USA, Daytona International Airport, Ponce de Leon Lighthouse and a whole lot more that makes Daytona Beach famous. And don't forget many other famous Florida attractions are only about an hours drive away including Disney World, Universal Studios, St. Augustine, and Kennedy Space Center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
32000 Square feet of meeting space

Dining

Magnolia's Cafe
Specializing in Southern Home-style Cuisine. A beautiful, lush restaurant with an open kitchen catering to a wide range of tastes and cravings.
Cafe AL Fresco
Located on the pool deck. Serves up light snacks and your favorite tropical drinks.
Mercado
A general store with an upscale deli serving everything from ice cream to salads, to great sandwiches and fast entrees to go.
Veranda Lounge
Overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Resort & Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynn the RN
Business
Monaca Pennsylvania
Jun 11, 2011

Great

wonderful historic hotel centrally located to all the nice local attractions stressed out people on vacation from work will love.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

IHOP restaurant for breakfast or any meal is absolutely delicious with friendly staff 2 blocks away. Famous Boothill Saloon biker bar is fun for a short visit appox 1 mile away . I was worried I would feel out of place in this hotel but not at all. It is upscale but relaxed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robert, senior surfer
Business
Huntsville, AL
Jun 6, 2011

Weekend June 2011

No sea shells on this beach. Rooms were OK, bathromm had little counter space. Hotel is pass the beach boardwalk. The 3 small elevators were slow for the 14 floors. No stairs available to bypass elevators between 2nd floor front desk and 1st floor beach/pool access. Resort fee $15/day added to bill. Self park is free but is often full, then just self parked in the larger valet lot ($10/day)for free late one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk south 0.5 KM to restaurants, music and movie theaters

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Daytona Beach, Fl
Jun 2, 2011

Nice hotel

The hotel is very elegant on the inside as well as on the outside. I really like our room because it was on the first floor so the pool and beach were super close, I didnt have to get on the elevator excpet when going to the lobby (its on the second floor). The pool is ideal for grownups but not so much for children under 9 years of age because it might be a bit deep for those children who dont know how to swim. The elevators take long so you might end up waiting a couple of minutes, also everything is shut down pretty early compared to nearby hotels and it gets pretty dark, expcept the pool lights. Reason being because of turtle egg season (there was a sign explaining). You do have to walk a couple of blocks to get to the shopping center. Overall it was a great trip and a good hotel. I called for chair and a bell cart at guest services and it didnt take them long at all. Oh, and I really loved that all the rooms were equiped with a microwave, fridge, and sink! Not even Hilton, a couple blocks down, have those (I went there last year for memorial day too).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twenties girl
Business
MA
Jun 1, 2011

amazing oceanview

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights thru Memorial Weekend and had a great time! Our room had an amazing view of the ocean- it was stunning! Quick tip: if you want a stunning ocean view too, make sure to book their "oceanfront" room and NOT "oceanview" room (the latter has only a partial ocean view, i.e. you can see the ocean from your balcony only whereas the oceanfront is directly facing the ocean). Confusing, I know. Pros: Oceanfront resort - amazing beach directly behind property for hotel guests Pool is very nice and warm, esp at night too Great location - located in the heart of Daytona Beach & near Ocean Shoppes, Daytona Lagoon waterpark, delis diners and restaurants, near jacuzzi rentals, and extremely close to the Daytona airport Manager is very friendly and check in was quite smooth Pool bar- drinks are great esp. the Gator punch! There's a convenience store located in the lobby of the hotel that sells everything from suscreen to soda to individual hot cheese pizzas Towel service at pool Music at pool Rooms clean and tidy Cons: No outdoor jacuzzi next to pool (if you want a jacuzzi make sure to book a room that has a jacuzzi in it!) Magnolias, main rest. in hotel, has rude waitstaff and is somewhat of a ripoff Elevators are slow- rooms on the first few floors have an advantage that you can take the stairs instead The standard hotel admin fee of $15 /day you get charged

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jun 1, 2011

Super Hotel leads to a great vacation!!!

This was a great hotel!!! We enjoyed our trip a lot! The rooms were beautiful & clean. The only issue we had was that the bathrooms were small and had no counter space but for our short trip we made it work. The location is great! Within walking distance to Oceanwalk shops & resturants. The Oyster Pud is only a block away and has great food. The poolside bar was wonderful and had some fun activities for the families that we also enjoyed wathcing. Overall a fantastic hotel that we will visit agin!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brandon, FL
May 31, 2011

Right on the beach!

My hotel room was beautiful with a small fridge, microwave and sink. Usually kitchenette hotels are not so pretty, but this one was. The staff an front desk were very friendly and accomodating. The pool area was nice and we could walk right on to the beach! Lovely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
far away
May 20, 2011

eh...okay

We went down to the beach. Though it was a private part, it costed us $30 to still rent a chair. Also, there were cigarette burns in my sheets and the water leaked from the shower and absolutely flooded the floor. On top of that we chose to check out a couple hours later and they charged us $60 for 4 more hours! Definitely not what I was hoping for when paying $133 a night plus the $60 to check out later. Very disappointing ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belleview, FL
May 10, 2011

My Stay At The Plaza Resort & Spa

We had a great time relaxing in our hotel room. The room was spotless. The view was wonderful. The only thing that bothered me was they charged me fifty dollars at check in, and I still don't know why. But other than that, it was a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel was way to pricy. I would reccomend a local restaurant if you don't have a lot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve Hinch
Business
Ohio
May 2, 2011

needs a redo

Checked in to first room and was greeted by worn out furniture and a slider door that would not open.Moved to a new room and found a swatch of mold on the wall between the beds from ceiling to floor! Unbelievable! Got to third room and still found a worn out,beat up room. I know this hotel is old and gets abused during the spring but still I was disappointed. The in house resturant was good for breakfast. The pool area just fair. The plaza is really showing its age. Rebar hanging exposed under all the balconies. Oh well most of Daytona beach is kinda skeevy and worn out. Will go north to Ormond or south to the shores from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Resort & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Mom of 2
Business
Coral Springs
Apr 30, 2011

Great location at a great price

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Plaza Resort and Spa. I was thrilled to see that it was located directly on the beach. The beach view room was fabulous. My room was spacious and clean. The lobby and dining area were all tastefully decorated. It was a great stay and truly a great value for the price. I would definitely stay at the Plaza again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is just a short drive from the Daytona International Speedway. A must see especially if you have kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top