$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Plaza Ocean Club

3 stars
640 N. Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
181 reviews
What a GREAT TIME

Being a supervisor in the hospitality industry I can honestly say for the money we spent we thought... See full review

  • Curtis and Alicia
  • Aug 26, 2014
Great Daytona Weekend

enjoyed the ocean view and the convenience to the Pier, Bandshell concert on saturday was... See full review

  • Kat M.
  • Jun 5, 2014
Enjoy beaches, Central Florida attractions at Daytona oceanfront resort

The Caribbean-style Plaza Ocean Club attracts families seeking a beach vacation as well as those wanting to explore Central Florida. The location on famed Daytona Beach creates the ideal sun-and-sand getaway, complete with an oceanfront pool, private balconies, and restaurants and shops within walking distance. Daytona International Speedway is only a few miles away. Kennedy Space Center is about 65 miles south. Make a day trip to the kids' favorite destinations – Disney Theme Parks and Universal Studios.

Highlights
  • Private balconies in guest rooms
  • Minutes to airport and Daytona International Speedway
  • Pet friendly (under 30 pounds)
  • Oceanfront pool
Rooms
The 206 rooms at the Plaza Ocean Club are warm and inviting, with floral fabrics, wood furniture and cozy sitting areas. All include private balconies with dramatic views of the Atlantic Ocean or inter-coastal waterway. The rooms are equipped with refrigerators and microwaves for in-room snacks and refreshments.
Features

Beach and water sports enthusiasts will love the resort's location on one of Florida's premier beaches. The beach is 23 miles of hard-packed sand, creating an inviting playground for swimming, sunbathing, bike riding and surf fishing. Motorized water sports rentals are available nearby as well.

Start the day with breakfast at the casual Atlantic Jack's resort restaurant. After a full day on the beach, enjoy sunset with a cool beverage on the balcony. Then head out for a fresh seafood dinner, game of miniature golf or evening at Daytona's vibrant clubs – all within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Daytona International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • I-95 (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • DeLand Amtrak Rail Station (28.4 mi/45.7 km)
  • Orlando International Airport (76 mi/122.3 km)
Attractions
  • Ocean Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Daytona Lagoon water park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Daytona International Speedway (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • LPGA International Golf Course (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Marine Science Center (12.6 mi/20.3)
  • Kennedy Space Center (66 mi/106.2 km)
  • Universal Studios (66.3 mi/106.7 Km)
  • Disney World (79.4 mi/127.8 km)
Business
  • Conference facilities
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies and fees
  • Minimum age to check-in is 18. During Spring Break, a damage deposit of $100 USD  per person is required, but will be refunded at check out if the room is in order.
  •  Pets are allowed, up to 2 pets per room, max 25 lbs each. There is a $20 USD plus tax fee per night per pet and $50 USD  refundable deposit necessary. Designated rooms only. No aggressive breeds (Dobermans, Pit Bulls, Rottweilers, etc).
  • The hotel has a $9.95 resort fee that includes: daily self-parking for one vehicle, in-room safe access, pool towels, guest room and public area wireless Internet access and local and 800 number phone calls.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.2371 -81.0124
Area served
Daytona, Orlando
Nearby airports
DAB-Daytona Beach International and MCO-Orlando International.
Area description
Located one mile from Daytona Beach International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Plaza Ocean Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Plaza Ocean Club Rooms

Oceanview room
Double Queen Ocean View offer two queen size beds or one king bed, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.
Oceanview Kitchenette
Double Queen Ocean View Kitchenette room offers two queen size beds, private balcony from the side of the hotel with partial view of the ocean and the city, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and sink in a separate area with a counter top, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max occupancy 5
Standard Room
Double Queen Riverview Room offers two queen size beds, private balcony overlooking the city and the river, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, electronic in-room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Max Occupancy 5 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Daytona International Speedway: 4.9 mi

Dining

Atlantic Jack's
From gourmet excellence to casual fare, Atlantic Jack's on the Beach restaurant and lounge is a favorite spot for guests to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with spectacular oceanfront views.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Over 600 sq. feet of meeting space for groups up to 400 guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Plaza Ocean Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The real Uncle Paul
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 13, 2014

Great spring beak!

