$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
View map of 640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
196 reviews
ad a great stay

Great stay great staff good food clean place on the beach good view See full review

  • big jean
  • Dec 1, 2014
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 196
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jan 3, 2010

Not a pleasent stay!

Although the hotel staff that checked us in was very friendly, we were not @ all happy with our room. We found roaches crawling in the room & the bathroom shower was not very clean & one of the beds smelled like body odar. The only thing that was done for us was an extension of checkout time. We will never return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Was good loacation right on beach close to clubs, bars & boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roel van Dijk
Business
Atlanta
Jun 11, 2010

no good

We have cancelled the second night this to not ruin our vacation any more. Cancelling at the hotel was troublesome (financially speaken)[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WarrenW
Business
Guelph, ON, Canada
Jan 2, 2012

Mess up on New Years Eve

Hotel looks like it needs some updating overall. Waited in a hour long line for check in. Hotel did not have our reservation and there were no more rooms available. Thankfully their sister property, which was much nicer, had rooms. I'm not sure if this is the hotel's fault or this website - either way, if you are booking with this property, call ahead to confirm before arriving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I like clint bowyer
Business
WI
Mar 2, 2013

Poor service and parking

The parking lot is not big enough, we had to park a block away in an area that did not look safe. The room looked very used and old, the tub had rust stains in it yuck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dorsey 1
Business
satsuma
Aug 19, 2013

my car and 16 others were towed from this hotel

when my husband checked in they did not inform us of where the overflow parking was.so we parked along with 16 other guests with our parking permit in full view.left and came back app 2 1\2 hours later to find our vehicle had been towed. the manager as well as the gm did nothing to compensate the $125.00 plus dollars that each of the 17th guests endured.the attitude of the management was that it was not their problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mikie812
Business
Princeton, IN
Jan 7, 2014

A Great View

We stayed 5 nights and had issues with our heat/air unit, the locks on the doors broke, and very little room for parking. The employees were using the guest parking places which caused us on more than one night to be forced to use the overflow parking a block down. We had 3 major issues in the room the first night which required maintenance and never could get a hold of the Manager throughout our stay or the week after finally giving up. The room did have a great view and the housekeeping staff were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, FL
Jul 4, 2010

Two Diamond...One Diamond

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. It was obvious it was an older hotel in need of a lot of repair and replacement. The pool area was clean. However, the carpeting throughout was dirty and worn, the elevators were dirty, and I'm not sure the balconies were all that safe considering the deterioration of the rest of the hotel. I'd go back if I knew they were upgrading the important parts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Although we did not try it, we should have since another place was just "ok"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kristyn disgusted
Business
new jersey
Nov 10, 2009

thumbs down

My boyfriend and I went to plaza ocean club to stay in the same hotel as his brother. He proposed to her on the beach and we spent the majority of the first day at main street for bike week. Upon our return to my boyfriend's brother's room...... not one, not two, not three, not four....not 10 but 20+ coackroaches were infesting the section under the sink of their kitchenette (where our food was). Imagine the discovery of that: "Sean a cockroach just crawled out of my suitcase, oh my God another is on the wall, here's the forth one, i'm taking it in a tissue to management." While he was going down to confront management the 2 women find 20+ under the sink. EVEN Though I was in a different room, my food kept in there kitchenette was ruined, I knew where there are 20 cockroaches, a lot more follow. These WERE NOT palm meadow bugs but "cockroaches". I could kick myself for not taking pictures to show how graphically disgusting it was. Due to the big volumes of people in hotels for bike week, moving was not an option for us. The rest of my stay at plaza ocean club was spent being scared that cockroaches would be falling on me as I slept. I made my boyfriend put a towel under the door as to make sure none would enter our room. I couldn't wait to get the hell out of there. The hotel manager, I believe is [...], She treated us horribly, when really it was her hotel that was infested. I have stayed in lots of hotels and never once did I see A bug, nonetheless over 20 cockroaches, we lost about 150 dollars in food and i'm still scarred from the experience. You should NOT be affiliated with this hotel. PEOPLE stay away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Jul 19, 2010

never again

not clean, not matter what, there sould not be roaches in a hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joe madden
Business
winter haven fl
Aug 26, 2014

The plaza

Rooms had different color paint all over the walls, did not look very clean but the staff was very nice. Also they were going threw some renovations and didn't tell us that during booking and the place just looked sad. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top