$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
189 reviews
ad a great stay

Great stay great staff good food clean place on the beach good view See full review

  • big jean
  • Dec 1, 2014
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
63 out of 189
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Offended KELLY
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 5, 2012

RUDE HOTEL STAFF

WORST HOTEL STAFF EVER!!! I WILL NEVER RETURN! RUDE DESK LADY.! Valery was rude! after getting a flat tire from this hotel parking lot, i asked for a flash light & she said " We aint got one for you." i asked if security has one? she said "Not for You" Then as we were trying to change the tire security came to us we were thrilled.. maybee they can help us but NO! he said We have to move our vehicle with a flat tire & leave the premises before they call the daytona police & have it towed away.. I HAVE NEVER BEEN TREATED SO RUDE IN MY ENTIRE LIVELY HOOD OF TRAVELING!! .. USUALLY THE STAFF IS SUPPOSED 2 HELP GUEST. ..... Best Part is this... We went to make a Complaint to upper management the next day, & The main staff member didnt believe us && did not care that there staff was so rude!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
oaws
Business
daytona beach, fl
Feb 27, 2013

not a $400 a night room

I am surprised the balcony has not been condemned. Rust and rebar coming thru the concrete on the balcony. definite structural damage in my opinion. along with the room key, a flyer was handed out for free wifi. NOPE site under construction. View was good, and location I will not stay there again, for that kind of money I expected more. SORRY, but you asked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never stay here again
Business
dade city fl
Aug 12, 2013

Horrible

Came here to stay one night. checked in and my room had water damage, equipment was hooked up to the toilet a blower on the carpet, the room was dirty. i went to call the front desk but the phone was even broken. i went down to ask if they could change me rooms and said they couldnt at the time and they would clean mine. i came back a few hours later and they took out the equipment to dry the room but left the patio door open so it was hot. i had no blankets on my bed. old food (fruit) on the floor and a yellow stained wash cloth in my bathroom. I then went down the elevator which sounded like the chain was going to break and has a spill of juice or something om the floor to request another room and talk to the manager. the man at the desk was very rude and said manager was out and finally gave me a new cleaner room. the spill on the elevator was their until morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zephyrhills Florida
Jun 25, 2010

The Not so Good Place

room next our ours was very noisy-sounded like a party going on with loud music and lots of loud voices both inside and out on the balcony; called front desk at 1:30AM to complain--mine was the 3rd call for the same room that night. Security came up each time but didn't do much good; should have evicted the party. Desk clerk said they don't do anything to compensate the travelers that were disturbed--never stay there again since it wasn't a very good hotel anyway but with the noise problem that sealed the deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Terrible Experience

Very bad and unclean hotel. Slippery hallway, smelly elevators, broken room furniture, removed closet doors, rusty tracks, bad smell carpet, and noisy. When I went't downstairs to the reception desk (minutes after we checked in) to ask for another room, they told me wait five minutes. 5 turned to 2 hours, and still as is. Tired and exhauseted with no help from the staff, I cancelled my stay, turned the keys back to the reception desk lady (who was answerring the phone, giving directions, discussing hotel rates, and checking customers at the same time), and left to another hotel. Lady told me that "[...] got your money,,,,talk to them for a refund). [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

na

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa, fl
Jan 1, 2011

do you like the smell of cat urine?

The hotel was good untill we got to our floor, we had two rooms booked, one of which had a fan in room that had been flooded and it smelled HORRIBLE, JUST LIKE CAT URINE, the second room smelled the same way, the entire hallway smelled and the stairway going down 6 flights smelled so bad that I almost vomited

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GAGEEDAWG
Business
Dalton GA
Jul 25, 2014

family getaway

Not enough room to park car and check in to start with. Easy checking in but hotel lot full so had to park a block away and had my gas cap stolen. Only 2 elevators for guests and staffing so it takes a long time to used and we were on 3rd floor so we did the stairs. Got to room and look out to see a roof not a ocean front. Hotel was booked. A/C was nasty inside and bathroom need work done on it. Sliding door would not latch so I fixes it myself since you could go out onto 2nd floor roof and go to many rooms. On Monday I talk to front desk and said I had a river view room and I showed her what I had booked and she moved me right away to the Oceanview room. Bathroom need some remodeling done and sliding door was hard to open and close so we used the single door to go outside. Couch was a sink hole for me so I used chair or bed while in room. Not worth the price we paid and after talking to others there is no good hotels in the area and pictures are of best rooms. Elevator broke down so we only had 1 for the last 2 days there and we were on the 7th floor so you had to wait and we started getting on the up ride to be able to have it going down or it would be full by the time it got back to us. Restaurant was great. Staff was nice. Pool was small and had people coming off the beach to used it. Hobo drunk walking beach and going to everyone came up and started talking to guest and sit down with them. Saw him later sleeping on bench across the street. Had a few panhandle asking for money as we walk by. Burger King down the road stay away from. Starlite Diner best place to eat and great prices. Ask for the Asian lady Jodi , she was so nice to us each time we stopped and only place my girls wanted to go. Back to hotel they need to put up a fence with guard at other parking lot. Control parking lot at hotel for guests not workers with gate and fence or having locals walking thru and using everything for free. Parking lot next door half empty cause they could not get to beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starlite Diner great food and prices and service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 11, 2010

good location for the price

The hotel has a good location, you can walk to dining close by and the boardwalk. But the floor which we stayed on was so noisy that I was not able to sleep most nights until about 4:00 am. The people next to and across from our room needs to be schooled in etiquette and decency. I will not like to have them for my neighbours. people like those are responsible for the low rating for an otherwise average hotel. one other comment..the pillows needs to be replaced. They are terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beamer1
Business
CT
Mar 15, 2012

Average but good location

This hotel seems to be very old and not kept up very well. We stayed on the 3rd floor and there was an awful smell in the hallway. They said there was a pipe that broke and the rugs got wet. They had huge fans going to try and dry the rugs. Not a good experience. This place can definately use some fixing up. Would probably not stay here again upon my next visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Palm Bay Star
Business
Palm Bay
Jan 5, 2014

Good for the price.

It was on the beach. That was the good part. When we checked in the receptionist told me about the fight he had with his wife the night before. There is not enough parking at the hotel either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't go to bubba gumps. It was the worst service I have ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top