Went here with some friends for spring break. lots of fun stuff going on by the pool. Other college kids drinking everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own drinks to the pool

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, Fl
Jun 14, 2011

Only one problem

Great location, great price,very friendly staff, cool bar, excellent large pool. The only problem was a very bad oder(cat litter box) on the 7th floor where we were staying. The maid sprayed our room several times. I would inquire about the smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Oyster Pub is one block from hotel. They have an awsome 1/4lb. hot dog w/ff for $3.95. The menu is great and they are open very late.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HB815
Terre Haute, IN
Jul 12, 2014

An OK hotel

This hotel definitely needs to do major upgrading. When we booked the room, it said oceanfront king...but when we got inside the room, the balcony is no where near ocean front. It was angled more towards the hotel next to us (motel 8 or whatever) and was not much of an oceanfront view which was disappointing. Didn't make a big deal because it is what it is. The bathroom was very small and there was only 1 mirror in the entire room, which was the bathroom...very inconvenient. I wouldn't recommend eating at the restaurant... just not the greatest and while on vacation, I feel like I should be eating good food! Location is awesome! It is right on the ocean and walking distance from the boardwalk and all the fun stuff. Bars are nearby for those who like to have a drink! Mall isn't too far either. However, I will say that the staff is very nice and makes up for some of the bad ends. Also, the price wasn't too bad considering I booked it on here far in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JLo21
Mount Dora, FL
Jul 29, 2014

Great for the price!

We just happened to be there when one of their elevators broke but they quickly changed my room to a second floor room-great customer service! There is very little parking so I had to park in their lot across the street and one block over. Other than those 2 minor problems the price was great for the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant and bar in the hotel are priced right and great! On sunday they had a great breakfast buffet for only $7.99 and we didn't have to walk anywhere.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
This part is silly
Illinois
Mar 21, 2012

Daytona Beach Bike Week 2012

Satisfactory overall, great location, rooms overpriced, staff helpful and friendly, breakfast buffet adequate, hotel miserly with beverages at breakfast, only allowed one coffee or orange juice, not both. Room door jam broken, obviously door kicked in at some point previously, repair quality poor, college spring break kids rowdy, suppose that is to be expected ... no, not at this level inside the hotel. In general a second rate hotel, ok if you can't find something better or are budget limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
laide
Florida
Nov 10, 2009

plaza ocean club

Didn't like having to pay for parking, but the hotel was not bad, not outstanding but the beds were very comfortable and it was clean and quiet. I recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sook
Wichita, Ks.
Feb 22, 2010

big on hype, not sure it delivered

Pictures and listing described a gand hotel like you would see in other major cities. I found the room to be somewhat run down everything worked but it felt and looked old! staff was friendly view was great but overall uncomfortable bed and needed updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fiance
Indiana
Mar 26, 2013

Great for Spring Break

I went down with a few friends for Spring Break and caught the end of Bike Week as well. This was a good place to go with friends to drink around the pool and enjoy the beach but I would not take my fiance here for a getaway. You can tell Bike Week and Spring Break has taken its toll on the room, and the staff was obviously tired of dealing with Spring Breakers. When we got there the lock on our door was broken and when I took it to the front desk they acted annoyed and took their time getting it replaced. I was supposed to wait for them in the room but decided I was not going to spend my trip sitting in my room, and it was fixed when I got back that evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend The Oyster Pub located right around the corner on Seabreeze Blvd. The staff, the food and the atmosphere where great. The Ocean Deck is also a must.

Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morjo
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Great View

An average hotel located on the beach with a great view. Serves breakfast and lunch only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Plaza Ocean Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Daytona
Central Florida
Aug 17, 2010

08/13/2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Plaza Ocean Beach Club. The staff was very friendly, pool very nice, location great. We also visited the Daytona Beach Lagoon Amusement Park, had a great time. Would definitely stay again at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search